PDA

View Full Version : Ghost or Acronis True Image?

Krad
24-07-2007, 06:27 PM
I have Ghost 2003 and want to know if it will work on an Athlon 4000 (pin 939) with XP Home Edition to clone HDD image to DVD.
If it won't I thought I'd buy Acronis True Image 10 which gets good reviews.
Any suggestions would be welcome.

pctek
24-07-2007, 07:22 PM
Neither cares what CPU you have.
Ghost 2003 does not work with sata2 drives.

Acronis, well, last week I would have said how marvellous it is, but again there are some issues with sata2. I contacted them and they went on about drivers being lacking as the boot CD runs off Linux.

I fail to see what that had to do with it, Windows can install off a boot CD.

But Acronis mostly works with sata2.

chiefnz
24-07-2007, 07:27 PM
Acronis True Image :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

I've had some bad experiences with Ghost... all the times I've used it I couldn't boot back into Windows...

Ever since then I've been using Acronis True Image 9... definitely worth the money spent.

Cheers

drcspy
24-07-2007, 08:04 PM
I've had some bad experiences with Ghost... all the times I've used it I couldn't boot back into Windows...

errrrrrrrr........really ?........I've long ago lost count of the number of ghost images i've created or ghosted drives i've had to do........i've NEVER had troubles bootin to a drive which i've written a ghost image or directly ghosted another drive to......dunno what the hell you are/were doing wrong but ghost is very simple to use.......

I must admit tho ONE time ghost kept throwing up errors on a particular dying drive and in desperation I used acronis after trying several other programs......acronis did the job ...however because i'm very familiar with ghost my ghost boot cd is usually the first one I reach for....

bk T
24-07-2007, 10:00 PM
Had a few nasty experiences with Ghost 2003 - it just hang at the DOS Ghost screen and refuses to go further; then messed up the partitions.