PDA

View Full Version : Faint LightScribe image



gza
04-01-2008, 10:09 PM
After installing the necessary LightScribe software to get my Asus 1814 DRW-BL LightSribe operational using Nero7 Premium 7.10.1.0 facilities to do the job of Cover Design,printing to Verbatim DVD+R 16X LS discs I was disappointed with the result.
All went smoothly from starting the creating of the image to the completion of the task.I chose the 'Best' option in the contrast range which looked great in preview mode.
The printed image though visible was like a well faded sepia tone.:groan:
Good thing is I've another 29 blanks to play with:lol:
Shame there's only 2 other contrast choices available.
What am I going to do:confused:

Speedy Gonzales
04-01-2008, 10:18 PM
Run the LS control panel (the LS menu, under all programs), and change it to this will make your labels darker.

Under settings.

It will take longer tho.

gza
05-01-2008, 01:49 AM
I did as you said,then set up to do another print of previous cover.When I click Print the window that says Preparing label for printing appears,status indicator leaps to 40% then 100% after 15secs where it stays about 30secs.Then it immediately changes to Printing 100% & a successful burn window pops up.
Ejected disc is blank.
I imported an image from LS Label Gallery that was high contrast and tried that 3 times on different settings but got same result.
Also received a popup asking that I change to lossless compression which I accepted before I did any of the print attempts.
I'll do a bit more reading up on it all.
thanks

gza
05-01-2008, 02:14 AM
ps. The LS Diagnostic Utility says that Critical LSS settings &Drive communications are functioning correctly.
I'll attempt to return settings to those before I accepted the change to lossless compression & try that,perhaps.

gza
06-01-2008, 12:28 AM
Following last nights failed burns after attempting to increse image clarity on LS DVD's, I went to System In Event Viewer to get some info & this is it;

Information/Source;Service Control Manager/Category;None/Event 7035,&7036
Description: The IMAPI CD-Burning Service service was successfully sent a start control(event 7035)
for Event 7036:The IMAPI CD-Burning Service entered the running state,followed by The IMAPI CD-Burning Service entered the stopped state.


Then there are 106 warrnings ane after the other spanning a 7 minute period that tell me this:
Source: Cd rom/ Category: None/ Event ID:51/
" An error was detected on device\Device\CdRom0 during a paging operation "
0000: 03 00 68 00 01 00 b8 00 ..h....
0008: 00 00 00 00 33 00 04 80 ....3..€
0010: 2d 01 00 00 10 00 00 c0 -......
0018: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0020: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0028: 41 81 0f 00 00 00 00 00 A......
0030: ff ff ff ff 01 00 00 00 ....
0038: 40 00 00 c4 02 00 01 00 @......
0040: 00 20 0a 12 48 02 00 40 . ..H..@
0048: 00 00 00 00 0a 00 00 00 ........
0050: 00 00 00 00 00 18 ab 82 ......‚
0058: 00 00 00 00 08 40 aa 82 .....@‚
0060: 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0068: 28 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 (.......
0070: 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
0078: 70 00 05 00 00 00 00 0a p.......
0080: 00 00 00 00 30 00 00 00 ....0...
0088: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........

Clicking the link http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.com returned this:


Details
Product: Windows Operating System
ID: 51
Source: Cdrom
Version: 5.2
Symbolic Name: IO_WARNING_PAGING_FAILURE
Message: An error was detected on device %1 during a paging operation.

Explanation
An input/output (I/O) request to a memory-mapped file failed and the operation was retried.


User Action
No user action is required.



I/O errors I've had before when trying to do a cd/dvd burn.I'm completely in the dark on this subject.

feersumendjinn
06-01-2008, 12:56 AM
Check DMA is enabled on your burner (this can be degraded back to PIO mode if you've tried and failed to read a disk)
This may help:
http://www.vista-xp.co.uk/forums/windows-xp-hardware/4664-solved-io_warning_paging_failure-crash-help-needed.html
May help to check you've got an 80 wire IDE cable (if it's a IDE burner).
Maybe do a RAM memtest too :)

gza
06-01-2008, 05:14 PM
I checked DMA & have UDMA 5 on both HDD & burner. DMA is enabled.Both HDD & DVD-RAM drive are on own 80 connector cable. HDD on Primary,DVD on Secondary connector.
I have Hard Drive Inspector program that gives readings of 100% for Reliability,Performance & Error Resistance.
I also SIS Sandra X11 that says installed RAM is ok.(1xPC2100 133MHZ 128MB DDR_SDRAM & 1xPC2700U 133MHz 256MB DDR-SDRAM)
Maybe I need more RAM(I DO!)
Thanks for the link to Memtest. I'll get it & walk some 1's & 0's.
Cheers

gza
06-01-2008, 05:35 PM
My burner is an Asus DRW-1814BL QuieTrack LightSribe & HDD is Western Digital WDC WD800BB-00JHCO. 5 & 8 months old respectively & not had a lot of hard work.
Been looking in Windows Help & Support on Paging Errors & I/O errors.Also Dr Watson.They not being too helpful.
Stuff it!! Think I'll get on to PB Tech in Dunedin tomorrow & treat myself to 1GB of Hynix DDR400.
As for a power supply con mucho Gusto.......400W...hmmmmmmm?

wainuitech
06-01-2008, 06:37 PM
Personally I have found a lot of the Light scribe programs Crap.

