PDA

View Full Version : Opera Question



stu161204
25-06-2007, 08:33 PM
I am thinking about using Opera (I am keeping Firefox thought) as I am tired of all the flash ads on the NZ Herald / Stuff / TVNZ website maxing out my cpu & sometimes crashing firefox :(

Whatís the best version of Opera to use? Latest version or an older version?

:)

Myth
25-06-2007, 09:15 PM
Latest stable version (unless you want to live on the edge and do beta testing :p)

vinref
25-06-2007, 09:42 PM
I don't think that Opera will be able to block these flash ads. You need to block the server that serves them - use a proxy or a hosts file entry.

stu161204
25-06-2007, 09:58 PM
I don't think that Opera will be able to block these flash ads.

I will just not install flash ;)

JohnstonDJ
25-06-2007, 10:00 PM
I am thinking about using Opera (I am keeping Firefox thought) as I am tired of all the flash ads on the NZ Herald / Stuff / TVNZ website maxing out my cpu & sometimes crashing firefox :(

Whatís the best version of Opera to use? Latest version or an older version?

:)

If you remain using Firefox then you can use Ad-Block Plus (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1865), and use a subscription list. Easy List (http://easylist.adblockplus.org/) and New Zealand Based Fan-Boy (http://www.fanboy.co.nz/adblock/)'s list cuts most stuff out. These combinations definitely block out the crap on Stuff. I can't talk about the other ones, as I don't use them, but I suggest it will cut it out with them too.

vinref
25-06-2007, 10:23 PM
I will just not install flash ;)

I had to bite the bullet and install it the other day. It is becoming a standard for video delivery now, and I can't ignore it anymore. But I use a proxy and it cuts out all ads.

stu161204
25-06-2007, 10:28 PM
I had to bite the bullet and install it the other day. It is becoming a standard for video delivery now, and I can't ignore it anymore. But I use a proxy and it cuts out all ads.

Thatís why I am keeping firefox ;) (I am only going to use Opera to browser NZ Herald / Stuff / TVNZ websites & if I want to view anything flash from either of those sites I will use firefox)

stu161204
25-06-2007, 10:29 PM
If you remain using Firefox then you can use Ad-Block Plus (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1865), and use a subscription list. Easy List (http://easylist.adblockplus.org/) and New Zealand Based Fan-Boy (http://www.fanboy.co.nz/adblock/)'s list cuts most stuff out. These combinations definitely block out the crap on Stuff. I can't talk about the other ones, as I don't use them, but I suggest it will cut it out with them too.

I would use that if I was not using firefox 1.0.7 ;) (The saying goes if its not broken then donít fix it)

beeswax34
25-06-2007, 10:32 PM
Yes but simply upgrading and getting those extensions would also save you a lot of trouble not only for NZ sites but any others you visit using FF and save you the hassle of changing browsers all the time.

zqwerty
25-06-2007, 10:32 PM
I don't see the problem, just install this on Firefox:

http://flashblock.mozdev.org/

mmmork
26-06-2007, 07:46 AM
You can block any ads you want with Opera, although you have to select all the ads manually. There may be a 'widget' (like ff addons) to do it too, I've never looked.

netchicken
26-06-2007, 08:00 AM
I don't see the problem with Opera.
I had forgotten there were flash adverts here as they are all gone for me.
I can block the server using the Block Content tool in opera.

This address in my file
http://inl-images.adbureau.net/inl/*

Is blocking them at the server (I suppose) anyway it works just as good as firefox.

Myth
26-06-2007, 08:26 AM
I don't see the problem with Opera.
I had forgotten there were flash adverts here as they are all gone for me.
I can block the server using the Block Content tool in opera.

This address in my file
http://inl-images.adbureau.net/inl/*

Is blocking them at the server (I suppose) anyway it works just as good as firefox.
Sometimes the block content is unavailable when you right click on an ad.
But I have found that blocking http://inl-images.adbureau.net/inl/* works. I also discovered if you block an individual ad, another one appears in its place (like they have 15 ads all set to revolve; should one get blocked another takes its place). The above method kills that as well :D (for now)

mmmork
26-06-2007, 08:47 AM
Sometimes the block content is unavailable when you right click on an ad.


Mebbe this isn't what you meant, but you realise you don't rightclick ON the ad to block it? Anywhere on the page besides the ad brings up the menu with block content. The ad is then always available to be canned. At least that's been my experience.

netchicken
26-06-2007, 10:15 AM
Ahhh, the secret is to go to edit the link, and then take it back as far as you can.

So you block
http://inl-images.adbureau.net/inl/*

not
http://inl-images.adbureau.net/inl/pcworld/another sub/*

etc...
Of course you coould go back to
http://inl-images.adbureau.net/*

or even
http://adbureau.net/*

as well.

FoxyMX
26-06-2007, 10:36 AM
That’s why I am keeping firefox ;) (I am only going to use Opera to browser NZ Herald / Stuff / TVNZ websites & if I want to view anything flash from either of those sites I will use firefox)

Opera can browse other sites too you know. ;)

And as a "web master" you ought to be very interested in this (http://operawiki.info/WebDevToolbar). :)

hamstar
26-06-2007, 11:38 AM
FF and adblock plus = "What ads? There's ads on this page?"

I am always amazed when I have to use a browser like FF without adblock or IE and how different the page looks crammed to the top with ads and flash animations.

Speedy Gonzales
26-06-2007, 12:28 PM
Actually IE isnt too bad now, if u install IE7Pro.

It does a good job of blocking ads and flash ads etc.

And its free.

FoxyMX
26-06-2007, 05:48 PM
And its free.

Er... yeah, and so are all the others.

vinref
26-06-2007, 08:22 PM
...or even
http://adbureau.net/*...

I think this is all you do - the closest to domain to the root domain will include all content from that domain. I just include adbureau.net in my filter and all from that domain is blocked.

If you want to know the domain of the advertising/flash server, type the following in the Opera address bar: opera:cache. Look down the list. Make a note of anything that has "ad" in the url (use the search function by typing the "/").

You can enter the offending domain in Tools - Advanced - Blocked content.