PDA

View Full Version : Which CPU is better? E6850 or Q6600?



PedalSlammer
04-07-2007, 11:45 PM
Sorry guys, just having a hard time choosing a real CPU here. I know the Q6600 is going to have the same price as the E6850 in July 22nd. But what's the real difference in performance? Will Quad lose or Dual lose?
http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1767&Itemid=1
This E6850 is already available on pricespy.

qazwsxokmijn
05-07-2007, 01:54 AM
I think it depends on how you use the PC. The E6850 is 1333MHz FSB, while the Q6600 is still at 1066.

I personally would go for the quad core CPU and overclock it to 2.93GHz.

JJJJJ
05-07-2007, 05:53 AM
If you want the best, (and can afford it), an Intel Extreme x6800.
I have had one for a month now and it's fantastic.

SolMiester
05-07-2007, 09:06 AM
Jack, the 6850 is the faster chip by 70Mhz, however your chip has an unlocked multiplier, so even though it has the slower bus, would be the prefered chip if at the same price.

PedalSlammer
05-07-2007, 09:06 AM
If you want the best, (and can afford it), an Intel Extreme x6800.
I have had one for a month now and it's fantastic.I know the best CPU out there but I would prefer spending it on my more GPU power. But you know that's gonna kill my budget plus I'm a noob in overclocking too.

Now, I only need to know what's the real performance difference and I'm done.

Thanks qazwsxokmijn.

Agent_24
05-07-2007, 05:24 PM
Quad-core should be better - no?

Better for multitasking obviously, saves upgrading later, and if it's the same price, well I guess I would be buying one if I had the choice between dual and quad

Pete O'Neil
05-07-2007, 05:47 PM
But you know that's gonna kill my budget plus I'm a noob in overclocking too.
Overclockings not the only things your n00b at ;)

PedalSlammer
05-07-2007, 09:42 PM
Overclockings not the only things your n00b at ;)Say all you want, maybe I'm be interested if you have clocking lesson in here PressF1.

The_End_Of_Reality
05-07-2007, 09:54 PM
Say all you want, maybe I'm be interested if you have clocking lesson in here PressF1. Maybe you should be interested in an English lesson!... I can't understand what you are saying! :rolleyes:

PedalSlammer
05-07-2007, 10:11 PM
Maybe you should be interested in an English lesson!... I can't understand what you are saying! :rolleyes:I mean overclocking lesson. i.e. How to achieve the best performance without really over do the overclocking i.e. Balancing the ratio performance.

:D I'll be fun learning how to make clocks. I mean crystal clocks for the MOBO, and make it go faster. :lol:

And by the way how much performance difference between those two CPUs? No answer?

GHOSTN
06-07-2007, 11:39 AM
is the e6850 the newer better version of the e6700? what should i go for out of the two? sorry complete noob

SolMiester
06-07-2007, 12:38 PM
Very little performance benefit at present as C2D has not saturated the 1066 bus yet.
The C2D is all about Memory, fast memory whereas the AM2 is about RAM latency as it has a full speed memory controller on its on cpu.

The only situation where this cpu will benefit you is where you have slower memory and need to run dividers for OC'ing.

2-4% increase over like speed previous version

PedalSlammer
06-07-2007, 01:36 PM
Very little performance benefit at present as C2D has not saturated the 1066 bus yet.
The C2D is all about Memory, fast memory whereas the AM2 is about RAM latency as it has a full speed memory controller on its on cpu.

The only situation where this cpu will benefit you is where you have slower memory and need to run dividers for OC'ing.

2-4% increase over like speed previous versionThat's the better answer. The real answer is we have to wait for a benchmarking comparison on reviews site.

GHOSTN
06-07-2007, 02:11 PM
will the e6850 work with the asus p5b motherboard?

Pete O'Neil
06-07-2007, 06:29 PM
Good for the quad core, the small difference in clock speed will make little difference. Even a small overclock can easily remedy the difference in FSB and clock speed.

GHOSTN
08-07-2007, 06:24 PM
anyone?

Pacifier
09-07-2007, 09:41 AM
It should work in the P5B, you will have to flash the bios to allow the board to take the faster FSB.

ASUS haven't updated their site to say it will, so you should confirm with them. I am pretty sure it was part of the latest Bios update though.

Agent_24
09-07-2007, 11:17 AM
I thought there was something about older chipsets not being able to take quad-cores, but a newer revision of the same chipset could handle it.

I have no idea what the case is with that Asus

qazwsxokmijn
09-07-2007, 12:22 PM
It should work in the P5B, you will have to flash the bios to allow the board to take the faster FSB.

ASUS haven't updated their site to say it will, so you should confirm with them. I am pretty sure it was part of the latest Bios update though.
No, I don't think so.

