PDA

View Full Version : Fixing Hard Drive



supersi
28-01-2008, 11:32 AM
I have an 80GB Seagate IDE hard drive that shows in my computer.
However when I go to format it, it won't format.

I tried partition magic which describes the disk as 'bad', I rebooted with the partition magic floppys and the disk still showed as bad, when I went to format it, PM said 'error 105' an refused to do anything with the disk. I tried fdisk but that didn't want to work either.

Can anyone help?

gary67
28-01-2008, 11:44 AM
Look on the seagate website for tools to check your drive as they are manufacturer based only. Alternately download and try Ultimate boot cd as it has many disk checking tools. Or even right click the drive in my computer and try the disk check there

bevy121
28-01-2008, 11:57 AM
Seagate also have a manufacturers warranty that can be checked at their site.
You just enter the serial and it will tell you if it's covered.
If it's still in warranty they will replace it no prob

supersi
29-01-2008, 06:29 PM
OK, I have a Vista ultimate system.

I tried using Sea Tools and it refused to work.
I formatted my USB drive to be bootable and tried Ultimate Boot CD but it said the Linux Kernel was missing!
How can I make sure it detects a Windows kernel?
This is driving me nuts.

supersi
29-01-2008, 06:35 PM
OK, I have a Vista ultimate system.

I tried using Sea Tools and it refused to work.
I formatted my USB drive to be bootable and tried Ultimate Boot CD but it said the Linux Kernel was missing!
How can I make sure it detects a Windows kernel?
This is driving me nuts.

Speedy Gonzales
29-01-2008, 06:41 PM
This post (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/archive/index.php/t-28462.html)

Has the same error. Did you do this?

Put the slave /master connections around the wrong way to the hard drive?

Is this the error you saw??

Partition Token error 105 ?

Try what MZee said in the above post (If the above error is what you're seeing)

It is possible to force partition magic to read the partitions by using the switch /ipe

pqmagic /ipe

supersi
29-01-2008, 06:45 PM
This post (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/archive/index.php/t-28462.html)

Has the same error. Did you do this?

Put the slave /master connections around the wrong way to the hard drive?

Is this the error you saw??

Partition Token error 105 ?

Try what MZee said in the above post (If the above error is what you're seeing)

It is possible to force partition magic to read the partitions by using the switch /ipe

pqmagic /ipe

I'm not great with DOS. How do I apply the switch?

PS. I've found an Ultimate Boot CD for windows (V 3.06), fingers crossed that will work.

Speedy Gonzales
29-01-2008, 06:49 PM
Does the PM floppy boot into DOS?

If it does, use that (I dont have the floppies, so dont know).

Quit it, if you can, then try that command

See if that pqmagic command is on it (or one of the floppies)