PDA

View Full Version : Windows or Linux

aidanmaz
22-07-2007, 12:30 PM
i have a acer aspire 3680 which came with Windows XP, i have seriously thought about jumping to Linux, Would this be a good idea?
I have had no experience using any other OS apart from Windows i need something that is generally faster than XP

Any ideas?
Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
22-07-2007, 12:38 PM
Linux should be ok for it, (it maybe faster), just hope you've got the patience and time to configure Linux.

Once its installed. Altho this may depend on what Linux OS you put on it.

Some things arent that easy to install let alone configure.

aidanmaz
22-07-2007, 12:41 PM
i dont mind learning, if i like linux enough i might go over completely. whats the best distro.......is the one on the PC world DVD any good?

chiefnz
22-07-2007, 12:56 PM
Yeah the one on the PCW DVD is all good.

There are heaps out there.

If you just want to have a play initially, have a go with a live CD version of a Linux distro, then after that see if your still keen to give it a permanent go.

Cheers

SurferJoe46
22-07-2007, 12:59 PM
I like Ubuntu and Mepis..and don't ask me how I got them working..they are still a big mystery to me.

Somehow...I got Mepis to run as my server and I just leave it alone doing it's job nicely. I say "somehow" because making it work is still a big mystery to me..I hate writing lines of commands that I don't understand and somehow I just did it.

I used to write code in fig~FORTH and COBOL, but Linux is still a whole 'nuther experience....and so far a bad experience.

Maybe you should go learn Egyptian hieroglyphics in Deutsch easier.

I have no other experience in L-based systems, so what I say is not a good tech answer I know.

But it works for me.

I am still not convinced that Linux is a good system..you get short-armed when you ask the geek-y types a question like they are all insulted or whatever.