PDA

View Full Version : Which browser are you using and how much Ram is it consuming?



Ninjabear
29-10-2007, 08:47 PM
I notice that lately as each browser releases new version as time goes by it seem as though it uses more ram then it use to be?

I remember a few years ago when i was still runing windows 98se opera only used around 30mb of ram.

Now look at the picture

http://img166.imageshack.us/my.php?image=operadb7.jpg


I have 4 tabs and 1 download tab and wtf uses 210MB of ram??

What about you guys.How many tabs are you running at the moment and how much ram is it using?

When opera was release it was advertising how they use less system resource to load webpages but I guess now isnt the case

I think firefox and internet explorer uses more

winmacguy
29-10-2007, 08:49 PM
Firefox.

bob_doe_nz
29-10-2007, 09:12 PM
Windows XP, Firefox 2.0.0.8, four tabs, 8 Extensions (3 disabled), 87 Megabytes.

Been using it for 20 minutes on Tardme (which has a lot of images)
Ain't got no crashes, or freeze ups.


You better watch out Ninjabear. FoxyMX will sic her dog on ya! And run a large motorcycle skid mark up your body.

zqwerty
29-10-2007, 09:15 PM
Generated: Mon Oct 29 2007 21:40:54 GMT+1300 (New Zealand Daylight Time)
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.8pre) Gecko/20071019 Firefox/2.0.0.8 Navigator/9.0.0.1

Enabled Extensions: [31]
- Aardvark 2.2: http://karmatics.com/aardvark/
- Adblock Plus 0.7.5.3: http://adblockplus.org/
- Allow Right-Click 0.4: http://roachfiend.com
- Always Remember Password 0.6: http://roachfiend.com
- Auto Copy 0.6.4: http://autocopy.mozdev.org
- Bookmarks Scrollbar 1.0.5: http://pimpsofpain.com/
- BookmarksHome 1.5.2: http://bookmarkshome.mozdev.org
- CookieCuller 1.3.1: http://cookieculler.mozdev.org/
- Copy as HTML Link 1.1: http://justinsomnia.org/
- Copy Plain Text 0.3.3: http://mozmonkey.com/
- CustomizeGoogle 0.63: http://www.customizegoogle.com/
- Delete Icons 0.1.2: http://www.gozer.org/mozilla/extensions/
- Diggler 0.9: http://diggler.mozdev.org/
- Duplicate Tab 0.9.1: http://twanno.mozdev.org/
- Fasterfox 2.0.0: http://fasterfox.mozdev.org/
- FEBE 5.0: http://customsoftwareconsult.com/extensions
- Flashblock 1.5.4.1: http://flashblock.mozdev.org/
- FlashGot 0.6.9.3: http://flashgot.net
- Make Link 3.0.2: http://www.soylentred.net/projects/make-link
- MR Tech Local Install 5.3.2.6: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/
- Nightly Tester Tools 1.3b3: http://www.oxymoronical.com/web/firefox/nightly
- NoScript 1.1.7.2: http://noscript.net
- Open link in... 1.4.1: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=118365
- Password Exporter 1.0.6: http://passwordexporter.fligtar.com
- Paste and Go 2 0.8: http://pasteandgo2.mozdev.org/
- PDF Download 0.9.3.1: http://www.pdfdownload.org
- SafeCache 0.9: http://www.safecache.com/
- SafeHistory 0.8: http://www.safehistory.com/
- Show Image 0.4.2: http://showimage.mozdev.org/
- Stylish 0.5.3: http://userstyles.org/stylish/
- Super DragAndGo 0.2.6: http://morphis.eu.org/

Installed Themes: [1]
- Netscape (default): http://www.mozilla.org/

Installed Plugins: (9)
- Adobe Acrobat
- Java(TM) Platform SE 6 U3
- Mozilla Default Plug-in
- RealPlayer Version Plugin
- RealPlayer(tm) G2 LiveConnect-Enabled Plug-In (32-bit)
- Shockwave Flash
- Silverlight Plug-In
- WindizUpdate Plug-in
- Windows Media Player Plug-in Dynamic Link Library

Using 51Meg ram

zqwerty
29-10-2007, 09:19 PM
Note I believe the engineers at Netscape have solved the Firefox memory leak problems hence my low usage, I also run an instance of Firefox 2.0.0.8 and it always uses better than 200Meg Ram.

I have been running that above Navigator session for 2 hours now.

Get it from here:

http://browser.netscape.com/releasenotes/9.0.0.1/

You can easily disable the Netscape extras in options, and you do not lose your Firefox version so you can just un-install if you don't like it.

wainuitech
29-10-2007, 09:39 PM
Safari with 8 tabs open,

PC World
Yahoo
Trademe
Yahoo again, different page
Microsoft.com
Amazon
Stuff
Snapfiles
104 Meg Ram

Opened to 10 tabs, 120Meg

Metla
29-10-2007, 09:40 PM
weird, I took the screenshot with one tab open.

Then I opened up five more, and the ram usage went down....

Anyway

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/thefox.jpg

wratterus
29-10-2007, 09:47 PM
3 instances of Mozilla, Vista Business, 30+ Tabs open, using approx 63MB of RAM. :thumbs:

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Capture.JPG

beeswax34
29-10-2007, 09:56 PM
Firefox, on XP SP2, 60 tabs (45 is pure images), one online music player and 6 videos spread over 2-3 windows with 14 add-ons

90MB, excellent:thumbs: Plus I have 1GB so its not like I worry even if it takes like 150MB (happened once)

Term_X
29-10-2007, 10:02 PM
hey team

this is mine below. firefox with a few tabs open. firefox has been open for 3 hours never closed. this is about the max that firefox uses all the time. was watching the meory usage when i added tabs, it would go up and then settle lower. works sweeeeeeet for me! :) :) ive used opera but i can never go past firefox.

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/firefox.JPG

cheers

Ninjabear
29-10-2007, 10:02 PM
It seems opera has memory leak issues

wratterus
29-10-2007, 10:33 PM
This (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Capture1193652372.jpg), however, is what Vista is capable of in the way of RAM usage.. kinda off topic, I know. :p I have 2 gig of RAM, and a 2.5 gig page file. The PC was hardly any slower than normal, and windows flip handled 30 or so windows open OK, albeit a little jumpy.

You don't want to know what I had open to get Vista to use that much RAM. The memory leak in Google Earth helps, mind you.

beeswax34
30-10-2007, 01:02 AM
This (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Capture1193652372.jpg), however, is what Vista is capable of in the way of RAM usage.. kinda off topic, I know. :p I have 2 gig of RAM, and a 2.5 gig page file. The PC was hardly any slower than normal, and windows flip handled 30 or so windows open OK, albeit a little jumpy.

You don't want to know what I had open to get Vista to use that much RAM. The memory leak in Google Earth helps, mind you.

I'll tell you whats weird. For the last 2 days or so, my RAM usage has been at 1.33GB's and this is on XP SP2. I only have 1GB of RAM and god knows how big the pagefile is. Everytime I turn comodo off though, it goes straight from 1.33GB to about 400MB.

I mean whats going on? Is Comodo leaking memory as well now?

Faded_Mantis
30-10-2007, 01:13 AM
Opera latest verion (forgot what it was)

4 tabs 46mb, when I added a logged in gmail to that it went up to 64mb

Ninja; I noticed once after getting the new version of Opera I was using 250mb, restarted the browser with the same tabs etc and it went back to around 50-60mb.

SurferJoe46
30-10-2007, 05:54 AM
Firefox, 2 tabs, 5 add-ons, + Comodo, Spybot, Windows Firewall, and AVG Free........46,876k.

