PDA

View Full Version : Slow printing issue

somebody
22-07-2007, 12:46 PM
I have a strange issue...

I have a Canon LBP-3300 laser print. It's great (does duplexing, 21ppm), and I've been using it for several months now.

Recently I've come across an issue where it seems to take a long time for print jobs to spool, and hence it locks up whatever application is trying to print for several minutes. It also pops up the Canon Status monitor (as expected), which seems to get stuck on "Getting printer status, please wait a moment", before finally changing to "Ready to Print", and everything else releasing and working.

It's become quite infuriating, because I used to be able to hit print, and have the printer start printing within 5 -10 seconds. Now it's a 3-5min wait, with my application locking up.

From what I can gather, I haven't done anything which could have cause the problem. The only thing I can think of really is that I connected my laptop to two network printers at work this week, and they seemed to be fine. I have since deleted those printers to see if it'd make a difference, and it doesn't.

I've also done things like:
- Rebooting my machine
- Rebooting the printer
- Using a different USB cable and port
- Restarting the Print Spooler service

I want to avoid reinstalling the driver if possible, because I have a lot of saved preferences I don't want to lose.

Any ideas?

Graham L
22-07-2007, 03:51 PM
Even though you have removed the other printer "connections" your laptop might still remember the network addresses they had. The long delays do hint at lengthy fruitless searching of a non-existent network "in case they are there". ;)

somebody
22-07-2007, 05:57 PM
Thanks Graham. The problem seems to have fixed itself now, so I'll just keep an eye on it for the next few weeks.

somebody
04-08-2007, 10:47 PM
I spoke too fast... The problem has re-emerged.