PDA

View Full Version : vista + quicktime



Just Me
10-12-2007, 08:55 PM
My vista home premium does not run quicktime 7.3.0.70. Error message reads; QuickTime Player requires Windows 2000 or later.

Can anybody help?:confused:

Speedy Gonzales
10-12-2007, 09:02 PM
Is it the 32 or 64 bit version of Vista??

According to this (http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1261900&tstart=135)

It doesnt work with Vista 64 bit. You can try and change it to run in 32 bit.

Or you may have to uninstall 7.3 and install an earlier version like 7.15.

wainuitech
10-12-2007, 09:03 PM
Welcome to PressF1 Just Me,

Thats odd, just looked and the 7.3 as shown Here (http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/) says it works with Vista ?

I have it installed on Vista HM Prem and no worries.
Try downloading it again from the link above and see what happens.

EDIT: after seeing speedys reply Heres the link (http://www.download.com/QuickTime/3000-2139_4-10716642.html) for quicktime 7.2 and even Older versions (http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=quicktime) 7.1 and before

Just Me
10-12-2007, 09:43 PM
Anyway it's vista64.

I removed Quick Time but it does still appear to hang around. When I try to install an older version I get the message; Can install Quick Time because a newer version is already running.

What next?

Speedy Gonzales
10-12-2007, 09:55 PM
Did u quit QT before you uninstalled it?

Did you uninstall it ??

If its still running kill it.

And reboot, then try again

MaXimus
11-12-2007, 03:07 AM
Why install QuickTime Player? Use the K-Lite Mega Codec Pack (http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_Lite_Mega_Codec_Pack.htm), it runs quicktime files, real player files, and any video file you throw at it! all in one small player! barely uses any resources.

wratterus
11-12-2007, 01:22 PM
Why install QuickTime Player? Use the K-Lite Mega Codec Pack (http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_Lite_Mega_Codec_Pack.htm), it runs quicktime files, real player files, and any video file you throw at it! all in one small player! barely uses any resources.

:thumbs: x10

linw
11-12-2007, 02:24 PM
Do your research before installing QT on vista. Security problems exist and I have read it can destroy some RAID disks.

MaXimus
11-12-2007, 05:40 PM
like I said, no need for QuickTime on Vista no XP! K-Lite Mega Codec pack plays any file you throw at it! No adware no bull **** :)

PENTIUM
11-12-2007, 06:05 PM
Greetings.
The enquiry was about Quicktime 7.3.
It is widely used and well documented.
It works for me, and I install it as an option on the Windows Vista Home Premium machines I assemble.

PENTIUM
11-12-2007, 06:07 PM
But, sorry, these are 32 bit versions.

Just Me
11-12-2007, 08:02 PM
I quit QT before uninstalling it, and rebooted, and tried again.

And I still get the same message.

Speedy Gonzales
11-12-2007, 08:08 PM
Well, the only thing left to do, is find the apple/QT folder and delete it.

And delete the folder in documents and settings, or whatever vista uses.

Then delete the Apple/QT entries in the registry.

Then use ccleaner and delete everything else to do with QT.

Then reboot. Bet it wont find it then.

wainuitech
11-12-2007, 08:16 PM
Seems its the 64Bit problem This article (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304405) may help, or Here is the original article (http://crazytrain.wordpress.com/2007/06/19/problems-installing-quicktimeitunessafari-on-windows-error-2738/)

Just Me
11-12-2007, 09:31 PM
I quit QT before uninstalling it, and rebooted it, and tried again.

and still no luck.

wainuitech
11-12-2007, 10:09 PM
posts 12 & 15 are exactly the same ????? Did you run the vbscript as in the articles I posted ?????

If you did then it may simply be a case that quick tunes like some other programs wont run in Vista 64Bit.

Look at These instructions (http://coderjournal.com/2007/02/setting-up-itunes-on-windows-vista-64-bit/) Install Itunes which has quicktime. If it still doesn't work then it looks like its not yet possible with the 64Bit. Every suggestion I have found is either the vbscript method or the link aboth.

Just Me
12-12-2007, 04:03 PM
I have no problems with itunes at all, it's just QT which is playing up. I have tried the vbscript but that does not work either. I guess I will just have to give QT a miss for a while.

Nicky Butt
12-12-2007, 08:26 PM
[spam removed]

Just Me
02-04-2008, 09:25 PM
Solved the problem with QT and Vista 64. The big issue is that QT installs in (x86) but looks in 'Program Files' to run. Here is a way to trick QT:

1. Open up the Command Prompt as an Administrator (Go to All Programs > Accessories and Right Click on Command Prompt and then choose Run as administrator)
2. Create a QuickTime folder in both Program Files (x86)
mkdir "c:\Program Files (x86)\QuickTime"
3. Now create a symbolic link to the Program Files directory
mklink /d "c:\Program Files\QuickTime" "c:\Program Files (x86)\QuickTime"
:rolleyes:

Greven
02-04-2008, 10:11 PM
like I said, no need for QuickTime on Vista no XP! K-Lite Mega Codec pack plays any file you throw at it! No adware no bull **** :)

Does it work on 64bit vista?

Just Me
08-04-2008, 08:54 PM
Yes, works fine on my vista64.:)