PDA

View Full Version : Windows Media Player stupid CD Advertising



Agent_24
17-09-2007, 07:56 PM
Most of you have probably noticed that if you play a CD in windows media player, a link will appear that will take you to an online shop where you can buy the exact same CD that you're playing.

Who in their right mind would actually do that?

pine-o-cleen
17-09-2007, 08:34 PM
People that have a copied version and feel guilty. They hope.

Speedy Gonzales
17-09-2007, 08:46 PM
Dont use WMP, I use Jetaudio or the stereo.

Agent_24
17-09-2007, 08:49 PM
People that have a copied version and feel guilty. They hope.

But in Microsoft's perfect world, nobody pirates CDs. so that doesn't make sense either :D

winmacguy
17-09-2007, 09:45 PM
Microsoft is just trying to boost sales from their Zune Market place online store.

Agent_24
17-09-2007, 10:34 PM
Aah but it doesn't send you anywhere near a M$ store. It sends me to Digirama when I click it

beeswax34
17-09-2007, 11:22 PM
See, their not completely evil. I mean we could talk about Apple and how your locked into iTunes and its store but lets not...

I suppose it could just be for people who have a short clip or a bad copy of a song and they might be willing to pay for a proper, full copy of it.

SurferJoe46
18-09-2007, 02:38 AM
Hey...I don't get that crawl in WMP10! Is it on the bottom of the player?

What I guess I am saying is that I don't see it and don't really want to know about it....unless it's just something else wrong with the new player I mean.....then I can use it as a weapon in my personal war against v11.

Greg
18-09-2007, 03:20 AM
Most of you have probably noticed that if you play a CD in windows media player, a link will appear that will take you to an online shop where you can buy the exact same CD that you're playing.
Hmmm... "Most" you say? Sure about that? Personally never used WMP to play audio. Only time ever was for vid clips.

winmacguy
18-09-2007, 05:47 AM
Aah but it doesn't send you anywhere near a M$ store. It sends me to Digirama when I click it

Digrama licenses the DRM from MS.

rob_on_guitar
18-09-2007, 08:00 AM
If you did a custom install you can choose not to have that crap. I think there is some american online store thing too that it tries to install in you dont select custom and take them out.

Speedy Gonzales
18-09-2007, 09:45 AM
See, their not completely evil. I mean we could talk about Apple and how your locked into iTunes and its store but lets not...

Well that depends if u use Itunes and buy from the store.

If you dont, then you dont need Itunes, if u have an Ipod.

winmacguy
18-09-2007, 01:31 PM
Or if you want to import your music from CDs onto your iPod you can use any iPod compatible software and and CDs that you can find ;)

beeswax34
18-09-2007, 01:52 PM
Well that depends if u use Itunes and buy from the store.

If you dont, then you dont need Itunes, if u have an Ipod.

You still have to use iTunes. Just ask the people with Linux, an iPod and a new version of iTunes.

Speedy Gonzales
18-09-2007, 02:20 PM
Well actually you dont, it looks like gtkpod works with Linux.

And its free.

I didnt know Itunes worked with Linux anyway.

winmacguy
18-09-2007, 02:45 PM
You still have to use iTunes. Just ask the people with Linux, an iPod and a new version of iTunes.

The latest version being 7.4.2 which has just been made available - allows for custom made ring tones on your iPhone for 99c.