PDA

View Full Version : Routers that limits bandwidth or speed. Recommendations pls.

CCF
15-09-2007, 08:20 PM
Hi all ^^

Currently I'm looking for a router that can limit how much bandwidth each port (PC) can use or possibly limit the speed that each port can use. Preferably it can have different restriction speeds for the net and LAN. I'm still quite new with the router specs and all, so thats why I'm here again ^^.

Have my eye on this router atm, belkin router (http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=122427#), though aint too sure if its capable of restriction speed or traffic to each port, sound like it does though, I could be wrong.

Provides dedicated bandwidth to each computer in your network, enabling error-free data transmission

My budget is low....round $150 max (I know i know, routers with these features dont come cheap, though I could be looking at the wrong direction), no wireless is prefered.

So any recommendation or suggestions would be great. Also this is only for a home network! :p

beeswax34
15-09-2007, 09:14 PM
Wow, that is a complicated list of requirements, not to mention exhaustive. May I recommend going into a shop and looking at the routers yourself or actually calling each router manufacturer and just asking them.

Myth
15-09-2007, 11:02 PM
From the help file of my Belkin (similar to that one)
Client IP filters
The Router can be configured to restrict access to the Internet, e-mail or other network services at specific days and times. Restriction can be set for a single computer, a range of computers, or multiple computers.

URL Blocking