PDA

View Full Version : Help, PC won't post after bios flash



Pacifier
13-07-2007, 12:22 PM
Hi all,

Finally got the new PC built, was getting a CPU Ucode error on start up for used the ASUS Bios update program to try to flash the bios , it couldn't verify the Eprom, so I tried to Flash it back to the old version, this said it was successful and now it won't post,it just switches on the fans and drives for 5secs then powers down then back up for 5secs. any ideas or do I return the Mobo, by the way is an Asus p5k

SolMiester
13-07-2007, 12:51 PM
Try removing the CMOS battery, and reset the BIOS using the jumpers!

Good luck!

Pacifier
13-07-2007, 12:53 PM
Hey Sol, I just tried that, still no go, shouldn't it still try to post with a corrupt BIOS? guess the Mobo get to go back

rocky138
13-07-2007, 12:57 PM
I bet you don't tell your Mobo supplier that you flashed the bios.

Pacifier
13-07-2007, 01:02 PM
it was their website that said I needed to, to get rid of the CPU Ucode error the bios needed to be updated so it supported the E6750 CPU.

bk T
13-07-2007, 01:10 PM
Have you checked all the cables are properly connected, especially the CPU fan?

Speedy Gonzales
13-07-2007, 01:13 PM
Never use the Windows program, to update the BIOS.

It'll usually freeze / kill a BIOS.

If the mobo supports Crashfree BIOS, put the mobo cd in and boot.

It SHOULD reflash back to the original BIOS.

Then if u want to update it do it in DOS / make a bootable USB flash disk or floppy.

Just make sure you've got the latest BIOS for the right mobo.

And if this doesnt work check that something isnt overheating, why its turning off after 5 secs.

That patch that MS brought out the other day, maybe what fixes your prob.

PaulD
13-07-2007, 01:14 PM
it was their website that said I needed to, to get rid of the CPU Ucode error the bios needed to be updated so it supported the E6750 CPU.

Maybe you needed to use a supported CPU to be able to do the flash.

Terry Porritt
13-07-2007, 01:20 PM
Maybe you needed to use a supported CPU to be able to do the flash.

Exactly right, not even maybe !

Pacifier
13-07-2007, 01:32 PM
Never use the Windows program, to update the BIOS.

It'll usually freeze / kill a BIOS.

If the mobo supports Crashfree BIOS, put the mobo cd in and boot.

It SHOULD reflash back to the original BIOS.

Then if u want to update it do it in DOS / make a bootable USB flash disk or floppy.

Just make sure you've got the latest BIOS for the right mobo.

And if this doesn't work check that something isnt overheating, why its turning off after 5 secs.

That patch that MS brought out the other day, maybe what fixes your prob.

The DVD drive won't read the disk, the PC does essentially nothing, the fans, the CPU fan and the DVD start for a few seconds, thats it. it was running fine all morning, has the OS installed fine. Till I decided to update the bios to clear the CPU error on start up. And the board does support this CPU you just need to flash the bios to clear the Start up error.

SolMiester
13-07-2007, 01:34 PM
Pacifer, sorry, I should have told you to remove the power plug when you remove the CMOS battery!

Pacifier
13-07-2007, 01:37 PM
Pacifer, sorry, I should have told you to remove the power plug when you remove the CMOS battery!

Thanks Sol tried that too, Getting a return number now, so its going back for replacement. I am starting to wonder if spending thousands on a new rig was such a good idea.

Man those new Intel fans suck to attach to the motherboard :lol:

Speedy Gonzales
13-07-2007, 01:40 PM
The DVD drive won't read the disk, the PC does essentially nothing, the fans, the CPU fan and the DVD start for a few seconds, thats it. it was running fine all morning, has the OS installed fine. Till I decided to update the bios to clear the CPU error on start up. And the board does support this CPU you just need to flash the bios to clear the Start up error.

I would check and see if its overheating then. Putting the cd in should do something. Even if its dead.

