PDA

View Full Version : Upgradng my laptop ram?



whitts
24-06-2007, 10:07 PM
Hello,
Im looking at getting some more ram for my laptop, i currently have 256mb and i am wanting to get another 512mb. I went to the kingston.com website and located my laptop Here (http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurator_new/modelsinfo.asp?SysID=21101&mfr=HP%2FCompaq&model=Presario+Notebook+2200LA&root=&LinkBack=&Sys=21101-HP%2FCompaq-Presario+Notebook+2200LA&distributor=0&submit1=Search)

Looking at the back of my laptop it appears there is a free slot and my question is what is the difference between the 512MB DDR266 Module and the 512MB DDR333 Module? How much should i expect to pay for good quality RAM?

I have seen the word Sodimm appearing, what does that mean?

Thanks for any advice.

SolMiester
24-06-2007, 10:16 PM
Hi, SODimm are laptop ram modules......DDR333 is faster ram than DDR266, however not all laptops can run faster dimm's at the motherboard slow speeds, or step down in speed. So in other word, ensure you get the correct SOdimm speed ram for your laptop...

whitts
24-06-2007, 10:23 PM
Hey thanks for the reply,
How would i go about finding what the correct speed is?

Cheers.

CYaBro
24-06-2007, 10:31 PM
Go to www.crucial.com and do the Crucial System Scan.
This will tell you what you currently have and what it can support for upgrading.

whitts
24-06-2007, 10:59 PM
Thank you,
I just went to that website which said this

"DDR memory with support for DDRPC2700 speeds.
Because DDR memory is backward-compatible, you can safely upgrade your system with any of the guaranteed-compatible DDR speeds listed below, even if your manual calls for PC1600 or PC2100 speeds".

I just want to make sure that im right in thinking that this ram here is correct:

1 x 512mb DDR333Mhz Non-ECC memory module
For laptops running PC2700 ram
Kingston No KVR333X64SC25/512

Thanks, just want want to make sure i buy the right one.

Faded_Mantis
25-06-2007, 12:06 AM
I might be a bit weary of crucial scanner because:

I just did a scan out of curiosity, and it correctally identified my mobo as an MSI K8N Neo3.

However I said I had 1 x 1gb with 3 free slots. Supporting a max of 4gb

But I have 1x 1gb with 1 free slot. Supporting a max of 2gb

Morpheus1
25-06-2007, 08:03 AM
not all laptops can run faster dimm's at the motherboard slow speeds, or step down in speed. So in other word, ensure you get the correct SOdimm speed ram for your laptop...

Really? I thought any computer could have RAM rated at a faster speed and it would step it down automatically. I've been thinking of putting in more RAM in an old laptop that has 266 Mhz RAM (PC2100 DDR SDRAM SODIMM) and I doubt if 266 Mhz can still be bought.

Faded_Mantis
25-06-2007, 06:34 PM
"DDR memory with support for DDRPC2700 speeds.
Because DDR memory is backward-compatible, you can safely upgrade your system with any of the guaranteed-compatible DDR speeds listed below, even if your manual calls for PC1600 or PC2100 speeds".

Morpheous, whitts quoted the above off the crucial website.

So yes it should scale down, I did that when buying more ram for a comptuer which had DDR-333 ram, it was cheaper for me to get another 1gb of DDR400 which would scale down to 333 than it was to buy 1gb of DDR333

SolMiester
25-06-2007, 06:38 PM
Really? I thought any computer could have RAM rated at a faster speed and it would step it down automatically. I've been thinking of putting in more RAM in an old laptop that has 266 Mhz RAM (PC2100 DDR SDRAM SODIMM) and I doubt if 266 Mhz can still be bought.

No mate, there would probably be more chipsets around that did, than not, but I have been caught out before.

Morpheus1
25-06-2007, 07:37 PM
No mate, there would probably be more chipsets around that did, than not, but I have been caught out before.

Can you rephrase that? I do not understand what you mean. Plain English. Thanks.

SolMiester
25-06-2007, 08:14 PM
LOL, sorry, there would be more chipset (memory dimm controllers) that reduce ram speed to correct speed than chipsets that dont.

Morpheus1
25-06-2007, 10:09 PM
So Whitts and I could put in new RAM which has a higher Mhz rating than our laptops and have it work OK?