PDA

View Full Version : Antivirus

Mateo1981
03-11-2007, 05:40 PM
Whats the best Anti virus program and why? Ive been using bitdefender but the subscription ran out.

Speedy Gonzales
03-11-2007, 05:42 PM
Depends if u wanna pay. Avast Home, or AVG, there's a free version.

Altho, I've seen too many people get hit by something nasty, when AVG is installed.

Or NOD32 if you wanna pay.

stephen
03-11-2007, 06:16 PM
If you do a search on this forum, you will find numerous threads on this topic, along with everyones opinions. I myself use NOD32. Apparently their new version 3 that is just being released uses nearly half as much memory as 2.7 did.

mark c
03-11-2007, 07:15 PM
Take good heed of what both Stephen and Speedy Gonzales say, but from my personal exp. I have been using AVG on 2 comps for 10 years and it works. Keep it updated. I don't know who these good-hearted people are who produce and maintain it are but as I say it works. Well as far as I know of course; these two comps may be riddled with evilware but that's also the world we live in. I believe they aren't.:thumbs:

Laura
03-11-2007, 07:26 PM
Yes, there have been heaps of threads on this topic.
Do a Search on the forum for enough suggestions to confuse you...

But I'll bite again and put in my usual plug for the free version of avast!, which updates itself so smoothly without effort on my part.
I did have AVG. I like avast! better - updates for lazy/absentminded people.

It hasn't let me down yet.

Ninjabear
03-11-2007, 08:14 PM
HAs the final version v3.0 of Nod release as I cant seem to find it on their website

wainuitech
03-11-2007, 08:18 PM
Lots of results and lots of good advice, what to get what not to get its almost endless.

BUT, the old saying " A picture is worth a thousand words".