PDA

View Full Version : missing drivers for newly installed windows xp



bjw90
15-11-2007, 03:37 PM
hey I was wondering if someone could help me?
I have just completely wiped my hardrive and then reinstalled windows xp on it. From there I found that I could no longer play all the games I used to be able to play because the computer doesn't have the right drivers. I could play all these games before I reformatted the computer but now i cant. I also have no sound because of missing drivers also I was wondering if someone could please tell me how to get these drivers back or what i should do so I can use sound and play the games.

thanks

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 03:40 PM
You have to find out the brand/model of the system / mobo.

Then go to the manufacturer's site. And download the LAN/sound/motherboard drivers etc. Whatever is onboard.

Then install them.

bjw90
15-11-2007, 04:44 PM
yea ive had a look but the manufacturer of this computer has gone under. its the pc company an they dont have a website is there anything else i can do

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 04:52 PM
But whats the brand/model?

Or what was the system?? HP?? other?

If you can find a brand and model and if its an HP, go to HP (http://www.hp.com) and do a search.

PC would have been when it was purchased from. But not necessarily the manufacturer of the mobo.

Is there some kind of sticker somewhere on the back / front of the case

bjw90
15-11-2007, 05:03 PM
im not sure, the brand is pc company and the model in system properties reads intel (R) 4 cpu 2.40ghz 2.41ghz, 256mb of ram
does that help the user manual says there is a website which is www.thepccompany.co.nz but its not there any more because the company went under.

wainuitech
15-11-2007, 05:05 PM
Being PC Company they dealt mainly in ECS boards, usually Purple in colour.

There will be a number / Letters bigger than the rest on the Board someplace Something like K7ASA < EXAMPLE only.

If It is an ECS board go to This site (http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Products/ProductList.aspx?CategoryID=1&MenuID=7&LanID=9) and scroll through.

Other wise post back any numbers/letters you locate and someone will direct you to the right place.

Updating:
OKay Just saw you said the User Manual - what is the letters / numbers on the front cover.

bjw90
15-11-2007, 05:11 PM
it says on the front cover that the main board is L4S8A2

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 05:15 PM
Looks like it is ECS then.

It could be this (http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Downloads/ProductsDetail_Download.aspx?detailid=35&DetailName=New&DetailDesc=L4S8A2%20%20(V1.0)&CategoryID=1&MenuID=82&LanID=0)

Or this (http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Downloads/ProductsDetail_Download.aspx?detailid=329&DetailName=New&DetailDesc=&CategoryID=1&MenuID=6&LanID=0)

The drivers appear to be the same, the BIOS will be different.

So dont get the BIOS if yours is up to date.

wainuitech
15-11-2007, 05:31 PM
:thumbs: ECS - good ol PC Company - Never fails :lol:

bjw90
15-11-2007, 05:36 PM
um yea i have downloaded drivers but what do i do after that?? how do i install them on computer??

Greven
15-11-2007, 05:38 PM
:thumbs: ECS - good ol PC Company - Never fails :lol:

:lol: Never fails to fail. They also use Maxtor hard drives don't they?

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 05:39 PM
If theyre exe files double click on them.

If theyre zip files, double click on them, to extract the files in them (since XP supports zip).

Then double click on setup or install.exe to install them.

beeswax34
15-11-2007, 05:39 PM
If they are exe files or the like as they usually are, just double click and then just press Next or enter any details that might be required. Just like installing a program.

Greven
15-11-2007, 05:39 PM
um yea i have downloaded drivers but what do i do after that?? how do i install them on computer??

If they are EXEs, run them. If they are zip files, extract them somewhere & run setup.exe. If there is no setup, come back here for instructions on manual install of drivers.

wainuitech
15-11-2007, 06:02 PM
:lol: Never fails to fail. They also use Maxtor hard drives don't they? YEP! most of the time:thumbs:

bjw90
16-11-2007, 10:39 AM
hey um yea ive done all that with the drivers and clicked on them and installed them and my games still wont work and my sound is still not working how do i get these working?