Pacifier
13-07-2007, 01:46 PM
No way it can be overheating, the room is cold and there is enough fans cooling, its been off for an hour, it still won't start

Speedy Gonzales
13-07-2007, 02:02 PM
Hmm ok, this hasnt come out has it, somehow??

The connection to the ATX 12V Power connector..

Coz it wont go if this isnt plugged into this connector.

SurferJoe46
13-07-2007, 02:15 PM
Speed....I spent 43+ years in auto repairs...and I know I made a lot of mistakes that stick in my memory...unfortunately mechanics cannot bury their mistakes like doctors, ours come back on tow trucks.

You sound like you might have a few skeletons in the old closet too..

I particularly love your insights...but I gotta ask: "Have you been there, done that" too like me?

You catching and saying this:

The connection to the ATX 12V Power connector..

Coz it wont go if this isnt plugged into this connector.
__________________

.............really makes me smile...thanks for the tickle....:thumbs:

Speedy Gonzales
13-07-2007, 02:23 PM
I particularly love your insights...but I gotta ask: "Have you been there, done that" too like me?

You catching and saying this:

.............really makes me smile...thanks for the tickle....:thumbs:

lol.

Well not yet, I havent / or didnt forget to plug this connector in.

Maybe, if and when I make up another PC, I will.

Pacifier
13-07-2007, 02:31 PM
Hey Speed,

Just disassembled and reassembled everything still no go, all cables connected as they should, still no beeps just the fans firing up for 5 secs

Speedy Gonzales
13-07-2007, 02:52 PM
Looks like someone else did the same thing (http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20070626093351437&board_id=1&model=P5K&page=1&SLanguage=en-us)

And killed his mobo as well. You may have to RMA / return it.

Have a read of another post (http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20070626093351437&board_id=1&model=P5K&page=1&SLanguage=en-us)

Whats the PSU and watts?

And this (http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20070602121504859&board_id=1&model=P5K&page=1&SLanguage=en-us)

And this (http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20070524175701500&board_id=1&model=P5K&page=1&SLanguage=en-us)

rocky138
13-07-2007, 03:00 PM
Just in case you havent f****d your mobo what are the spec on the rest of your hardware.

Pacifier
13-07-2007, 03:12 PM
Rest of spec is
Corsair hx620w PSU
Albatron 8800GTS
Intel E6750
4gb Adata Ram 4X1gb
2 x 250gb Sata in Raid 0
1 x 500gb Sata
1x Asus Sata DVD drive
all nicely installed in a Antec P182

Looks flash just won't go

Speedy Gonzales
13-07-2007, 03:14 PM
Try taking the ram out, put each simm/dimm in separately.

See if anything happens.

SolMiester
13-07-2007, 04:33 PM
Rest of spec is
Corsair hx620w PSU
Albatron 8800GTS
Intel E6750
4gb Adata Ram 4X1gb
2 x 250gb Sata in Raid 0
1 x 500gb Sata
1x Asus Sata DVD drive
all nicely installed in a Antec P182

Looks flash just won't go

Vista 64bit?

Pacifier
13-07-2007, 04:39 PM
Vista 64bit?

Yeap, , Mobo is on the way back to supplier now, thanks for everyones help. I'll Flash via DOs next time, or just put up with the error.

Pacifier
20-07-2007, 09:48 AM
Hi All,

Got the board back and the PC is up and running now, got the Bios flashed too, it's certainly better tham my old p4 2.23:badpc:

Just want to thank every one for their help with my problem.

Have a grand day!!!:rolleyes:

SolMiester
20-07-2007, 10:05 AM
Sweet, let us know how the Nvidia drivers play with Vista 64, I heard there have been driver stop problems....

Pacifier
20-07-2007, 10:10 AM
Yeah I will, seemed fine last night, hammered the pc with Oblivian and Stalker, both fully cranked up, didn't have any issues, but early days