PDA

View Full Version : Handling RAM

sal
13-01-2008, 08:06 PM
I bought an extra GB of RAM online for my notebook a few weeks ago and got this tech to put it in for me a few days later (I've never done it before or seen it done). I'd gone in earlier to see what it would cost and the first time they misunderstood me and said it would cost $315 for a 512MB RAM upgrade (yeah, right) but I reiterated that I already had RAM coming in the mail, I just needed someone to put it in for me. "OK, then it's only $15". That was fine with me.

Anyways, when I came back with the RAM and my notebook, he got down to it in front of me (I should have realised any modern notebook would make simple upgrades easy) but when he was handling the RAM, he had his fingers all over it, and not just a little bit but all ten fingers, manoeuvring it, trying to get it seated right I assume.

He booted it up and it started OK but it still only showed the 1 GB it already had. For some reason he thought it was done but I didn't say anything cos I'm a drop-balls like that. When I got home I took the single screw-cover off and it looked crooked so I readjusted it carefully, but when I booted it, it wouldn't start so I took the extra RAM out and all was OK again.

Would he have ruined the RAM by handling it the way he did, and how it didn't boot when I (think I) seated correctly mean the RAM is stuffed? I hope he wasn't looking to get an extra sale out of me.

Sorry for the big story :/

wainuitech
13-01-2008, 08:16 PM
Simple answer - you asked him to put in some RAM you had supplied - While its not good to handle RAM the way you describe, its more than likely not the reason it wont work.

Why wont it work ?? --- Simple, not all Laptop RAM works with All Laptops.

The RAM is more than likely incompatible.

The price quoted to you may have been for compatible RAM that does work (still a bit pricey though).