View Full Version : Is Slingshot censoring the internet?

16-01-2008, 06:20 PM
I think Slingshot might be filtering certain websites, such as Mp3Sparks ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AllOfMP3 ).

I have been unable to get to the website since I joined Slingshot Broadband two weeks ago. I could on iHug, my friend on TelstraClear Cable is able to access it.

If I use a web proxy (such as www.hidemyass.com ) I can get to the site.

Firefox just says "Waiting for mp3sparks.com", after a long time I see this.

Gateway Timeout
The following error occurred:

[code=GATEWAY_TIMEOUT] A gateway timeout occurred. The server is unreachable. Retry the request.
Please contact the administrator.

I would like to know if other Slingshot customers experience this. I'd like to hear from a current Xtra and iHug user too, as to whether they can get to the site.



C:\Users\Tom Rix>tracert www.mp3sparks.com

Tracing route to www.mp3sparks.com []
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 3 ms 1 ms 2 ms DD-WRT []
2 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms
3 59 ms 51 ms 49 ms p28.cpiak1-l6.tranzpeer.net []
4 45 ms 54 ms 48 ms p13.cpiak1-l6.tranzpeer.net []
5 49 ms 50 ms 47 ms 202-180-95-13.callplus.net.nz []
6 49 ms 46 ms 99 ms ip-202-147-46-233.asianetcom.net []
7 177 ms 177 ms 181 ms po7-3.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net []
8 203 ms 202 ms 209 ms po0-0.gw1.sjc1.asianetcom.net []
9 229 ms 252 ms 234 ms gi1-32.mpd01.sjc03.atlas.cogentco.com []
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

16-01-2008, 06:47 PM
It might be that slingshot is blocking the site due to it's not so clean reputation.. I cannot log in to it with Ihug so I guess it might even have been shut down.

16-01-2008, 06:49 PM
TelstraClear cable customers can still access it. You can access it via proxy, too.

I've heard from two Xtra customers who can't.

It appears Telecom (including resellers) can't access it. Whether it's intentional or not is another question.

16-01-2008, 07:39 PM
In any case, it is not Slingshot's place to be filtering my internet.

Cptn Hotshot
16-01-2008, 08:36 PM
I am with Slingshot and have just been able to access that site link no problem at all.

16-01-2008, 11:08 PM
On Xtra Go Large, can access it right here.

17-01-2008, 06:39 AM
I have not read all of that Wikepedia article, but I would be very cautious about buying anything from a Russian site, i.e. uploading credit card info...!!

17-01-2008, 07:48 AM
Sounded like they undercut everyone pricewise and made a killing. Then all the music industry lawyers earnt their wage.

17-01-2008, 09:44 AM
I had this once around 4 years ago in when I was on Broadband in the UK...How I can only dream of unfettered access 24/7 :groan:

I could never access one site in particular - cdcovers and only when I used a proxy or used another PC - office etc...

After several conversations with my ISP they gave me a whole load of technical information regarding the coding of the site and how it was responding to requests from my PC.. Basically, they checked it out for me and came back with, nowt to do with the ISP and everything to do with the site...

Sorry but can't remember what exactly but given others here can access it, my guess is they are not censoring it..


19-01-2008, 07:52 AM
I sent Slingshot an email, they looked into it, did something, now it works.

Also, I don't give me credit card numbers out, I do it throguh Paypal.


19-01-2008, 08:09 AM
Could someone explain how to use -Hidemyass. I have the page up and it sems I'm now surfing in the states..is it that easy?

19-01-2008, 08:18 AM
So...coming back to this page through hidemyass I'm no longer auto logged in, which means I have to input my p/w etc, doesn't that give the proxy an opportunity to harvest this data ?

I mean, its a free service but my daddy told me that there is no such thing as free and to be suspicious of anything claiming to be.

or am I just paranoid?

14-02-2008, 08:46 AM
You're not being paranoid, that is the rick you run with proxies.

My ISP is CenturyTel and they appear to be blocking:

And any proxy page that attempts to contact these sites, including hidemyass, and partially block Google's cache pages ( Even attempting an https connection through proxify it returns "connection timed out".

I can quickly contact other .ru sites, but I cannot contact any site still hosted on the ISP "AbdAllah Internet" where allofmp3 is located. A list of AbdAllah sites (http://www.joewein.net/fraud/host-abdallah-internet.htm), but take note that most of these sites are dead or now pointed to a different place. Here is a site from that list that appears to be blocked by my ISP (http://polsenstanford.com), but before going here note that since it is hosted by AbdAllah it could easily be a malicious site (but since it's blocked I have no way to find out). If you successfully connect to this place close it out quickly and I would recommend clearing your cookies and cache. Interestingly though, I can connect to an IP address reserved by AbdAllah: (