PDA

View Full Version : cpu mobo combo compatibility



drcspy
15-08-2007, 03:04 PM
I have an asus p4s800 board with sis648fx chipset currently runs my P4 2.4ghz perfectly.....i've even got it overclocked to 3.0ghz with perfect stability and no heat issues with standard fan/hs and an extra couple of case fans....right now just doing some websurfing etc it's cpu is at 26 and mb at 34 it's fairly warm day here .......anyway

I *thought* the board would support a prescott 3.0ghz so I got one and stuffed it in........well it booted up......then i started gettign funny odd things happen like it wouldn't shut off properly the thing would 'wind down' but then the system would keep running but nothing happening the only way to shut it off was to kill the power outside the box with either the psu switch on the back of the tower or else at the wall.....holding the power button did nothing......

then I found that quite often it wouldn't start either........it 'flick' then not run or it'd start but nothing would happen

i've just tried some online research and found some mention of folks running this combo ok (prescott 3.0/1mb/800 with p4s800) but maybe i'm missing something ?......

before I install the latest bios update.....(i've got the one before that and it didnt' help) and remove the 2.4 and install the 3.0 to try again can someone DEFINITIVELYtell me if they KNOW of a system with this motherboard which
runs a prescott 3.0 and if so what suggestions do you have ?

thanks

Pete O'Neil
15-08-2007, 03:33 PM
The ASUS website says it supports Prescott so its safe to assume the motherboard is fine with the chip. ASUS wouldn't say the board supported Prescott if it didn't. Try the update to the latest BIOS and see what happens. Also try reseting the CMOS and then set all the CPU setting to match the Prescott.

Murray P
15-08-2007, 03:40 PM
Dodgy CPU?

drcspy
15-08-2007, 03:42 PM
No the CPU is fine cause I've got two of them one pulled from a perfectly working puter........


WHERE on the asus site does it say that board supports prescott cpu ? i didn't find that .....

Speedy Gonzales
15-08-2007, 03:44 PM
According to the ASUS FAQ (http://support.asus.com/faq/faq.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=P4S800)

Does P4S800 support 3.0GHz CPU? When I use P4 3.0G FSB-800 CPU + Kingston PC2100 256MB and V9950 VGA card. It will stop at POST.

If I press RESET, the system will give out such message "The system hung due to improper CPU setting" Please help.

P4S800 does support 3.0G FSB-800 CPU, but you have to use PC 3200 or PC 2700 memory modules. You can refer to our QVL list for suitable memory modules.

And here (http://support.asus.com/faq/faq.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=P4S800)

Does P4S800 support Intel Prescott processor?

Yes, P4S800 uses SiS 648FX NorthBridge chipset and new power design to support 800MHz FSB CPU including Prescott processor as well.

So, unless you're using DDR 333 / 400 ram as well, u may have probs.

drcspy
15-08-2007, 03:54 PM
excellent speedy thanks for that and yes I'm usign twinmos ddr400

Murray P
15-08-2007, 05:31 PM
Well done Speedy.


Right, I've got me beers and some popcorn, pulled up a comfy chair:

COULD SOMEONE PLEASE MARK THIS THREAD AS SOLVED Ta :thumbs:

drcspy
16-08-2007, 03:22 AM
not solved yet........i'll post a pic sometime soon as to what problem i'm experiencin with the bios update........watch this space !

drcspy
16-08-2007, 04:13 AM
alright I know you are all asleep but I have some more info here about my 'fun' updating the bios......

accordin to the txt file that comes with aflash.exe this should happen:


1.2 Updating BIOS Procedures

1. Download an updated ASUS BIOS file from the Internet (WWW or FTP)
(see ASUS CONTACT INFORMATION on User Ma for details) and save to the disk you created earlier.

2. Boot from the disk you created earlier.

3. At the A:\ prompt, type AFLASH and then press <Enter>.

4. At the Main Menu, type 2 and then press <Enter>.
The Update BIOS Including Boot Block and ESCD screen appears.

5. Type the filename of your new BIOS and the path, for example, A:\XXX-XX.XXX, and then press <Enter>.
NOTE: To cancel this operation, press <Enter>.

6. When prompted to confirm the BIOS update, press Y to start the update.

7. The utility starts to program the new BIOS information into the flash ROM. The boot block will be
updated automatically only when necessary. This will minimize the chance that a failed update will
prevent your system from booting up. When the programming is finished, Flashed Successfully will
be displayed.
NOTE: When you see the message "Boot Block is different" you may still press <Y> to update the BIOS.
Yet if the update fails, your system will run a greater risk of boot failure depending on
whether the boot block is damaged or not.


however at step 4:


4. At the Main Menu, type 2 and then press <Enter>.
The Update BIOS Including Boot Block and ESCD screen appears.

this is NOT what I see, the pic here shows what I see:

http://images.trademe.co.nz/photoserver/46/46984146_full.jpg

as you can see it says 'update bios WITHOUT bootblock and escd' this is QUITE different to what the asus text file says........then if I DO choose that option what happens next is:

http://images.trademe.co.nz/photoserver/60/46984260_full.jpg

which says: 'warning the bios model doesn't match the one currenlty used'

as you might be aware I'm a bit wary of writing this file to the bios ........it IS the latest bios file which I got from the asus site........

