PDA

View Full Version : Installing a game onto Vista Machine

kiwidog01
18-08-2007, 11:53 PM
Hello folks. I'm hoping someone can help with not being able to install a game onto my laptop. It's a Twin Cam 1600 Sony Vaio running Vista. The bloody thing keeps telling me, "you have no authority to perform this action", or something to that degree. As I own it and have set up myself as an Administrator I can't think of anything else to do??? I've installed other apps no worries at all apart from that thing popping up to ask me if I want to perform this action, but can't install this particular game. It works on XP but won't install on Vista....Grrrrr!!!:groan:

motorbyclist
19-08-2007, 01:48 AM
ugh, vista:yuck:

have you disabled that crap to stop it asking if you really want to do what it just told you yet?

otherwise this is just a bump

kyranbrophy
19-08-2007, 02:26 AM
Why does everyone think that the UAC pop-ups are bull****? Its one extra click you have to perform and it helps stop malicious programs from running...

Back to the matter at hand...Vista may not let you run the installation because even though you are logged in as an administrator you still don't have full permissions to install into the program files. Try right clicking on the installation exe and choosing "Run as administrator".

kyranbrophy
19-08-2007, 02:28 AM
What is the game by the way?

chiefnz
19-08-2007, 04:51 AM
Why does everyone think that the UAC pop-ups are bull****? Its one extra click you have to perform and it helps stop malicious programs from running...

Back to the matter at hand...Vista may not let you run the installation because even though you are logged in as an administrator you still don't have full permissions to install into the program files. Try right clicking on the installation exe and choosing "Run as administrator".

It's annoying because if you have decent, malware/spyware software running you wouldn't need UAC in the 1st place... it's double handling.