Myth
30-10-2007, 06:09 AM
Konqueror, with 8 tabs ... 5270 k (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/snapshot.png) :)

Digby
30-10-2007, 06:45 AM
Hi Guys

Just a silly question, but how do you check your ram usage while running a browser ?

Regards

Digby

wainuitech
30-10-2007, 07:25 AM
Ctrl + Alt + Delete brings up task manager - Then look for your Browsers exe Eg Firefox.exe Mem usage is to the right.

drcspy
30-10-2007, 07:41 AM
FF with 34 tabs open (just to trial this) 129.720k......

FoxyMX
30-10-2007, 07:56 AM
Opera, two windows and 28 tabs and 1 download tab open, 94652K.

No memory leaks here. Memory usage is a lot lower when fewer tabs are open.

Might be something wrong with your installation.

pcuser42
30-10-2007, 08:19 AM
Firefox, with 2 windows open with 2 tabs in one and 3 in the other, 51,300k.

pctek
30-10-2007, 08:47 AM
Well I can't vote because someone forgot to add "other".

I use Mozilla. Not Firefox. Its using 49k.

Erayd
30-10-2007, 08:53 AM
It seems opera has memory leak issuesNot on my system - you probably have a problem with your installation.

Greg
30-10-2007, 09:16 AM
Pretty short-sighted poll... no Mozilla. Anyway mine uses 83,500K, but this includes my mail programme and address book (plus unneeded HTML Composer)

Vallis
30-10-2007, 09:57 AM
Firefox.
I'd prefer Opera if only I could find a decent Google toolbar for it.
Who cares how much memory it uses? RAM's cheap and I have plenty. :)

Nermal
30-10-2007, 12:07 PM
Safari 3.0.4, using 61.8 MB.

trinsic
30-10-2007, 12:52 PM
Firefox 3 tabs 82MB

But it has been open all day :D

Speedy Gonzales
30-10-2007, 03:25 PM
You're right Ninja it does have a memory leak somewhere.

I downloaded 9.24, went to a few sites, it started freezing, and it went to 143mb lol.

Only 2-3 sites were open at the time.

That was the end of that. It went in the bin.

Ninjabear
30-10-2007, 03:40 PM
Not on my system - you probably have a problem with your installation.



You need to surf the net for a while browse thru websites and not just open some random tabs from random sites.It'll slowly eat your ram!!

Sherman
30-10-2007, 04:09 PM
You need to surf the net for a while browse thru websites and not just open some random tabs from random sites.It'll slowly eat your ram!!

I hate to say this, but Bletch likes Opera as much as FoxyMX does...
It is his browser of preference I believe.

Oh BTW, I'm running FF 2.0.0.8 and it's using 52,036K of memory. (with 3 tabs open)

FoxyMX
30-10-2007, 04:23 PM
You need to surf the net for a while browse thru websites and not just open some random tabs from random sites.It'll slowly eat your ram!!

Browse some sites? OK, how about this then - I have 60 tabs open from three different forums in one window and three tabs open in another Opera window. Several of those tabs have over half a MB worth of graphics on each of them, which would make a total of around 2MB worth of graphics.

Currently Opera is using 122,396K of RAM, up from around 40,000K when I had just five tabs open.

I have no idea why Opera is hogging as much RAM as you are experiencing. I take it you are using the latest version? Is it a new install or an upgrade from a previous version?

FoxyMX
30-10-2007, 04:30 PM
I hate to say this, but Bletch likes Opera as much as FoxyMX does...
It is his browser of preference I believe.


:D :D :D

beeswax34
30-10-2007, 04:31 PM
Browse some sites? OK, how about this then - I have 60 tabs open from three different forums in one window and three tabs open in another Opera window. Several of those tabs have over half a MB worth of graphics on each of them, which would make a total of around 2MB worth of graphics.

Currently Opera is using 122,396K of RAM, up from around 40,000K when I had just five tabs open.

