PDA

View Full Version : How do i get my microphone to work??



cpatterson
31-10-2007, 06:52 AM
Hi guys,

just got a new mic / headphone set thing to use on MSN... but it will not seem to let me record anything. It is not picking up my voice and im not sure exactly how to get it to work. I think i have it plugged in at the right bits at the back of my computer (how technical, i know!! :blush: )

But if anyone can help i would be really grateful!

KTP x :D

Greg
31-10-2007, 07:40 AM
Find the switchy on button, and flick it to On. :D

Otherwise, let us know your computer's operating system - the problem probably lies in your system's Sound settings.

wainuitech
31-10-2007, 07:42 AM
Welcome to PressF1,

The Mic normally goes into the Pink plug in PC.

Double click on the speaker / Volume control in the task bar, down near the clock.

Under Options select Properties, then scroll down till you locate the Mic box, tick it SeeHere (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Mic.jpg) Then under options if you have an advanced wording select that by ticking it.

See Here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Full_Controls.JPG) You will then see the Mic slider, make sure its NOT muted ( untick it), if you have the advanced button you can open that and there will a boost if required. You can move the slider up and down to increase / decrease the amount volume .

cpatterson
31-10-2007, 09:38 AM
Cheers for the advice there,

Going to give it a wee go now and will let you know what happens!

(but im liking the hammer idea even better... to be honest my computer aint too hot! :lol: )

KTP x