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 10:47 AM
Did u get the C-Media CMI973x/9761A Audio Drivers, lan, agp (if youre using the onboard video)?

And did u reboot?

Is SP1 or 2 installed?

You may have to install DirectX for games to work properly.

Look in device manager does the soundcard appear under sound

bjw90
16-11-2007, 11:18 AM
yea ive done all that but the sound still does not appear in the drivers under sound audio and video devices and under other devices the multimedia audio controller and the video controller have got a yellow question mark next to it with a exclamation point. does this mean there not working properly??

bjw90
16-11-2007, 11:20 AM
also there was no CMI973x/9761A files in the folder

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 11:23 AM
Are you using the onboard video card or did you install another video card?

If the onboard, you have to install the SiS AGP VxD Driver from the ECS site that was posted.

If you installed another card, you have to go to the manufacturer's site (ATI or Nvidia) and download then install the video drivers.

Sounds like something is conflicting.

Delete those entries that have the ! beside them and reboot. See what happens then.

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 11:25 AM
also there was no CMI973x/9761A files in the folder

What folder? So did u download these drivers, and install them?

bjw90
16-11-2007, 11:32 AM
Yes i tried installing an ati driver but it says it doesnt have the required software or hardware to install

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 11:39 AM
Well if you're using the onboard video card the ATI or Nvidia drivers wont work.

Like I said, in the previous post, you NEED the SiS AGP VxD Driver from the ECS link I posted.

Not ATI or Nvidia drivers.

So, I'll ask AGAIN.

Did you install ANOTHER video card, or are you using the onboard video card?

bjw90
16-11-2007, 11:44 AM
onboard

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 11:48 AM
You have to install the SiS AGP VxD Driver driver from the ECS site then.

NOT the ATI drivers. Since your card isnt an ATI card.

Then reboot. If you think you've installed the sound drivers, have you got something like a voicemodem installed?

Go to control panel / sounds and audio devices. Then the audio tab. Whats showing as the default device for playback and recording?? Anything here?

bjw90
16-11-2007, 11:48 AM
i got the SiS AGP VxD Driver downloaded it and installed it but sound and games still wont work

bjw90
16-11-2007, 11:50 AM
I went into the sounds / audio tab and it says that nothing is there no devices for recording or any thing

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 11:54 AM
Have you got some kind of graphics programs installed??

If u have go to device manager click on all the +'s.

Maximise the device manager window

Press print screen on the keyboard, paste it into the graphics program, save it, then upload it here (http://imagef1.net.nz/)

Copy and paste the link the above site gives u back here.

It sounds like you havent installed the soundcard drivers, or theres a lot of conflicts on your system.

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 12:06 PM
Did you double click on install.exe or setup.exe if the soundcard drivers were zipped?

Just double clicking on the zipped file wont install the drivers.

That just extracts whats in the zipped file/s

bjw90
16-11-2007, 12:30 PM
hey I have got the sound going thank you very much!!!!! but the the video controller (vga compatible) still is in yellow. how do you do a screen shot of the device manager?

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 12:37 PM
WHAT'S in the SiS AGP VxD Driver file??

Was it zipped, or is it an exe file??

If zipped, do the same thing u did for the sound. Double click on the install or setup.exe file, if its got one to install the drivers. Then reboot.

If it's an exe file, just double click on it, then install then reboot.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 12:46 PM
when i go into the sis files it has 4 exe files that are ata133ap, AMDInst, instdrv and waitwn when i click on AMDInst and instdrv an error comes up but when i click on the other two nothing happens is it installing??

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 12:57 PM
The zipped file is called agp_121.zip

Which is 3.3 mb. Extract whats in it then double click on the setup file.

There's definitely more than 4 files in it.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 01:14 PM
yep i did that reinstalled it and restarted the computer but its sill in yellow in device manager with an exclamation point.

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 01:19 PM
Can you put up a screen shot of the Device manager as per speedys request in Post #28

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 01:25 PM
Did u install the SiS Mini IDE Driver ??