I dont think it'll make any difference anyway cause that file is 1011c.002 and the one I'm runnin now is 1011.001 which is a much later bios than ones posted by asus earlier which claim to 'fix' any issues with prescott cpu's.....

drcspy
16-08-2007, 04:34 AM
update...

just checked the asus site and I dont even know where I got that 1011c.002 bios from lol musta been the wrong mobo ? cause the latest one they've got posted for the p3s800 is the one I am running now the 1011.001....ummm......bugger......what now ?

Speedy Gonzales
16-08-2007, 08:03 AM
Well. 1011.001 looks like a beta BIOS.

I would get 1009 (http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/sock478/p4s800/P4S800_9.zip)

Dont know where 1011c.002 came from.

drcspy
16-08-2007, 08:17 AM
yeh could be an issue I guess one way to find out !

drcspy
16-08-2007, 08:40 AM
nope didn't help and neither did changing the ram.......

Speedy Gonzales
16-08-2007, 08:49 AM
So does it still say wrong bios or something??

You sure its the P4S800?

Not the P4S800D/-E Deluxe/P4S800-D-X/MX/MX /SE, or X.

Theres 7 versions of this mobo.

drcspy
16-08-2007, 09:01 AM
no it accepted the '9' version of the bios quite happily tho it did say it was an earlier version than the one I had........

and yes I KNOW it's a p4s800 I built this pc about 4 years ago and theres no doubt whatsoever ....

Speedy Gonzales
16-08-2007, 09:06 AM
So what version was installed then? If it said 1009 was an earlier version?

So u did get 1011.001 to install then?

After u flashed to the beta or 1009, I take it, u reset the BIOS settings and reconfigured the BIOS??

drcspy
16-08-2007, 09:13 AM
I'd had 1011.001 installed already that's why it told me that 1009 was an earlier version and yep I reset the bios.....

Speedy Gonzales
16-08-2007, 09:23 AM
Oh well, if updating the BIOS didnt do anything, I doubt anything else will.

Not much you can do about it.

other than changing the ram to qualified ram, that the mobo actually supports.

drcspy
16-08-2007, 09:33 AM
well i cant check their 'qualified' list I keep getting 'page cant be displayed' ......grrrrrrr.......i have twinmos 3200 and legend 3200......I usually run the twinmos as its faster cl and really good for o/c'ing if you want to .....as I say it'll run my p4 2.4 @ 3.0 quite happily.......just thought it'd be nice to stuff a 3.0 in there and run that at perhaps a bit faster......anyway...........ah......

anyone want to buy a

3.0 ghz/1m/800 CPU
SL79L MALAY
L414B815

Speedy Gonzales
16-08-2007, 09:41 AM
anyone want to buy a

3.0 ghz/1m/800 CPU
SL79L MALAY
L414B815

I would if I had the money :D

What would you sell it for?

drcspy
16-08-2007, 09:44 AM
it cost me (including postage) $105.50 so that'd be an alright amount to get back for it........oh that included the heatsink and fan also....

Speedy Gonzales
16-08-2007, 09:48 AM
Whats the 2.4 CPU?? 533 or 800 fsb??

Reformatting it so it installs the right HAL (if the 2.4 is 533 might fix it).

drcspy
16-08-2007, 02:00 PM
the 2.4 is an 800fsb and how can reformatting a drive fix a P.O.S.T problem ?......that's just not possible

drcspy
17-08-2007, 03:46 AM
well I've been pointed to some info from the asus site which i'd missed .....seems that my board will only run a northwood cpu not a prescott..........


from Asus page,
CPU

P4-3 GHz (800 FSB, L2 cache:512KB, HT, D1/M0) rev:ALL

P4-3E GHz (800 FSB, L2 cache:1MB, HT, 90nm) rev:2.01


my board is rev 1.xx........bugger......

Anyone interested to swap a
1m/800 CPU
SL79L MALAY
L414B815
Prescott

for a Northwood 3.0ghz (512kb cache) ????

Greg
17-08-2007, 08:07 AM
That's weird - my last computer had that exact same board with a 3.0 Prescott and it worked perfectly.

drcspy
17-08-2007, 08:13 AM
was it a rev 1.xx board or later ?