I have a Asus DRW 1612BL - With Nero which came with the drive - what a joke:groan: Wouldn't write half the time, when it did the quality was rubbish, other times error messages left right and center.
Download several from the Light scribe Site and the best one I found was Droppix (http://www.droppix.com/). works real nice - never a problem apart from a "Best" burn can take a while.
Out of interest - the PC has 512Mb RAM. XP

One thing that was clear from the start, some graphics dont write to good to the CD/DVD's. If its text you add in,it works fine, Drawings generally work good to , photos - well lest say some are like you described in the original post - light and almost transparent.

gza
06-01-2008, 11:36 PM
I'm now getting excellent read/write results out of the Asus but still no graphics.
The 1 etch i did get took 20 minutes to do & it was made from a pailish pic that my sis sent me via Yahoo IM.That's why I imported the high contrast one from LS Gallery.To no avail.
Considering that problem could be the Verbatin LS DVD's I bought when I bought the Hardware.30 of them in cases @ $1.40each.Might try another brand.
Returning today to Event Viewer/Applications, I found there are a lot of entries about Hanging Applications relevant to LS.Here's one of them.They're all the same:
Hanging application CoverDes.exe, version 2.10.1.1, hang module hungapp , version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 48 61 6e 67 ion Hang
0010: 20 20 43 6f 76 65 72 44 CoverD
0018: 65 73 2e 65 78 65 20 32 es.exe 2
0020: 2e 31 30 2e 31 2e 31 20 .10.1.1
0028: 69 6e 20 68 75 6e 67 61 in hunga
0030: 70 70 20 30 2e 30 2e 30 pp 0.0.0
0038: 2e 30 20 61 74 20 6f 66 .0 at of
0040: 66 73 65 74 20 30 30 30 fset 000
0048: 30 30 30 30 30 00000
now I am in the dark
I tried adding text to my 1st printing but no would do.
I'll try the Droppix you mentioned.
Could you explain your saying "the PC has 512Mb RAM. XP"? please
Originally this com shipped with only the 128Mb PC2100 DDR installed to run the pre-installed Win XP Home & the HP progs. Fine till I added SP2+
As it stands now with the 384Mb RAM I have, after I get Windows running with 44 Processes @ startup,I'm left with 220Mb available. No wonder icons dissappear off my screen @ times!
Cheers

feersumendjinn
07-01-2008, 12:37 AM
Hanging application CoverDes.exe,
Sounds like your cover (dvd jewel case insert?) or lightscribe designer software is crashing or buggy/corrupt, reinstall?
Would definitely get more ram, 512mb is just enough for XP, 1gb is much better.
Going by ram you've got, sounds like you've got an early Pentium 4, 2GHz ish (2004?) mobo/cpu, probably working hard to burn effectively at high burn speeds, would slow burn speed down, some. :2cents:
Update burner firmware?

zqwerty
07-01-2008, 01:05 AM
Try shutting down non-essential services using task manager to free up resources before you burn since you have marginal amount of ram.

wainuitech
07-01-2008, 07:55 AM
Could you explain your saying "the PC has 512Mb RAM. XP"? please
Originally this com shipped with only the 128Mb PC2100 DDR installed to run the pre-installed Win XP Home & the HP progs. Fine till I added SP2+
As it stands now with the 384Mb RAM

The system I was referring to has 1 512 Mb of RAM running XP home- looking at the Spec's provided you system could do with some more RAM, If a PC runs of of memory, you usually start getting error messages, and failure of what ever you are doing Eg: writing the light scribe.
If you can afford it and the PC can take it I'd suggest at least adding in another 512Mb RAM you should notice a vast improvement.

gza
07-01-2008, 10:53 AM
Compaq Presario S3010AN
MBrd: FIC KT266-8235
Proc: AMD Athlon XP 2000+ 1.67GHz Internal Data Cache 64kb Synchronous,write-back,2 way set,64 byte line size; L2 On-Board Cache 256kb ECC Synchronous, Write-back,16-way set,64 byte line size RAM: 1x128MB PC2100 133DDR & 1x256MB PC2700U 133DDR (384MB) Chipset: VIA KT266/A, KT333/A
Chipset1: FIC VT8375 ProSavageDDR PM266/KM266 CPU to PCI Bridge Graphics: Radeon 9000 Series
Audio: Realtek AC97 Audio for Via (onboard) PSU: Bestec 250W
Optics: Asus DRW-1814BL QuieTrack LightScribe
HDD: 80GB WDC WD800BB OOJHC0 Monitor: Philips 170S LCD OS: XP Home+SP2 v5.1.2600 Build 2600

I reinstalled LS Software 2-3 day back, made no improvement

I tried shutting down all Apps.-bar LS & Nero Cover Designer-& as much as i could using System Configuration Utility,didn't improve the result either.
AM going to replace existing RAM with 1GB DDR400 this week.That'll improve something!
Thank you all.