PDA

View Full Version : Power Supply query



jwil1
29-01-2008, 11:15 AM
Hi all,

I built a PC config on Ascent.co.nz and want to know whether the PSU that comes with the case will be sufficient to run the components I have chosen.

Config Image (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/pcconfig1.bmp)

On a different topic, are there any HARDWARE differences between a 32 and 64-bit machine? Would I be better to go 32 or 64 bit based on my config above?

Thanks

pctek
29-01-2008, 12:17 PM
Change the PSU to a higher one. The brand is OK.

Your O/S can be 32bit or 64bit. Your CPU is 64bit.

nzjab06
29-01-2008, 05:26 PM
You do need to get a much bigger PSU, it should be at least 535 watts because of the powerful CPU and 8600 graphics card.

gary67
29-01-2008, 06:39 PM
I usually download the manual for the motherboard and see what size psu they recommend as a minimum.

jwil1
29-01-2008, 08:06 PM
Thanks for your replies.

The mobo manual says 400w, but I want at least 550W to be on the safe side.

Which PSU should I get?

Currently thinking I should get this (http://ascent.co.nz/ProductSpec.aspx?itemID=361398). Do you think it'll give enough juice?

beeswax34
29-01-2008, 10:17 PM
Hi all,

I built a PC config on Ascent.co.nz and want to know whether the PSU that comes with the case will be sufficient to run the components I have chosen.

Config Image (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/pcconfig1.bmp)

On a different topic, are there any HARDWARE differences between a 32 and 64-bit machine? Would I be better to go 32 or 64 bit based on my config above?

Thanks

Just be careful, not all devices work with 64-bit OS'. That said, if you want to future proof somewhat and have programs capable of taking advantage of 64-bit computing, especially media and encoding programs then 64-bit is for you.

qazwsxokmijn
29-01-2008, 10:19 PM
Thanks for your replies.

The mobo manual says 400w, but I want at least 550W to be on the safe side.

Which PSU should I get?

Currently thinking I should get this (http://ascent.co.nz/ProductSpec.aspx?itemID=361398). Do you think it'll give enough juice?
Slightly overkill, but good for future proofing.

nzjab06
30-01-2008, 05:00 PM
That is quite a good PSU and if you want to spend that much money on it go ahead then if you upgrade your system to more poewerful components it should be able to handle the step-up.

--Wolf--
30-01-2008, 05:25 PM
If you want a good quality PSU, go with Silverstone. They might be a little on the $$$ side, but it will probably pay off (unless your unlucky)