PDA

View Full Version : New PC Build; comments please? :)



byte
16-08-2007, 01:25 PM
Hello,
would you guys mind looking over these parts and just checking to see if they are all compatible, or if I could get something better/cheaper? :)



CASE: Gigabyte Triton 180 ATX Mid Tower Case, Black :: $132.21
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 CPU, 2.4GHz, 1066MHz FSB, Socket 775, 32/64-Bit, Kentsfield Core, Retail pack with fan :: $463.68
MOTHERBOARD: Asus P5B-Plus Motherboard, Socket 775, 1066MHz FSB, 0xDIMM DDR, 4xDIMM DDR2, PCIe-16, 3xPCI, 3xPCIe-1, 10xUSB2, Firewire, Audio, ATA, SATA, RAID, ATX :: $228.65
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST3320620AS Hard Disk Drive, 320GB, 7200rpm, 16384KB Cache, SATA-2 :: $150.65
OPTICAL: Asus DRW-1814BLT DVD Writer, DVD 16R/18W/8RW, CD 40R/48W/32RW, Internal, SATA, Black, LightScribe :: $65.79
RAM: Corsair XMS2, TWIN2X2048-6400, 2x1GB, DDR2-800, PC2-6400, CL5, DIMM :: $195.77
GRAPHICS: Asus EN8600GTS/HTDP/256M Video Card, GeForce 8600 GTS, 256MB, DDR3, PCIe-16, TV out, DVI, HDTV, SLI ready :: $323.82
FLOPPY DRIVE: Generic 1.44MB, Internal, Floppy Disk Drive, Black :: $20.40
KEYBOARD: Genius KB-06X Keyboard, USB, Black :: $17.75
MOUSE: Genius NetScroll Optical + Eye Mouse, Optical, PS/2, Beige :: $13.70
MONITOR: Samsung 226BW Monitor, 22" LCD, 1680x1050, DVI, Black :: $610.23
ADSL: Belkin F5D5630au4 ADSL2 Modem, True firewall, Ethernet, 4xRJ-45 ports :: $124.09
56K: Genius GM56PCI-LA, 56K Modem, PCI :: $27.88
ETHERNET: Surecom EP-320G-TX1 Ethernet Adapter, 10/100/1000 Mbps, PCI, RJ45 :: $40.41
PSU: Enermax ELT620AWT, 620W Liberty ATX PSU, Modular Design, SLI & Crossfire Ready :: $256.93

--
TOTAL: $2,671.96 incl GST

Thanks :)

pctek
16-08-2007, 01:40 PM
You doing the build?

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 CPU
MOTHERBOARD: Asus P5B-Plus Motherboard

The motherboard will need the latest BIOS.

byte
16-08-2007, 01:46 PM
Well, those prices are from Ascent, I might get them to build it - I don't know, I have not made a decision.

Shouldn't the mobo be shipped with the latest BIOS version?

Pete O'Neil
16-08-2007, 02:04 PM
The Asus P5B-Plus has an onboard PCI-e Gigiabit ethernet controller, so unless you have a need for a second ethernet controller the Surecom unit isn't needed.

Do you really need a floppy drive and 56k modem? Especially since your buying a DSL router? Might pay to explain your intended network setup as what you've listed has some double ups ;)

I would suggest upgrading to a slightly nicer keyboard and mouse but that would just be personal preference. Otherwise everything should work fine together.

byte
16-08-2007, 02:09 PM
Ah, I didn't see the onboard ethernet. :S

Anyway, the 56k modem is just incase my DSL goes down for any amount of time. Floppy drive will proberly never get used, but it's only $20, so eh.

Pete O'Neil
16-08-2007, 02:15 PM
Ah, I didn't see the onboard ethernet. :S

Anyway, the 56k modem is just incase my DSL goes down for any amount of time. Floppy drive will proberly never get used, but it's only $20, so eh.
Fair enough, honestly cant think of a reason to use a floppy these days. ASUS even allows you to flash the BIOS from a USB flash drive. But for $20 it might not be a bad backup.

Have you signed up with an ISP yet? Many ISP offer free modems with they're plans, and allow you to upgrade to a multiport router for around $40. Unfortunately your locked into a 12month contract but if your not planning to move anytime soon sometimes it works out to your benefit.

byte
16-08-2007, 02:20 PM
I havn't signed up with an ISP yet, I'm thinking of going with XNet, I don't think they supply free modems when moving from dialup to their DSL.

Bozo
16-08-2007, 06:00 PM
I havn't signed up with an ISP yet, I'm thinking of going with XNet, I don't think they supply free modems when moving from dialup to their DSL.
Gotta love that customer service don't ya?
I like your setup. Will run very nice indeed!

I might start a thread, for people to post their system specs and 3dMark score.
Only let me know if you would be opposed to this. Cheers

The_End_Of_Reality
16-08-2007, 06:23 PM
I might start a thread, for people to post their system specs and 3dMark score.
Only let me know if you would be opposed to this. Cheers This is really more of a help forum etc, overclockers etc forums are a better place for that sort of thing. But in saying that you can post it and if people want to post in it they will and the mods will stickey it if they see it as deserving...

Byte, any reason for the high performance RAM? you can get cheaper (still decent quality RAM) will little performance loss (really not noticable unless you are benchmarking)

stephen
16-08-2007, 08:03 PM
I had to use a floppy drive to load RAID drivers when installing XP. I'm glad I bought one when I built my PC. And like you said, it's only $20.

Xnet don't give you a modem... But they also don't lock you into a contract, no disconnection fees, no $10 charge if you don't have their tolls with them, and you can pretty much design your own plan to suit, and you only pay for the data you use.