PDA

View Full Version : Hard drive and BIOS problem

Redmanx456
11-06-2007, 05:42 AM
Hey there I am new to this fourm so don't go off on me.

I am currently running a HP Media Center, that runs windows xp.
IT's 3 years old, but i receved it only a year ago with no problems with it. Just these last three months it has started to act up. UPon booting up after the HP screen, it says the error, NO Boot deviece, Insert Boot Media ect.
Well It alerted me and I hit F1 and went into BIOS. Well it is reading my hard drive, but it wont boot from it. I have tried changeing the boot order but still nothing. any help?

SurferJoe46
11-06-2007, 05:52 AM
Is there nothing more in the error message? Like a code or a set of numbers/letters?

It might be the boot sequence too...what is the BIOS setting for the that?

You might try a XP dos boot disk in the floppy drive, if you have a floppy drive that is.

With kajillions of lines of code, it's likely that something went awry.

Masees2004
11-06-2007, 06:07 AM
you can try to boot from any WinXP CD and when the first menu appears press R.
when you can write a command use ( FIXBOOT C: ) without the brackets and then type FIXMBR this should fix your problems and I STRONGLY recommends that you back up before doing this although I tried this before and it just worked fine for me.
Regards

Redmanx456
11-06-2007, 07:02 AM
Well I dont have a windows cd or floppy disk, although i have a floppy drive. the recovery is built in.

IT started to work again and i was able to get on for a few minutes and get all my important school stuff out.

I accessed the recovery but it stopped at 30 precent a froze, now it is back to the error message and asking to inser proper boot media.

Tony.br
11-06-2007, 07:26 AM
If it stopped working and the started again, may I suggest you kill the power, remove the covers and on the hard drive, remove the Power plug and reinsert then do the same with the IDE drive cable.