PDA

View Full Version : computer won't access internet through wireless router



murrayg
31-10-2007, 07:52 PM
I have two laptops (one Vista, one XP) that happily connect through a DLink wireless router (2007 purchase) to the internet - using Access Point (infrastructure) mode.

My problem is that while my third computer (XP) will connect to the router, it will not connect to the internet. I am using Netgear's software to configure the wireless connection, and the screen display shows green lights and says "connected to router". The computer is configured for "never dial a connection" for internet access.


I have tried every setting variation I can think of but without success.

Is there a simple answer?

CYaBro
31-10-2007, 08:40 PM
Welcome to PressF1!

Are you able to ping the access point IP address from the suspect machine?
How are the IP addresses configured on all the machines? DHCP/Automatic or manual?
To access the internet you need to make sure that there is a gateway IP (Internet router) and DNS servers (Can be Internet router or ISPs DNS servers) configured on the machines.

murrayg
31-10-2007, 10:29 PM
Thanks.

The Vista laptop has IPV4 IP address set to 10.1.1.254 and IPV4 DNS server address set to 10.1.1.1. Works perfectly.

The XP laptop is set to obtain IP address (and DNS server address) automatically. Works perfectly.

The machine that doesn't work (desktop XP) will connect to the router (but not internet) with IP address set to 10.1.1.253 and DNS server set to 10.1.1.1. If I set it to acquire IP and DNS automatically, it tries for a while and then says "connection "has limited or no connectivity"

Speedy Gonzales
31-10-2007, 10:37 PM
Put an ip in manually for the XP desktop.

Put in 10.1.1.1 for the preferred dns server ip, and the main dns server ip for your ISP in under alternate dns server.

murrayg
01-11-2007, 12:02 PM
The desktop IP 10.1.1.253 has been manually entered.
Not sure how I get DNS server from ISP (Xtra)? - the alternate DNS server box is currently blank.

What I really can't understand is why the XP laptop is OK with automatically getting IP and DNS server addresses, but XP desktop isn't??? Possibly because laptop is XP Pro while desktop is XP Home?

Speedy Gonzales
01-11-2007, 12:13 PM
It doesnt matter if one is Pro and the other is Home.

Its the same with dialup.

Unless something has been entered in under primary or alternate DNS server, you wont get on the net either.

Ive got the Dlink wireless router (Gen II) (but not using the wireless).

I had to put the ips in manually, so I could send files in IRC (otherwise it wouldnt work).

I would say doing the same thing, even tho youre using wireless, would fix it.

Try 202.27.158.40 or 202.27.156.72 (Xtra's DNS servers)

Change the bottom option to use the following DNS server addresses

Preferred 10.1.1.1
Alternate 202.27.158.40

And if that doesnt work the wireless isnt configured properly. Or if youre using another firewall, its blocking it.

SolMiester
01-11-2007, 12:38 PM
I would put the NIC to DHCP, that way IP and DNS is set automatically!

Speedy Gonzales
01-11-2007, 01:06 PM
I would put the NIC to DHCP, that way IP and DNS is set automatically!

Well in theory that should work, but then this may depend on WHAT the model of the router is. And WHAT ports you're going to use / forward.

Like this one, it says on the site (If you want to do port forwarding), its better to manually give EACH pc an ip.

As the router (the ports you add, are ip dependent).

And even tho you add one port for whatever (and I add it to my ip), it wont work with the other PC here, UNTIL I add it (the port) to that PC's ip address.

And it was the only way I could send files in IRC.

CYaBro
01-11-2007, 01:13 PM
Do you have any security enabled on the wireless access point?

murrayg
01-11-2007, 05:40 PM
Changed the bottom option for the DNS server to 02.27.158.40 but no joy (also rebooted, and tried dropping the desktop firewall).
The router uses WEP, correct network key is entered on the desktop.
Not sure what putting the NIC to DHCP means??

Speedy Gonzales
01-11-2007, 06:51 PM
Changed the bottom option for the DNS server to 02.27.158.40 but no joy (also rebooted, and tried dropping the desktop firewall).


Its 202.27.158.40 not 02.

Type it in again.

berryb
01-11-2007, 09:25 PM
Is the wireless device a Netgear or are you just using there software? Are you using the correct software for the wireless device? Try the Windows Wireless Configuration instead.

You say you are connected to the Dlink but not internet. How do you know you are connected, just because of the lights? Try and ping the DLink 10.1.1.1 and see if you get a reply.

If still having problems turn off WEP to no security and try and connect/ping the DLink.

Post your results.

CYaBro
01-11-2007, 10:03 PM
You have the Gateway set as 10.1.1.1?
Can you ping this?

iwalmsley
02-11-2007, 03:42 PM
NIC = Network Interface Card
Tick the box that says get IP address automatically (DHCP)

Make sure the DHCP and DNS servers on the wireless router are configured properly, they need to have a pool of addresses large enough to accomodate all machines. It is physically turned on, but something in the settings makes your laptop not connect properly with the DHCP server.

Once you have a 'connection' to the router, this only means layer 2 is working properly, you still need layer 3 working to be able to connect to the internet.

Have you checked to make sure the subnet masks for all machines are also identical? Even though the addresses are all 10.1.1.x, if the subnet masks are different, then they will not be able to communicate without the assistance of a router in between - which you dont have.

Leave all firewalls off until you get things working without them.

murrayg
03-11-2007, 04:23 PM
Sorry - mistyped it in my reply. It is correctly entered as 202.27.158.40, but doesn't work.

murrayg
03-11-2007, 04:29 PM
The wireless device on the Desktop is a Netgear WG111v2, and I am using the software that came with it. The Netgear Smart Wizard display screen starts with red words/lights, and then when it connects to the router these turn green and the message "Connected to Router" appears and remains.

murrayg
03-11-2007, 05:23 PM
Eureka!!
Now working - used the Windows option to configure the wireless netework rather than the Netgear software. Then fiddled with the firewall settings - and desktop now connects to the internet.

Thanks to all for your interest and help.

murrayg
03-11-2007, 05:26 PM
--- to configure wireless connection (that is, not "network") ---

murrayg
03-11-2007, 10:12 PM
Oops - not quite there yet.

Outlook now talks to the internet and can send and receive email. AVG will download updates. But Internet Explorer 7 simply won't go on-line at all!

Have tried without firewall but no luck. Have tried reboot; and also reinstall of IE. Checked all settings in IE and can't see any reason why it won't work.

Other two computers using same wireless router have no problems with IE.

Nothing on Microsoft Help site seems to be relevant.

Any suggestions??