PDA

View Full Version : SATA II HardDrive Issues



Zayne
11-10-2007, 07:29 AM
Well, I recently decided to get a new harddrive. I looked at the ones at DSE, and bought a 200GB Western Digital SATA II (WD2000JS), and a "Serial ATA + Parallel ATA Combo PCI Card" (VIA VT6421) from DSE aswell. (My mobo doesn't have SATA plugs)

I installed the PCI card fine, but whenever I connect my new harddrive to it, the device wont start.

Any ideas?

Speedy Gonzales
11-10-2007, 08:01 AM
Did you connect both the data and power to the SATA??

Is the SATA card SATA II as well??

If it isnt you have to switch the hdd to SATA 1 mode.

Zayne
11-10-2007, 01:45 PM
How do I switch to it SATA 1 mode?

Speedy Gonzales
11-10-2007, 01:55 PM
Theres a jumper on the back of the hdd somewhere.

It may say something like SATA 1, SATA2.

I dont know, I havent got a SATA 2 hdd.

Zayne
11-10-2007, 08:04 PM
Are these the jumpers I should buy?

http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/470dd0f700ea58b82740c0a87f3306ea/Product/View/P2730

Speedy Gonzales
11-10-2007, 08:08 PM
Is it a switch or pins on the back of this hdd??

If its pins are like a normal hdd then yup thats what you get from DSE.

If its a switch, just switch it over.

Zayne
11-10-2007, 08:12 PM
Yeah, its pins. Thanks for the help! :D

Speedy Gonzales
11-10-2007, 08:22 PM
No worries, just make sure you put it on the right set of pins!

Hopefully, theyre labelled.

Or it may not work at all.

I think you put the jumper on these pins (http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1337&p_created=1112379341&p_sid=2wwonUNi&p_accessibility=0&p_redirect=&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9NjgsNjgmcF9wcm9kcz05NSZwX2NhdHM9MTIzJnB fcHY9MS45NSZwX2N2PTEuMTIzJnBfc2VhcmNoX3R5cGU9YW5zd 2Vycy5zZWFyY2hfZm5sJnBfcGFnZT0xJnBfc2VhcmNoX3RleHQ 9c2F0YSAx&p_li=&p_topview=1)

JUST INSANE
12-10-2007, 08:15 PM
Why buy drives at dse they charge for $1 per gig.
Buy at computer stores such as Eden Computers.
i got my 500 GB WD 16mb Sata 2 at there for 180

Speedy Gonzales
12-10-2007, 08:18 PM
That depends on WHERE Zayne lives. He may not live In Mt Eden.

Or Auckland

So cant get whatever from down the road.

BUT, that depends on whether he buys online.

Altho, I wouldnt buy WD hdd's either.

wainuitech
12-10-2007, 08:26 PM
The Hard Drives should come with a jumper already. I have just looked at 8 different Seagate SATA II drives I have here, various sizes , and they all have the jumper already.

JUST INSANE
12-10-2007, 08:36 PM
Why All Harddrive have similar failer rates about 5 to 7 years, plus the WD drives have speed benchmark better than Seagate

wainuitech
12-10-2007, 08:44 PM
Personally I wont use WD drives, seen to many customers drives fail.
I have a box here with dead drives for one reason or another for every 1 seagate there are around 3-4 WD. Most of the failed drives came from old PC company computers.

Speed means nothing if it dont work eh! - and most average users wouldn't see any difference in drive speeds anyway.

JUST INSANE
12-10-2007, 08:58 PM
you'll never know when they fail, how they fail, what condition they are used in.

My Drives are air cooled with fans.
My drive failed because of poor cooling and overvoltage

wainuitech
12-10-2007, 09:58 PM
you'll never know when they fail, how they fail, what condition they are used in.

My Drives are air cooled with fans.
My drive failed because of poor cooling and overvoltage

yep wont argue with that, ANY drive, no matter what the make can fail for many various reasons at any given time. That actually can also apply to most PC components.

beeswax34
12-10-2007, 10:05 PM
Still, Seagate make the best HDD's around in terms of reliability and their 5yr warranty is also great.

wainuitech
12-10-2007, 10:30 PM
Still, Seagate make the best HDD's around in terms of reliability and their 5yr warranty is also great.:thumbs: