PDA

View Full Version : Tracert Oddity



pctek
12-08-2007, 12:46 PM
What does this mean?

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Image11186877293.jpg

There is no problem with the net at all.
Just won't trace anywhere.

vinref
12-08-2007, 12:57 PM
Looks like a firewall.

I get a non-response in one of the nodes when I traceroute to 58.28.13.49.

pctek
12-08-2007, 01:02 PM
Nope, firewall enabled/disabled makes no difference.

It started after Xnet did something. Cause now quite often it takes ages to get Google up in the browser too.

vinref
12-08-2007, 01:09 PM
Eh no.

Firewall on the machine that is unreacheable, not on your machine. Some can be set to block packets used by tracert/traceroute.

Xnet using a different route?

The_End_Of_Reality
12-08-2007, 01:19 PM
Hmm, strange... if I tracert to www.google.com it goes to www.l.google.com with IP address of 72.14.253.104... :illogical

vinref
12-08-2007, 01:37 PM
You can't really duplicate pctek's result unless you are running tracert from the same ISP (in the same location?).

Try tracing to one of the IP addresses in the jpeg pctek posted. You should see a no-response at one of the gateways.

E.g., traceroute to 58.28.13.49. The no-responder is at 10.


<vinref@ngrunt:~:108>traceroute 58.28.13.49
traceroute to 58.28.13.49 (58.28.13.49), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 home.gateway (192.168.1.254) 0.404 ms 0.336 ms 0.312 ms
2 loop0.lns2.bne4.internode.on.net (150.101.180.133) 11.956 ms 10.862 ms 10.796 ms
3 gi0-3.cor1.bne4.internode.on.net (150.101.180.201) 10.833 ms 11.342 ms 11.527 ms
4 pos2-2.bdr1.syd7.internode.on.net (150.101.180.29) 27.133 ms 28.836 ms 29.766 ms
5 pos5-0.bdr1.syd6.internode.on.net (150.101.120.65) 29.244 ms 28.759 ms 26.013 ms
6 Gi14-0-3-503.gw2.syd1.asianetcom.net (150.101.197.34) 27.352 ms 26.436 ms 27.564 ms
7 po0-2.cr2.syd1.asianetcom.net (202.147.40.133) 29.811 ms 27.192 ms 27.559 ms
8 so-0-0-0-0.gw4.akl1.asianetcom.net (202.147.55.253) 53.223 ms 49.777 ms 122.658 ms
9 ip-202.147.55.209.asianetcom.net (202.147.55.209) 51.694 ms 51.279 ms 49.257 ms
10 * * *
11 ge-1-0-0-57-jcore3.wxnz.net (58.28.13.49) 52.244 ms 51.465 ms 51.014 ms


Probably a firewall, could be any other configuration resulting in a no-response, invalid response etc.

My trace to www.google.com:


<vinref@ngrunt:~:107>traceroute www.google.com
traceroute: Warning: www.google.com has multiple addresses; using 72.14.253.104
traceroute to www.l.google.com (72.14.253.104), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 home.gateway (192.168.1.254) 0.357 ms 0.321 ms 0.310 ms
2 loop0.lns2.bne4.internode.on.net (150.101.180.133) 10.764 ms 10.751 ms 9.299 ms
3 gi0-3.cor1.bne4.internode.on.net (150.101.180.201) 11.108 ms 8.214 ms 11.110 ms
4 pos2-2.bdr1.syd7.internode.on.net (150.101.180.29) 237.846 ms 239.765 ms 236.776 ms
5 pos4-0.bdr1.sjc2.internode.on.net (203.16.213.45) 237.310 ms 238.956 ms 238.039 ms
6 eqixsj-google-gige.google.com (206.223.116.21) 209.739 ms 211.937 ms 213.161 ms
7 209.85.250.79 (209.85.250.79) 212.975 ms 209.85.249.227 (209.85.249.227) 211.976 ms 209.85.250.79 (209.85.250.79) 212.520 ms
8 72.14.236.11 (72.14.236.11) 237.977 ms 66.249.95.135 (66.249.95.135) 227.493 ms 66.249.94.226 (66.249.94.226) 214.117 ms
9 72.14.232.138 (72.14.232.138) 252.872 ms 216.239.46.203 (216.239.46.203) 229.630 ms 229.038 ms
10 72.14.233.45 (72.14.233.45) 228.761 ms 72.14.233.27 (72.14.233.27) 257.039 ms 72.14.233.29 (72.14.233.29) 231.353 ms
11 216.239.47.50 (216.239.47.50) 238.809 ms 209.85.250.63 (209.85.250.63) 231.345 ms 72.14.233.18 (72.14.233.18) 241.930 ms
12 po-in-f104.google.com (72.14.253.104) 231.618 ms 230.388 ms 209.85.250.67 (209.85.250.67) 256.584 ms

SolMiester
12-08-2007, 01:48 PM
PCTek, what are your ping times like, could your TCP layer be nackered/corrupted, perhaps a winsocks fix?

pctek
12-08-2007, 03:41 PM
PCTek, what are your ping times like, could your TCP layer be nackered/corrupted, perhaps a winsocks fix?

I did say there isnt a problem with anything.

Pinging Google gives 273ms. Thats about what its always been.


I just can't tracert anyone.

Shortcircuit
12-08-2007, 04:58 PM
I just can't tracert anyone.

Nah, I think it's something to do with google, and not just today :dogeye:

pctek
12-08-2007, 04:59 PM
Well its not my end.
I restored my PC image.

Trying to get google sometimes takes a while too is the other thing I've noticed recently.

Other than that, all is as usual.

Weird. I've emailed xnet about it.

beeswax34
12-08-2007, 06:01 PM
Nope, Google is tracerting absolutely fine. Google always works. Try checking its uptime, always at 99-100%

CYaBro
12-08-2007, 10:13 PM
I'm with Xnet and it's working fine from here.