WT, what do these do anyway??

These are for the hdd or something I take it??

Theyre not like mobo drivers are they?

bjw90
16-11-2007, 01:33 PM
im nt sure its the video controller driver im trying to get going im not sure what these files are. is there any other drivers i can use instead of this one??

bjw90
16-11-2007, 01:34 PM
I have copied a screenshot of my device manager here http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/untitled1195175331.bmp
can you see whats happening?

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 01:48 PM
Double click on that ! What does it say?? Error 10 or other?

Are there any entries in add/remove programs to do with ATI?? Even tho it didnt install??

If there is uninstall the ATI entry / entries.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 01:55 PM
no entries for ati and when i click on the driver it comes up saying This device is not configured correctly. (Code 1) under device status.

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 01:59 PM
Ok well according to the MS site (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/125174), it means the drivers havent been installed. Or configured.

And it says to delete that entry.

Did u find the setup file, in that agp_121.zip file??

It doesnt sound like you double clicked on it and installed the drivers still.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 02:11 PM
yes i did that i uninstalled that device then click on the installer in that file then restarted windows but it appeared in that same place again. would having windows sp1 have anything to do with this??

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 02:17 PM
Go to control panel / admin tools event viewer.

Look for any X's under application or system. Relating to the time and the install of the video drivers. If there are any, tell us what it says.

Block it with the mouse ctrl-c then ctrl-v to paste it here.

Youre either doing it wrong or that videocard is stuffed somewhere.

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 02:29 PM
BJW - in post 24 you answered you are using onboard Graphics - slight problem. The Board was said to be L4S8A2 problem is according to the Manual for that board, the Rear panel As Shown here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/ECS_Motherboard.jpg) DOES NOT have onboard graphics - it takes a seperate graphic card. It will more than likely be either nVidia or ATI.

The screen shot you provided ( thanks) shows its a Graphic Driver problem, or lack of.

If your board does have onboard graphics then its not a L4S8A.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 02:29 PM
here are what the ones with x's say:

Faulting application mp_s3.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module mp_s3.exe, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00001009.
For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

there are heaps of these ones:

Initialization failed because the driver device could not be created.
For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

Initialization failed because the driver device could not be created.
For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


The server {D6015EC3-FA16-4813-9CA1-DA204574F5DA} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.
For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

Resolve Partial Assembly failed for Microsoft.VC80.CRT. Reference error message: The referenced assembly is not installed on your system.
For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

Dependent Assembly Microsoft.VC80.CRT could not be found and Last Error was The referenced assembly is not installed on your system.

The device, \Device\Ide\IdePort1, did not respond within the timeout period.

The device, \Device\CdRom1, has a bad block.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 02:42 PM
wainui tech im actually not totally sure if its a onboard driver or not if it is not can it be fixed??

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 02:46 PM
Well, first you have to find out whether its (this videocard ), is part of the mobo (where is the monitor plugged in the pic WT posted).

Is it around there or further down (like in the AGP slot).

We cant tell you how to fix it until you tell us whether the videocard is part of the mobo (onboard).

Or whether its a videocard you, or someone else installed.

And that ! wont disappear, until we know the above, and you install the right drivers.

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 02:55 PM
wainui tech im actually not totally sure if its a onboard driver or not if it is not can it be fixed??

Should Be able to fix it - just need the correct Driver. Take a look at This Picture (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/ECS_Motherboard2.JPG) Bad Quality - but youll get the Idea. Is the connection point you are attaching your Monitor to in the red area of theis picture.?

If it IS then you have a Graphic Card. I see Speedy has tried the ATI and No luck - so usually that only leaves nVidia drivers - the trick is which ones.

To make sure - with the PC off, remove the side cover carefully look on the card hopefully you will see model number / make. What would be a big help is if it says something like FX????? or 6????? or 7??????.

