PDA

View Full Version : VGA through Cat 5?



stuffed
30-01-2008, 12:57 PM
Need to run a second screen off a PC in the next room (screen only no keyboard or mouse). About 10-15 meters.
Is it possible to run VGA through Cat 5 and if so can get the fittings from somewhere?
Thanks

wratterus
30-01-2008, 12:59 PM
Looks a bit like it. (http://www.svideo.com/vgabalun1.html)

Not cheap though.


Meh. (http://www.geocities.com/dougburbidge/vgaovercat5.html) Hmm. (http://myhometheater.homestead.com/vgacable.html)

Links in NZ. (http://www.nti.co.nz/extenders.html)

Bit more. (http://www.campney.net/vgacab.html)

And (http://www.homeavcables.com/vga-c5e.html) more (http://www.nextag.com/vga-on-cat5/search-html)...

You would be better off just (http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=356992) getting (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Cables/SVGA/auction-137829538.htm) a 15m VGA cable.

wainuitech
30-01-2008, 01:18 PM
Maybe something Like This Here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Monitor_ext.jpg) 30 Mtrs , can get shorter. 15 Mtrs is around $38