PDA

View Full Version : Suse 10.3 mount other drives



kjaada
13-11-2007, 05:29 AM
Suse is a bit different to other OS's with mkdir/ and the fstab.I have 3 HDDs and the install only recognised one and the floppy.What do I put when I mkdir ? and in the fstab do I just add the appropiate line in the bold area or do I have to alter anything in the lower case stuff at the bottom.Also I think I read that Suse will not like another drive which is / is that
correct.It is not a problem as my homes are on seperate partitions.

Morgenmuffel
13-11-2007, 07:22 AM
Have a read of this thread (http://www.suseforums.net/index.php?showtopic=38627&hl=) as thios is how I managed to do it

Just remember to make the directories in your mnt directories

kjaada
13-11-2007, 07:26 AM
Thanks 4 that.

Graham L
14-11-2007, 12:08 PM
No OS will like "another drive which is /". There's a very good reason for that: "/" is the root of the filesystem that the OS lives on. All sub-directories are based on /. If you managed to mount a disk on / , its directory tree would replace the OS's one, and it would all be over. :(

You don't have to mount drives to mount points in the /mnt tree ; it's just a convention. You can make mount points anywhere in the file system . I often make mount points like "/cdrom" because this saves typing.