I'm guessing with the age of this PC that its either FX or 6 series.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 03:06 PM
ok well the moniter is not plugged into any of the ports shown in the picture that wainuitech posted it is in a seperate one. does that help??

bjw90
16-11-2007, 03:08 PM
yes its in the red area

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 03:09 PM
lol not really. So WHERE or what is it plugged into.

Did u take the cover off?? Whats it say on the videocard?

bjw90
16-11-2007, 03:11 PM
where is the side cover that i need to remove? And what am i looking for? sorry Im new to all this

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 03:11 PM
OK so thats WHY the drivers off the ECS site dont work.

We NEED to know the brand and model of this card.

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 03:14 PM
If its a 6 or FX nVidia Heres the download (http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_163.75.html) page. Look on the Products supported - hopefully it will be one of those.

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 03:15 PM
where is the side cover that i need to remove? And what am i looking for? sorry Im new to all this

Get this (http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html)

It'll be easier. Install it run it. Then look under video adapter entry, whatever its got.

Tell us what it says.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 03:20 PM
here is a picture of the back of my pc:
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/DSC01591.JPG
the blue port is where i plug in my monitor.

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 03:25 PM
Hmm ok so its DVI and VGA.

Whatya think WT?

Nvidia?

There's only Nvidia left, the ATI drivers and the ECS driver dont work.

Get Everest in the link above. See what that says.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 03:37 PM
it says sis 330 xabre in one spot and says:


Device Description
AGP 8x: PowerColor XP200A

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 03:43 PM
Yep Speedy - Chances are VERY good its nVidia, DVI - Moderm card - running on AGP - educated guess its These drivers (http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_163.75.html)

You can also download This program (http://www.alexnolan.net/software/sysspec.htm) Bottom left hand corner the .exe file - does the same sort of thing as the one Speedy told ya - stand alone systemspec - click on the display button - it may also give you the chipset. But looking at the Pic supplied I'd say its nVidia.

bjw90
16-11-2007, 03:51 PM
i installed the nivida drivers but it didnt work it says its not compatible.

PENTIUM
16-11-2007, 03:52 PM
In my experience you need the SiS driver. There are postings for your video drivers on Google, but most tekkies that do repairs should have the Xabre drivers on C D.

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 03:56 PM
I think it is ATI. BUT the drivers he tried were for the wrong model.

The site down the road has quite a few Powercolour cards. Theyre all Radeon.

Uninstall those Nvidia drivers (if they installed something).

WHAT ATI drivers did u get and install before BJ??

Radeon? what?

bjw90
16-11-2007, 03:57 PM
in the system spec programme it says this:



Windows: Windows XP5.1 (Build 2600) Service Pack 1
Internet Explorer: 6.0.2800.1106
Memory (RAM): 256 MB
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz
CPU Speed: 2403.1 MHz
Sound card: C-Media Wave Device
Display Adapters: | NetMeeting driver | RDPDD Chained DD
Screen Resolution: 1024 X 768 - 32 bit
:
Network Adapters: SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport
CD / DVD Drives: D: DVD-ROM | E: ATAPI CD-RW 52X24
:
COM Ports: COM3 | COM1 | COM2
LPT Ports: LPT1
Mouse: 3 Button Wheel Mouse Present
Hard Disks: C: 54.1GB
Hard Disks - Free: C: 45.7GB
USB Controllers: 4 host controllers.
Firewire (1394): 1 host controllers.
:
Manufacturer: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Product Make:
:
AC Power Status: OnLine
BIOS Info: ATAT COMPATIBLE 011603 AWARD 42302e31
Time Zone: New Zealand Standard Time
Battery: No Battery
Motherboard: thepccompany SiS-648
Modem: Not detected

bjw90
16-11-2007, 03:59 PM
I installed th ATI catalyst graphics drivers but the installation did not work

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 04:02 PM
Hmmmm Okay - bjw posted back while I was writing regarding the nVidia drivers. So not nVidia.


This sometimes works -

Is this PC on the Internet OK ? One other way that may work is right click on the display - tell it to update drivers - allow it to search the internet - it may download Microsoft drivers, but at least it will tell you which ones they are.

