PDA

View Full Version : Vista updates



ronr
01-12-2007, 04:55 PM
My O.S. is Vista and my last two automatic updates will not install.

I even tried turning off my antivirus, firewall etc. This made no difference

1) Media Centre KB941229 update showed an error code 8007000B.
I also tried downloading and installing update manually but this would still not install.

2) Net frame work 1.1 Service pack 1 update showed an error code 80200010

Windows update icon continually shows in the tray.

Can anyone please help me with this update problem

LiquidSolidity
01-12-2007, 05:21 PM
You might have to search the Microsoft knowledge base: http://support.microsoft.com/search/default.aspx?query=updates+fail&x=0&y=0&catalog=LCID%3D2057&pd=&spid=11732&qryWt=&mode=r&cus=False

bones
01-12-2007, 08:03 PM
I had the same problem with the Net Framework update.
Tried the suggested remedys, rename C:\Windows\Software Distribution Folder and re-update etc but still wouldn't work,finally got it to install by going back to the old renamed Software Distribution folder and found an \install directory under that with the download in it. It intalled from there fine.

Speedy Gonzales
01-12-2007, 08:12 PM
Looks like Panda 2005 AV, Panda IS 2005, and Panda Titanium, can cause error 80200010.

Are one of these installed??

There's a fix on the Panda site somewhere.

And from here (http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsgroups/en-us/default.aspx?dg=microsoft.public.windowsupdate&tid=b2248d99-019c-41ba-a425-1ebe977cda51&p=1)

Which applies to Vista ONLY. For the other error.

Open an Administrator command prompt by right clicking on Start -> All
Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt and selecting "Run as
Administrator" and clicking "Allow" for the elevation prompt

2. In the command prompt, type the command below
fsutil resource setautoreset true C:\

(This assumes that C: is the drive in which Vista is installed. If it is
installed on another drive like D:, please change the drive letter
appropriately)

3. Reboot the machine
>

ronr
02-12-2007, 10:28 AM
Thank you for your responses

I will try these out in the next day or two and will post results in a reply

Thanks

qazwsxokmijn
02-12-2007, 11:01 AM
I think MS has fixed this issue. Yesterday the Net Framework update gave me errors, but today it installed just fine.

ronr
02-12-2007, 05:40 PM
Hi

In the Software Dist. folder there are the following folders:
AuthCabs, DataStore, Download, EventsCache, Postreboot..., ScanFile, SelfUpdate, WuRedir.

There is no install directory in any of these

The Download file does contain the Zipped patch but when this is opened there is still no install file?

Speedy Gonzales
02-12-2007, 05:44 PM
Well I cant tell u anything else, I'm not using Vista.

Better to do a search in google or yahoo for the errors youre getting.

bones
02-12-2007, 07:11 PM
Hi

In the Software Dist. folder there are the following folders:
AuthCabs, DataStore, Download, EventsCache, Postreboot..., ScanFile, SelfUpdate, WuRedir.

There is no install directory in any of these

The Download file does contain the Zipped patch but when this is opened there is still no install file?

There was an install directory in my case, but you may have a different issue. Will double check tomorrow as the Vista machine is my work one. Also have a bookmark on it to a site that solved the problem for me. Will post tomorrow if you still have no resolution.

ronr
02-12-2007, 08:17 PM
Looks like Panda 2005 AV, Panda IS 2005, and Panda Titanium, can cause error 80200010.

Are one of these installed??

There's a fix on the Panda site somewhere.

And from here (http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsgroups/en-us/default.aspx?dg=microsoft.public.windowsupdate&tid=b2248d99-019c-41ba-a425-1ebe977cda51&p=1)

Which applies to Vista ONLY. For the other error.

Open an Administrator command prompt by right clicking on Start -> All
Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt and selecting "Run as
Administrator" and clicking "Allow" for the elevation prompt

2. In the command prompt, type the command below
fsutil resource setautoreset true C:\

(This assumes that C: is the drive in which Vista is installed. If it is
installed on another drive like D:, please change the drive letter
appropriately)

3. Reboot the machine
>
Error 80200010 fixed by going through "the command prompt"

Now all I have to correct is the 8007000B error

Thanks a lot

Speedy Gonzales
02-12-2007, 08:35 PM
Cool, at least 1 got fixed.

Is Vista on C?

This says the same thing (http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/Help/ca7d15d7-8ee3-4993-bd01-753dadc904121033.mspx)

Just checked out a windowsupdate newsgroup and once u type in:

fsutil resource setautoreset true C

It should say: completed successful

Thats when u quit the command prompt and reboot.

bones
03-12-2007, 07:32 AM
Ok. My old Software Distribution folder has a download\Install directory, but my newly created one doesn't. Could be because the automatic update failed and it got left there? Has the installation file (.exe) for the Net update there.
Here is a link to the site that got me sorted anyway http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsgroups/en-us/default.aspx?dg=microsoft.public.windowsupdate&lang=en&cr=US
Good luck. I was getting frustrated over various vista 'quirks' just about went back to XP but once I got updates working I've decided to stick it out.

ronr
03-12-2007, 09:28 AM
Hi
My update install for error 8007000B in working OK now. The fix I did for error 80200010 fixed this error too

Thank you all for you help, time and efforts

ronr
03-12-2007, 07:35 PM
Yes Vista is on C drive. All sorted out now with many thanks to your suggestions

Speedy Gonzales
03-12-2007, 07:39 PM
Cool good to hear it's fixed Ron :thumbs: