PDA

View Full Version : re-installing Vista



damien
21-01-2008, 02:35 PM
How can I reinstall Vista Home Basic on a Compac SR5 220AN desktop?
A friend of mine brought the pc new about 2 months ago and it has been getting progressively slower. No installation disk came with the system. My friend knows very little about pc's and I suspect he has done something he shouldn't have.
Would like to get the system back to how it was when it left the shop but how??

Speedy Gonzales
21-01-2008, 02:46 PM
Did it have a restore partition? It probably did, unless you formatted that as well.

Thats why it didnt come with cd's, or a DVD.

Youre meant to create them. From within Windows (from one of the menus).

Reboot it, hopefully the post screen (press pause) tells you what function key to press to restore it.

It maybe something like Ctrl-F2, or F10 or something.

damien
21-01-2008, 03:14 PM
Thanks Speedy, there was a partition called Factory Settings I think so that must the one.