PDA

View Full Version : antivirus



jayal
27-11-2007, 07:46 PM
being a regular reader i noted the comments re AVG & Avast, Avast seemingly better, so a couple of weeks ago i deleted AVG & installed Avast - no problems really except the Avast log file today, and has previously, showed 868 files "unable to scan, archives are password protected" - most are Spybot\Ad-Aware\klcodec277f.exe - whatever that .exe is - i checked one or two and they aren't password protected, the attributes are clear, i.e. no ticks - must say AVG never gave any hint of a similar problem so was wondering if someone could shed some light on this - system is XP - thanks

Misty
27-11-2007, 07:57 PM
being a regular reader i noted the comments re AVG & Avast, Avast seemingly better, so a couple of weeks ago i deleted AVG & installed Avast - no problems really except the Avast log file today, and has previously, showed 868 files "unable to scan, archives are password protected" - most are Spybot\Ad-Aware\klcodec277f.exe - whatever that .exe is - i checked one or two and they aren't password protected, the attributes are clear, i.e. no ticks - must say AVG never gave any hint of a similar problem so was wondering if someone could shed some light on this - system is XP - thanks
Mmm ! I know very little, indeed less knowledge re this than on the head of a pin ! Ask someone who is aged 18-24. Nevertheless, my guess is that they are in quarantine. Don't take this as gospel !
Misty :xmouth:

drcspy
27-11-2007, 07:59 PM
thats klite codec pack.......why it wont scan them I dunno.....might help if you post the EXACT path to those particular files ?

Speedy Gonzales
27-11-2007, 08:04 PM
Might be in the docs / temp folder, where all the files go when you install something.

jayal
27-11-2007, 08:45 PM
can't find the log file so will have to run the AV programme to get it - will take an hour + though

jayal
27-11-2007, 09:33 PM
did a quick scan same result
there are 207 entries for these codec files, here's one
C:\DownloadedProgramFiles\klcodec277f.exe\{app}\to ols\fixcodecs-O.bin
and another type
C:\SystemVolumeInformation\_restore{8510FB0F-C2E8-4A43-BB14-AB92D828678B}\RP143\A0010619.exe\{APP}\tools\fixco decs-1.bin

hope this makes some sense

Speedy Gonzales
27-11-2007, 09:35 PM
I wouldnt worry about it

jayal
27-11-2007, 09:54 PM
thanks once again Speedy - spose i should keep Avast rather than AVG?

jebby
27-11-2007, 09:55 PM
Hi Jayal, I get the same "unable to scan" message, but it has never caused any bother. As for finding the scan report, go to ... Program files > Alwil software > Avast 4 > Data > Report > Simple user interface.TXT

Speedy Gonzales
27-11-2007, 10:22 PM
thanks once again Speedy - spose i should keep Avast rather than AVG?

I think Avast is WAY better than AVG.

And does a better job of getting rid of malware/viruses etc

jayal
27-11-2007, 10:27 PM
thanks for the suggestion jebby but strangely that txt file isn't there

Myth
28-11-2007, 06:06 AM
I think Avast is WAY better than AVG.

And does a better job of getting rid of malware/viruses etc
..and I prefer AntiVir over both of these :D

jebby
28-11-2007, 04:33 PM
thanks for the suggestion jebby but strangely that txt file isn't there


Write a report may not be setup. Try right click "A" ball on taskbar > Program settings > Report file > Tick Create report file.