There was an interview somewhere on the net with a Gigabyte representative, and he said so far only the 975 chipset can support up to 1333MHz FSB, and the only way they could make the 965 chipset to handle 1333MHz FSB was to change the voltage regulator or something. They have to make physical changes, rather than just a BIOS update.

That is why Gigabyte's v1.0 965P motherboards cannot support the newer C2Ds, while the v3.3 can, even though they are the same models.

GHOSTN
09-07-2007, 01:46 PM
so what are you guys saying? there is no motherboard to run the e6850 as of yet?

Pacifier
09-07-2007, 01:50 PM
My new board does its a P5k deluxe, just waiting for the Chip to arrive now.

GHOSTN
09-07-2007, 02:28 PM
asus p5k?

Pacifier
09-07-2007, 02:35 PM
Yup, it's their latest range, it has the P35 chipset which is the 965 replacement. See here: http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=534&l4=0&model=1646&modelmenu=1

qazwsxokmijn
09-07-2007, 02:54 PM
All Intel's new chipsets (x3x) will work with the newest C2Ds, as so will some updated 965 chipsets. Some 965 chipset motherboards may only need a BIOS update, but some needs to have physical changes, like what Gigabyte did with some of their 965 motherboards.

PedalSlammer
09-07-2007, 03:36 PM
asus p5k?Just get the premium edition of Gigabyte MOBO's, like the Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6. Yeah, that MOBO beat Asus a**.

GHOSTN
09-07-2007, 07:46 PM
Just get the premium edition of Gigabyte MOBO's, like the Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6. Yeah, that MOBO beat Asus a**.

whats the advantage of goin with gigabyte ?

PedalSlammer
09-07-2007, 07:56 PM
whats the advantage of goin with gigabyte ?Currently Gigabyte P35 DQ6 is the winner of P35 for DDR2 compare to other vendors.
i.e. Tomshardware.com recommend them, and check out other review site for P35 DDR2 MOBOs.

GHOSTN
09-07-2007, 08:12 PM
in what sense do you mean they beat them.. sorry im noob

PedalSlammer
09-07-2007, 08:22 PM
in what sense do you mean they beat them.. sorry im noobGreat now you're making me opening more web pages on a slow PC. And maybe you should recommend me a phone in terms of service trading. Good deal? I mean hey, I need a good phone for decent price, I already opening lots of phone web for comparison looking high and low for hours already.

Here: (may I suggest you reading it)
http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/06/19/eight_p35-ddr2_motherboards_compared/
http://www.driverheaven.net/reviews/p35moboroundup/

Pacifier
10-07-2007, 11:58 AM
Not much difference at all really between any of the boards, I needed E-Sata on board thats why I went with the P5K, I am not a fanatical overclocker either, just the basics for me, however I will be overclocking my 6850 to try at least 3.6ghz,

wratterus
10-07-2007, 12:02 PM
Has the preschool just been set up with internet access?

qazwsxokmijn
10-07-2007, 01:56 PM
Pacifier, is it just me or the P5K sucks because it doesn't have a slot for a PS/2 mouse?

Pacifier
10-07-2007, 02:18 PM
Not sure if that's a reason for it to suck but no it doesn't have a PS/2mouse port, its got USB (lots of them) and seems I have a USB mouse, I'm gonna be fine.

PedalSlammer
10-07-2007, 07:02 PM
I need a premium board with legacy stuff, so Gigabyte is for me. And premium? Yes, I like permium MOBO because they can overclock better.

qazwsxokmijn
10-07-2007, 10:41 PM
Not sure if that's a reason for it to suck but no it doesn't have a PS/2mouse port, its got USB (lots of them) and seems I have a USB mouse, I'm gonna be fine.
Hehe, it's because my PS/2 mouse is really good. :p

Not only that, the P5K's IDE slot is all the way at the bottom of the motherboard, forcing me to install my DVD drive at the second 5.25 slot to allow the IDE cable to reach the IDE slot.:mad:

PedalSlammer
22-07-2007, 08:42 AM
If anyone interested in the results please visit tomshardware.com, oh did I mention I was use it for multi-tasking a lot? I mean gaming is not my primary thing I think it is secondary so Q6600 is a way a go for me.

Bantu
22-07-2007, 08:57 AM
Hehe, it's because my PS/2 mouse is really good. :p

Not only that, the P5K's IDE slot is all the way at the bottom of the motherboard, forcing me to install my DVD drive at the second 5.25 slot to allow the IDE cable to reach the IDE slot.:mad:

Get over it.
PS/2 is old technology, USB or even wireless is just as good.
Use a longer IDE cable, they come in various lengths and cost peanuts.