PDA

View Full Version : Stuff page displaying differently in 3 browsers



Morgenmuffel
10-08-2007, 10:09 AM
This page here (http://www.stuff.co.nz/4159774a12.html) displays differently in opera, Firefox and IE (and Safari displays it the same as Opera)

With Firefox

The text is over top of the left side of the image

With IE

The text is underneath the Image but you have to scroll right down the page to get to the page

With Opera (and Safari)

The page layout looks fine at first glance, but then you realise that the entire right hand side of the image has been cropped off

Anyone else getting this loopyness

wratterus
10-08-2007, 10:14 AM
:lol: :lol: Same here.
Thats....interesting. Someone has made an interesting mistake creating that page.

wainuitech
10-08-2007, 10:33 AM
You get that with some browsers, many people still design for IE.
On my PC Opera for example when viewing this forum ( F1) is fine apart from when I try to write a reply or post then the box is all over the page as if its got a mind of its own, its resizing by it's self ( picture me chasing a moving window and you got it LOL:lol: ) Yet in Safari it works great.:eek:

Bozo
10-08-2007, 11:26 AM
:lol: :lol: Same here.
Thats....interesting. Someone has made an interesting mistake creating that page.
not always an 'error' creating the page, more just not following good coding conventions and correct use of style sheets etc.
Is also to do with the default style sheet each browser uses.
For more information on this see this website (http://www.search-this.com/2007/03/12/no-margin-for-error)

Morgenmuffel
10-08-2007, 11:41 AM
not always an 'error' creating the page, more just not following good coding conventions and correct use of style sheets etc.
Is also to do with the default style sheet each browser uses.
For more information on this see this website (http://www.search-this.com/2007/03/12/no-margin-for-error)

I realise that, it's just that normally (for me at least), when there are browser display issues, I don't get 3 different browser displays, normally i get IE displaying one way with Opera and firefox displaying the other and ocasionally I get IE and Opera displaying the same with Firefox being the odd one out, It's just odd that all three are different

Rob99
10-08-2007, 03:03 PM
That site is probably run by some sort of CMS system.

The editor of that page would have created it in a similar way to how we post here; they will need no knowledge of HTML at all.

I would guess they used inappropriate methods to copy/paste the information from somewhere else into that page.