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 04:03 PM
Yup but it gives u an option of selecting Radeon, and 7 other options.

Did u select the right version for your version of XP and Radeon??

If u selected Radeon, WHAT did you choose under the window beside it??

The series?

Since the drivers arent all the same size.

Did u get the drivers from the ATI site??

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 04:10 PM
Speedy - hopefully these will be of some help - can you guide bjw through this please - try the SIS siteHere Download (http://www.sis.com/download/) SIS graphic Drivers.

Got to shoot out. - Have not looked fully - but XP> Graphic > several options

bjw90
16-11-2007, 04:13 PM
i got the ati drivers of the pc world cd

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 04:16 PM
Go here BJ (http://www.sis.com/support/support_prodid.htm)

It'll scan your system for whatever is SIS based. See what it brings up.

It may ask permission to install an activex component. Allow it.

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 04:17 PM
i got the ati drivers of the pc world cd

I dont think those are for your card then.

There's a lot of ATI cards and drivers for them around.

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 04:28 PM
Hows this going - any luck yet ?

Quick Job Eh! :D

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 04:32 PM
lol yer where did u go out the door and back again.

The ATI drivers he installed may have been for another card.

We'll see what that SIS scan picks up.

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 04:34 PM
lol yer where did u go out the door and back again Close around to the next street - a customer I have been trying to catch for the last 2 weeks said hes finally got the $$ enough said;) :lol:

SIS Card = SIS drivers hopefully

Speedy Gonzales
16-11-2007, 04:36 PM
Hmm who said it was a SIS card??

It might be in a sis based mobo. Doesnt mean it uses SIS drivers.

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 05:15 PM
Post 58 I think it was -?

PENTIUM
16-11-2007, 05:23 PM
Xabre is an SiS video card. Can nobody understand that?

Greven
16-11-2007, 05:29 PM
Go to the computer summary in everest, save it as a txt or html file & upload it to imagef1.

SIS don't make seperate graphics cards as far as I'm aware, and it looks like there is only one video controller in device manager, so if there is onboard video, the motherboard automatically disabled it.

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 06:21 PM
The link I put in Post 67 - if you go there, accept the agreement > XP> Grpahic > there are all the SIS Graphic drivers listed Xaber included.

Holy Cr*p why is this turning into a nightmare.

To answer my own question from a friends suggestion - but not fully now as the Mrs wants the shopping away - you may not actually have a errrrrrrr actual correct card. We will look into it.

DO you have the original Driver CD that came with the card /PC ?

wainuitech
16-11-2007, 08:24 PM
Where was this Graphic Card purchased from ? - I don't think (could be wrong) these cards were available when PC company was in business. Someone at some stage may have upgraded to this card.

You should have gotten a CD with Drivers for it. Do you have any CD's thats came with the Computer ?


This may or may not be the case -

What I was getting to before - a friend has advised and directed to another forum that had these cards with the same results - so called "correct drivers" not installing. On further investergation it was discovered the cards were actually possible copies and not "the real thing" Hence "real" drivers didn't work. If this has happened thats why no drivers are working.

If this has happened then no site that speedy, myself or any one else directs you to will be certain to be the correct place.

Did you try the drivers from the site I mentioned in the post above ?

And did you try the updating from the internet as I described in post # 65 ?

PENTIUM
16-11-2007, 10:16 PM
I also believe the card is a subsequent addition, anyway the P C Company did not OEM them. I occasionally used them for upgrades [about 3 years ago] and they came with a C D and are pretty hard to get running unless you use the correct driver - even though the chips used are pretty standard.

bjw90
23-11-2007, 07:44 AM
hey guys I have got it all sorted out so thanks heaps for your input sorry i havnt been able to get back to you as i went away

Speedy Gonzales
23-11-2007, 08:42 AM
So, WHAT did you do ??

To get it to work??

Driftwood
23-11-2007, 08:51 AM
I'd like to know as well.