I have no idea why Opera is hogging as much RAM as you are experiencing. I take it you are using the latest version? Is it a new install or an upgrade from a previous version?

I had that much in FF + 6 Videos and it only took 90-92k

Ninjabear
30-10-2007, 04:40 PM
Browse some sites? OK, how about this then - I have 60 tabs open from three different forums in one window and three tabs open in another Opera window. Several of those tabs have over half a MB worth of graphics on each of them, which would make a total of around 2MB worth of graphics.

Currently Opera is using 122,396K of RAM, up from around 40,000K when I had just five tabs open.

I have no idea why Opera is hogging as much RAM as you are experiencing. I take it you are using the latest version? Is it a new install or an upgrade from a previous version?


Upgrade from the previous.Running 9.24.

It seems as though its not using that much ram now for some reason

notechyet
30-10-2007, 07:49 PM
Hello members
In the past I used to like Mozilla suite and then switched to IE7. Reason was that the IE7 interface was slightly brighter or had a bit of nicer feel.Lately started with SeaMonkey(Mozilla) and it is quite a lot faster then IE and uses right now 45404k of RAM. I have changed the theme and I think I will stick with it for the foreseeable future..
And, by the way, there is no choice to vote for SeaMonkey
Regards

G

wainuitech
30-10-2007, 08:05 PM
While this is on the subject of Browsers, maybe some one has an answer to a puzzling question I can't figure out.

If I use Firefox, Safari, IE I get a normal window when answering a Post, or create a new Post as shown Here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Standard_Window.jpg). Now the silly bit - if I use Opera I can read posts fine, but when trying to reply the damn windows shrinks to almost nothing. If I even go anywhere near the formatting buttons along the top I end up chasing the box, it shrinks and enlargens on its own <------> :lol: as shown Here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Opera11193729750.jpg) and you cant drag it bigger (even if you can catch it )- Only in Opera ??? and I updated Opera today - same thing ??
PS: Before any one asks - the PC is clean, no viruses or spyware.

plod
30-10-2007, 08:42 PM
While this is on the subject of Browsers, maybe some one has an answer to a puzzling question I can't figure out.

If I use Firefox, Safari, IE I get a normal window when answering a Post, or create a new Post as shown Here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Standard_Window.jpg). Now the silly bit - if I use Opera I can read posts fine, but when trying to reply the damn windows shrinks to almost nothing. If I even go anywhere near the formatting buttons along the top I end up chasing the box, it shrinks and enlargens on its own <------> :lol: as shown Here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Opera11193729750.jpg) and you cant drag it bigger (even if you can catch it )- Only in Opera ??? and I updated Opera today - same thing ??
PS: Before any one asks - the PC is clean, no viruses or spyware.

try turning your monitor on it's side:xmouth:

Erayd
30-10-2007, 08:46 PM
You need to surf the net for a while browse thru websites and not just open some random tabs from random sites.It'll slowly eat your ram!!I do. It doesn't. Beat that.


I hate to say this, but Bletch likes Opera as much as FoxyMX does...
It is his browser of preference I believe.Yup :D. Best set of dev tools, fastest browser, decently low ram usage, extremely configurable.... Firefox doesn't even come close :thumbs:

/nick linoperaguy :rolleyes:

wainuitech
30-10-2007, 08:59 PM
try turning your monitor on it's side:xmouth:

Like THIS ? (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Opera_Joke.jpg) :groan: :lol: :D Makes a damn long reply LOL.

beeswax34
30-10-2007, 10:19 PM
I think that means more reading and less posting WT :lol:

mark c
31-10-2007, 10:25 AM
Excuse me a moment but I can't figure out how to find what Ram is being used.

Ctrl + Alt + Delete brings up task manager - Then look for your Browsers exe Eg Firefox.exe Mem usage is to the right.
This doesn't work in 98se. Have just spent half an hour looking around. Lots of stuff about how to manage Ram but nothing to find out how much you're using. Any tips?
__________________

FoxyMX
31-10-2007, 02:50 PM
Excuse me a moment but I can't figure out how to find what Ram is being used.

