PDA

View Full Version : New Broadband connection - what hardware?



Sam Bos
21-12-2007, 12:39 AM
hey guys. were (finally) looking at getting broadband.I've decided to go with Xnet as they have the best deal suited to us.

This means we have to (or have the privilege of) choosing and buying the hardware ourselves.

I would like to know what we need in terms of modems/routers/switches/hubs etc. Once I know what Im getting, i can sort out the cables/filters myself (that stuff i understand!)

We have a pc (10/100Mbps) in the office that we want to connect to a wired network (a network that's not yet in existence -which is why i mentioned hubs/switches). we have a laptop which is wireless-g capable (which we would prefer it to be connected to the new network wirelessly as it does move around a lot). i also want to connect my pc (10/100Mbps) and xbox to the network as well, which are both in a different room.

Would i be right in using the following item to start a network and connect to broadband: http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Networking-modems/Routers-firewalls/auction-132938542.htm

From what I understand, I would connect the adsl port of this to the adsl port on the line filter, then any wired pc's on the network would plug into one of the 4 ethernet ports, and any wireless computers would connect wirelessly, is that correct?

and then would it be ok to run a cable to the other room, put a switch on the end of it and plug my pc and xbox into the switch? or could i run 2 seperate cables from the modem-router to my room and connect the pc to one and the xbox to the other?

what does a router do? can it connect a network to the internet by itself or do you have to wire it up to a modem and connect the modem to the internet?

lastly, for the hardwire that you recommend i use, what brand/products would you recommend? (links to websites would be helpful)

thanks for your help and merry christmas

gary67
21-12-2007, 07:00 AM
Most adsl routers do all you need my D-link from Ihug works as the conection for broadband for our 3 comps as well as handling the internal network. I only have the D-link as it was part of the deal others will have a better idea of brands.

Bantu
21-12-2007, 07:38 AM
Since I have all Linksys I would use one of these.

Linksys BEFSR41 Modem Router with 4 port Switch (http://www-nz.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C1&childpagename=NZ%2FLayout&cid=1134692390231&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=9023190024B01)

Or if you must have wireless then maybe this one

Wireless-N ADSL2+ Gateway (http://www-nz.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=NZ%2FLayout&cid=1169671141909&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=4190988888B01)

FoxyMX
21-12-2007, 10:34 AM
I would like to know what we need in terms of modems/routers/switches/hubs etc. Once I know what Im getting, i can sort out the cables/filters myself

Just buy an ADSL modem/router with wireless and four ports. The one in your link will be fine. Another example is this (http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=359216). Ascent have a very good range, though they aren't the cheapest place to buy from.