PDA

View Full Version : HELP PLEASEEEEE



Complete Basketcase
02-06-2007, 11:21 AM
I need to buy a new Laptop. Have decided that Toshiba seems the best way to go for reliability and price but - WHAT model do I choose???!!!???

I need to have Email, Wireless Internet, Not bad graphics as I do Scrapbooking for a job, Photoshop or similar, fairly good harddrive and RAM storage, dvd and CD writeable :waughh: can't think what else i need right now.

Can anyone suggest what would be a good model for me and what you found to be the best.

Greg
02-06-2007, 11:46 AM
You'll find that a lot of floks here will recommend an Asus. Suggest you simply buy the model that fits in with your budget.

The_End_Of_Reality
02-06-2007, 12:08 PM
Yes, I agree with Greg, ASUS for the win :D

What is your price range?

pctek
02-06-2007, 01:38 PM
http://www.pbtech.co.nz/index.php?item=NBKTOS8900&PHPSESSID=1d1d72ce5b659f7e23129b86948ff076

3 year warranty

Renmoo
02-06-2007, 02:25 PM
I would suggest that you go for features, not brands.

Cheers :)

spaceman8815
02-06-2007, 03:34 PM
I would suggest you get a acer aspire 5101 as i do a lot of photography type things on it and it works well, i use photoshop and store most of my photos on the hard drive. It has 802.11b/g 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD and a 2 GHz AMD Turion 64 processor and 256 MB ATI Readeon Xpress 1100 hyper memory graphics card, it even has a build it webcam, Its still working great. i bought this for $1400 at dick smith electronics at the start of the year and it has now been reduced to about $1000-$1100

Complete Basketcase
02-06-2007, 05:51 PM
Thanks for your suggestions everyone. Can anyone recommend the best IPS for Wireless, I am amazed at the lack of provision here in NZ.

stu161204
02-06-2007, 06:02 PM
Thanks for your suggestions everyone. Can anyone recommend the best IPS for Wireless, I am amazed at the lack of provision here in NZ.

Dont you mean ISP's?

winmacguy
02-06-2007, 06:08 PM
I would suggest that you go for features, not brands.

Cheers :)

Agreed.

Complete Basketcase
03-06-2007, 08:43 AM
Yes righto I did mean ISP's, not well with the flu. Boy aren't people friendly on this site???

Myth
03-06-2007, 08:59 AM
Any ISP will do wireless, all you need is a wireless router to enable you to connect to your ISP.

i.e. your internet arrives to your house via a wire which plugs into your router. The router has wireless capabilities, which means that you are able to connect to that router wirelessly from anywhere in your house (local area).
Is this what you mean?

Morpheus1
03-06-2007, 09:12 AM
Yes righto I did mean ISP's, not well with the flu. Boy aren't people friendly on this site???

Try asking if you should get a Mac laptop and then see what happens. :D

Myth
03-06-2007, 09:15 AM
Try asking if you should get a Mac laptop and then see what happens. :D.. or "Should I install Linux or Vista" :p