This doesn't work in 98se. Have just spent half an hour looking around. Lots of stuff about how to manage Ram but nothing to find out how much you're using. Any tips?
__________________

You will need to use a third-party utility. The Task Manager features in later versions of Windows is absent in Win 9.x

FoxyMX
31-10-2007, 02:52 PM
Upgrade from the previous.Running 9.24.

It seems as though its not using that much ram now for some reason

So what is Opera using now?

kakapo
31-10-2007, 05:29 PM
Opera 9.24 here with four tabs open is using 95.500k

kakapo
31-10-2007, 05:30 PM
that should've been a comma between the fives, sorry. 95,500.

johcar
31-10-2007, 05:53 PM
Running Opera 9.24 on WinXP SP2, 8 tabs open: 56,588K.

There is a thread posted on the Opera Forum (http://my.opera.com/community/forums/forum.dml?id=26) which describes a similar issue (posted today), but doesn't currently have any responses. Looks like it's not an isolated problem, but is apparently intermittent, in that it doesn't affect every Opera user...

johcar
31-10-2007, 05:55 PM
But have a look at this one (http://my.opera.com/community/forums/topic.dml?id=210994).


kitwalker22: Note that several people have reported here that CCCleaner incorrectly deletes useful Opera files, thus making it crash. Please try a forum search for details.

You should also upgrade to the latest Opera release (v9.24).

Re memory usage, it often becomes high due to plug-in duplication. Tools > Advanced > Plug-ins contains the list of your installed plug-ins, along with what file types they handle. it also states the name of the plug-in dll and where it is located on your hard drive.

Make sure you have the necessary plug-ins installed there. Also check if you have any occurrences of the same dll referenced from two different paths. If you do, delete the files associated with the extra copies from Opera's profile directory. Also remove non-Opera paths from opera:config#UserPrefs|PluginPath. Restart Opera after these changes.

Brooko
31-10-2007, 09:58 PM
Opera 9.5 Alpha on Mepis Linux
9 tabs open - 58664k
Solid as a rock - never noticed it hogging memory, or any sign of a leak.

TGoddard
01-11-2007, 07:24 AM
Firefox 2.0.0.6 / Linux. Total private/writable memory 134168K. Total mapped memory 180412K. The first figure is the data while the second includes all libraries used, most of which are shared with other programs.

The largest libraries are libxml2 (Expat XML parser), libc-2.6.1 (standard C library) and libgtk-x11-2 (GTK user interface toolkit). All of these will be shared with many other programs on the system and however many use it they will only take up the memory once.

Measuring memory is complicated - don't trust the Windows process manager to give you an accurate picture.

mark c
01-11-2007, 04:41 PM
You will need to use a third-party utility. The Task Manager features in later versions of Windows is absent in Win 9.x
Thanks for that. Even tho I know it's a bit OT I'm posting this here because it may be helpful to other users of Win 9x who are going around in circles.:thumbs:

vinref
01-11-2007, 06:38 PM
Firefox 2.0.0.6 / Linux. Total private/writable memory 134168K. Total mapped memory 180412K. The first figure is the data while the second includes all librarie used, most of which are shared with other programs.

The largest libraries are libxml2 (Expat XML parser), libc-2.6.1 (standard C library) and libgtk-x11-2 (GTK user interface toolkit). All of these will be shared with many other programs on the system and however many use it they will only take up the memory once.

Measuring memory is complicated - don't trust the Windows process manager to give you an accurate picture.

Yeah. I find it also varies according to the site you are viewing, especially with stuff like flash. Unless you are swapping madly, you shouldn't be worrying about memory. You should be more concerned about CPU use.

By the way, Opera 9.21

EviLClouD
01-11-2007, 08:53 PM
Firefox with 9 tabs...Uses up 69,832k of memory