PDA

View Full Version : Help with squid AGAIN!



ronyville
11-10-2007, 11:29 AM
Hey peeps,

I was using squid to ban sites and downloaded the BL (blacklist) from the net.
The porn text file is around 10.8MB, I have created rules in the access control to ban all the sites on the porn list.
The problem is that squid stuffs up when I run it using the porn list. BUT if I delete everything from that list and just added a few urls (size of the txt file is only 16KB now), than it works fine.
So m thinking for some reason it can not allocate enough memory for the 10.8MB txt file. Hence I get the error : fork failed cannot allocate memory.

Does any one know what I can do so that squid runs ok with the 10.8MB txt file instead of crapping out.

cheers.

Graham L
12-10-2007, 03:05 PM
There will probably be a configuration setting to limit the amount of memory it uses. "squid configuration" to google.co.nz gives a link to the manual. ;)

You might be able to find the item to change by checking the comments to the 129 options in the config file.

Greg
12-10-2007, 03:42 PM
10 megs for a text file seems impossibly large - I think that's where the problem lies. Can't help further sorry.

ronyville
12-10-2007, 05:12 PM
Thanks for your help guys, will play around with the config file and see what happens. And yes, that text file with all porn domains is really 10MBs.

ronyville
30-10-2007, 11:09 AM
Hi peeps,

I found the resaon why squid craps out > needed more RAM, I have added more RAM to it.. total now is 1.5GB, BUT I can not still run the porn acl list (which is 10MB), the maximum I can run is around 4MB acl list... (a little improvement from before). I think i m going to need more RAM than I can imagine to run all of the acl list ( total is around 26MB)
I got 1GB swap memory on the system. Heres a pic (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Screenshot1193700858.png)
As you can see swap is not used much, is there a way that I can get squid to use more of the swap memory? (I dont have to buy more RAM than) If there is a way to get squid to use more swap memory than I will be able to increase the swap memory from 1GB to say around 5GB ( if its possible).

cheers..

qazwsxokmijn
30-10-2007, 11:39 AM
10 megs for a text file seems impossibly large - I think that's where the problem lies. Can't help further sorry.
Think about all the porn out there.

Besides, why would you want to block porn? :D

ronyville
30-10-2007, 12:03 PM
Besides, why would you want to block porn? :D

The proxy setup is work related.. theres no way m gona block porn on my home pc :D

ILikeLinux
03-11-2007, 11:48 AM
How have you configured squid to block the domains that are blocked in the blacklist?

If you're not using squidGuard, then I recommend using it, we use it at school and have never had any problems with it.