PDA

View Full Version : Connecting 2 computers



andrewb3363
20-01-2008, 10:03 PM
Me and my mate want to play empire earth against each other.
He has a Vista laptop. I have a Xp desktop, will this work?
What components are required to make this work?

bob_doe_nz
20-01-2008, 10:11 PM
He has a Vista laptop. I have a Xp desktop, will this work?
What components are required to make this work?

Yes they will work.

Components:
The easiest is a...

Network switch
Network cards for each computer (Most motherboards have em integrated now-adays)
Two straight through cables (one for each comp) to connect to the switch


Firewall and IP address issues at times can be a bit of a problem.

CYaBro
20-01-2008, 10:17 PM
Yes they will work.

Components:
The easiest is a...

Network switch
Network cards for each computer (Most motherboards have em integrated now-adays)
Two straight through cables (one for each comp) to connect to the switch


Firewall and IP address issues at times can be a bit of a problem.

The easiest would be a cross-over ethernet cable going straight from PC to PC - No switch/hub required.

andrewb3363
20-01-2008, 10:22 PM
Ok is this the sort of thing http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Cables/Networking/auction-136179975.htm

Are you sure there will be no compatibility issues between vista and xp

Renmoo
20-01-2008, 10:23 PM
These two posts may help for setup configuration:

http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showpost.php?p=588670&postcount=34

http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showpost.php?p=588670&postcount=35

beeswax34
20-01-2008, 10:24 PM
Ok is this the sort of thing http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Cables/Networking/auction-136179975.htm

Are you sure there will be no compatibility issues between vista and xp

Shouldn't be a problem at all as long as your firewalls don't get in the way.

Renmoo
20-01-2008, 10:25 PM
Ok is this the sort of thing http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Cables/Networking/auction-136179975.htm

Are you sure there will be no compatibility issues between vista and xp
You have to look for a crossover cable, which is something like this: http://search.dse.co.nz/search.php?p=R&srid=S2%2d3&lbc=dse&w=crossover%20cable&url=http%3a%2f%2fwww%2edse%2eco%2enz%2fcgi%2dbin%2 fdse%2estorefront%2f%5fsessionid%5f%2fProduct%2fVi ew%2fXH3295&rk=1&uid=844835063&sid=2&ts=p2&rsc=fr3CxxPqbillOpwj&sessionid=47932115008b7f86273fc0a87f3306dc&method=and&isort=score

Cheers :)

andrewb3363
20-01-2008, 10:29 PM
Ok thanks guys

bob_doe_nz
20-01-2008, 10:29 PM
The easiest would be a cross-over ethernet cable going straight from PC to PC - No switch/hub required.

Ahh right, didn't see the laptop bit. :xmouth: