PDA

View Full Version : message too large to post to public folder

susann
17-01-2008, 04:19 PM
Can anyone please tell me where I can change the limits for the size of the message that can be posted to a public folder? We are running MS SBS 2003.

A user is trying to drag & drop an email into an outlook public folder and gets the message "Can't move the items. A rule in this public folder prevents a message this large from being posted". There's nothing set on the folder itself so I assume there's a default rule that is applied to all our public folders (as we have hundreds) that has a size limit on it. I just can't find where it is set...

Any guidance appreciated!
Susan

Speedy Gonzales
17-01-2008, 05:33 PM
Are you admin or someone in IT?? If this is at work?

If not, I would get them to fix it.

Or if you are, try this (http://www.mcse.ms/message955555.html)

susann
17-01-2008, 06:33 PM
Hi Speedy

Yes I am the IT person at work - however I am still learning the server side of things. We do have a person who comes in to help with that side but I thought I'd look into it first.

I had already found that site you posted, thanks. But there are no rules for folder size set to any of our folders which makes me think there is a default rule for size set somewhere else.

Ta
Susan

jontee
17-01-2008, 08:20 PM
:2cents: Is this any help

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Limit the size of your public folders.
If you do not limit the size of your public folders, the folders can grow extraordinarily large and cause Exchange to stop functioning.

To limit the size of your public folders

In the Server Management console, double-click Advanced Management.
Double-click First Organization (Exchange), double-click Servers, double-click YourComputerName, and then double-click First Storage Group.
Right-click Public Folder Store (YourComputerName), and then click Properties.
Click the Limits tab.