PDA

View Full Version : Ways to stop telemarketing calls...

developer
28-08-2007, 08:52 PM
I have posted 100+ messages but this is my first time starting a thread... I'd like to ask about ways to stop telemarketing calls.

After revealing my phone numbers somewhere (possibly White Pages or other phone number directories), I receive excessive amount of telemarketing calls. I personally dislike answering telemarketing calls, but I understand that everyone has to have a job, and some of the calls are from countries where the callers may be in short of food, so I always try their products / answer their questions when possible. However, recently the calls get more and more and waste a lot of time (I do not know if that is my previous friendly actions encouraged them).

I searched on the Internet and found some ways to stop telemarketing calls, including telling the callers that the person in charge of the phone bill / products payment is out, asking the callers to hold for a long time, annoying the callers by nonsense questions etc. Most of these are more like making fun of the telemarketing people, which I don't really want to do. Here I'd like to ask if there's any good way I can stop telemarketing calls (it's now too late to remove the number from White Pages, and I don't want to change number), or spend very little time but still help them. Any good suggestions?

johcar
28-08-2007, 08:59 PM
I just say "Sorry, not interested" and just hang up - they always seem to phone at dinner time....

somebody
28-08-2007, 09:01 PM
"Me no english speak"

Shortcircuit
28-08-2007, 09:02 PM
You must be joking you feel sorry for them?

I think they are the scourge of the earth :mad:

If you don't want them to call- when they phone ask politely to be put on their 'no call' list. Presumably after 15-20 times doing this you will get less calls.

If they are from NZ and members of the Direct Marketers Association they must comply if you don't want them to annoy you.

PaulD