PDA

View Full Version : memory upgrade, not recognised



sjaxso
15-11-2007, 02:40 PM
Hi All,

I have an ASUS P5GCMX motherboard, with 1Gb ram. The processor is an Intel Core 2 Duo 4400.

I bought another identical stick of ram - Apacer 1gb UMB PC2-5300 (667) thinking it'd make for a simple cheap boost.

My system doesn't boot with both sticks installed. Either one will work, but not both together. System powers up, fans spin, but no beeps, and no POST, no display.

The sticks are identical down to the chipset. If I add an unmatched 256Mb DDR2 533 Legend stick with one of the 1gb's, that works. But the matched ones together? Nothing.

Any Ideas?

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 02:53 PM
Whats PC2-5300 ?? DDR2 667?

If it is according to the Asus site (http://www.asus.com.tw/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=498&l4=0&model=1574&modelmenu=2)

That mobo doesnt support DDR 2 667 ram. Only DDR2 400/533.

That could be one reason why its not working.

You have to get DDR2-3200 or DDR2-4200.

Is this your mobo?? Since, theres a 1066 fsb and 1333 version of this mobo as well.

The legend works coz it's 533 not 667

wainuitech
15-11-2007, 03:07 PM
Yep - the ASUS P5GC-MX /1333 supports DDR2 - 667 RAM.

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 03:11 PM
Which, I would say he hasnt got.

The 1066 supports 667 too, but the 1066 and 1333 dont support DDR 2 400.

sjaxso
15-11-2007, 03:13 PM
Yes, it is the 1333 FSB version of the motherboard.

It says it takes DDR2 667 ram, and the apacer type I have are listed in the manual as being in the Qualified Vendors List, and says it supports them in dual channel mode.

I've tried updating the BIOS using the windows utility, but it says 'unable to locate file on remote server' - or if I download it and try to instal by file it says 'The model of your BIOS image doesn't match the BIOS ROM present'

present - 'P5GC-MX(UD)'
image - 'P5GC-MX'

I might even be barking up the wrong tree trying to update the BIOS anyway?
I don't know.

wainuitech
15-11-2007, 03:23 PM
That board takes a max of 2Gb ? 4 Gb, so "technically" it should work, its almost as if its to much for it.

and says it supports them in dual channel mode I don't have the manual, but are you able to run them without the duel channel mode ?

Note: reason for 2Gb ? is the suppliers site says 2Gb max, Asus Site says 4 Gb Max

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 03:28 PM
You sure you downloaded the right BIOS??

Theres only 1 release version of the BIOS out for this mobo (0207 - dated 19/8/07). According to the ASUS site.

It sounds like you havent got the 1333, or you downloaded the wrong BIOS.

Is this the name of the file you downloaded ? (http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socket775/P5GC-MX-1333/P5GC-MX-ASUS-1333-0207.zip)

This is for the 1333 version.

sjaxso
15-11-2007, 03:37 PM
OK< Hadn't seen that one, but that doesn't work either, same message as before.

The sticker on the side of the box says "P5CG-MX<GREEN>"
Intel Core 2 CPU Ready
FSB1066<OC 1333>, Dual_Ch DDR2 667

sjaxso
15-11-2007, 03:40 PM
This is the board >
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=498&l4=0&model=1770&modelmenu=2

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 03:46 PM
Its not the 1333 then, its the 1066.

Thats why that BIOS didnt work. Its the wrong BIOS.

This is the BIOS for that mobo (http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socket775/P5GC-MX/P5GC-MX-ASUS-0413.zip)

As of 19/8/07. 0413 is the revision of this BIOS.

wainuitech
15-11-2007, 03:56 PM
That explains why the figures dont match:D

sjaxso - The OC stands for Over Clocking to 1333

sjaxso
15-11-2007, 04:07 PM
Its not the 1333 then, its the 1066.

Thats why that BIOS didnt work. Its the wrong BIOS.

This is the BIOS for that mobo (http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socket775/P5GC-MX/P5GC-MX-ASUS-0413.zip)

As of 19/8/07. 0413 is the revision of this BIOS.

That was the first file I tried.

"The model of the BIOS present doesn't match the model of the BIOS image"

:stare:

sjaxso
15-11-2007, 04:10 PM
That explains why the figures dont match:D

sjaxso - The OC stands for Over Clocking to 1333

I clocked onto that just now. To be fair to myself, the box has an enormous sticker on the front saying 1333!

:blush:

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 04:11 PM
Well u dont have that mobo then.

You must have the original mobo not the 1066 or the 1333.

If thats the case, then thats why the 667 ram doesnt work. The mobo doesnt support it.

HOW are u trying to update it? booting into DOS with a USB flash drive or a floppy?

WHAT does it say on the post screen when you boot this system up?? And what revision of the BIOS comes up?

P5GC-MX, P5GC-MX-1066 or P5GC-MX-1333?? Press pause to stop it.

It must say which one here.

Open the case and look on the mobo, it'll tell u here.

sjaxso
15-11-2007, 04:23 PM
OK, the box says this:

http://img403.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p5gcmxasusyw9.jpg

I'll reboot now, check the board and the BIOS revision.

sjaxso
15-11-2007, 04:36 PM
...and on booting it says
"AMIBIOS 2007
ASUS P5GC-MX ACPI BIOS revision 0108"

and on the board itself, it just says
"P5GC-MX" - exactly as it does here (http://www.asus.co.nz/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=498&l4=0&model=1770&modelmenu=1)

Speedy Gonzales
15-11-2007, 04:48 PM
Hmm according to the ASUS download site:

The P5GC-MX doesn't have a 0108 revision BIOS.

It starts from 0209 and goes to 0413.

The P5GC-1333 doesnt have a 0108 revision BIOS either. There's only one BIOS 0207.

The 1066 shows R 2.02 but doesnt have anything at all on the ASUS site.

Theres also a R3 version of this mobo. And this doesnt have anything on the site either.

sjaxso
15-11-2007, 05:22 PM
[QUOTE=Speedy Gonzales;614325]

The 1066 shows R 2.02 but doesnt have anything at all on the ASUS site.

QUOTE]

Yep, I guess that's where the road ends - there is no updated BIOS to be had.

Annoying that it wont run two sticks of 1gb ddr2 667 like it says it will, though. Qualified Vendors, eh?