PDA

View Full Version : PC 133 Ram ...Wat FSB??



23-03-2001, 06:23 PM
I have an athlon T bird 1000 which is currenlty running at 100 FSB by 10, and with that I have 256 MBs of PC 133 ram.
My question is that should I change my FSB to 133Mhz and multiplier to 7.5, seeing that I have PC-133 ram???

Will it do anything??

Also one more thing, I know that AGP runs at 33/66/100 Mhz, and I know that this is derived from my FSB, so how do I know what my Geforce 2 MX now runs at?? And will changing the FSB effect it???

23-03-2001, 11:37 PM
same ansewer as before......changing your fsb from 100 to 133 will make your pc faster. provided your motherboad, cpu, and ram supports it you will be fine as the agp and pci bus speeds will not incress.

24-03-2001, 12:12 PM
Hi Jeff,
is you tbird multiplier locked? or have you used the pencil-graphite over the jumper trick to unlock it? If it's locked then there is nothing you can do apart from overclocking the FSB with the same 10x multiplier. Your AGP is either 1x 2x or 4x your FSB. If your t-brid is multiplier locked then your PC may support cpu clock+33Mhz to get your RAM running faster. Also see what CAS latency your RAM supports at different speeds. Use sisoft sandra to get your system info, it's available at www.sisoftware.co.uk
Have fun!