PDA

View Full Version : Running XP on a 600mhz computer - too slow?



Krad
01-06-2007, 12:43 PM
I have been told that running XP Home edition with SP2 on my 600mhz Pentium 3 would be extremely slow and I should forget it and continue with 98SE. I would probably partition and run both them if I do install XP. Any advice welcome!

Speedy Gonzales
01-06-2007, 12:52 PM
How much ram is on it??

600 maybe slow, but if it hasnt got enough ram in it, it wont help either.

tweak'e
01-06-2007, 01:10 PM
it will run ok. i think someone here runs it on a 500mhz pc. however it all depends on what type of CPU it is.

ram and speed of ram is generally the big bottle neck. some of the old motherboards can't take much ram.

windows 2000 would be a better choice but if your stuck with limited ram then 98se is best bet.

godfather
01-06-2007, 01:14 PM
It will be useable OK, as long as you have 256 MB of RAM or more.

Ran it here on a celeron 600 MHz with 256 MB of shared RAM, it was useable but a bit slow.

Another 667 MHz P3 with same RAM setup was quite useable, still in use today.

Morgenmuffel
01-06-2007, 01:24 PM
I have run it on 450Mhz machine with 320Mb of ram, and it was fine just a bit slow, it really does depend on what you are going to use the machine for

Will all the old programs you currently use run on XP and just remember any programs that are slow on your machine now will be doubly slow under XP with it's greater memory usage, and if you do have to update you programs just remember that in the PC world newer programs are very rarely quicker than the older versions as they always seem to require more system resources

I know on my machine I ran abi-word instead of openoffice as my word processor as it was much quicker and responsive because of its lower footprint

beeswax34
01-06-2007, 01:37 PM
I used to run XP and still do on my backup computer which has a 700mhz processor or 286MB of RAM. All programs run fine including Word, Excel, FF and IE. As long as the RAM is high enough, there shouldn't be a problem.

Happy Harry
01-06-2007, 02:48 PM
Well I have run XP on a P3 500mhz PC with 512Mb and it ran sweet.
It is my garge based test bed machine for playing with. Full Office suite loaded.
No worries

HH

dotbond
01-06-2007, 03:05 PM
Running XP on a AMD K6-2 500Mhz with 256MB ram. It runs OK. Not fast but still works.

SurferJoe46
01-06-2007, 03:13 PM
Got XP on some older Dells, one is 500mhz, another 700..both with 512 RAM, and they run pretty well next to the SOYO/Enermax combo with 3g RAM and 1.6GHZ.

Just for kicks I tried it in an old Compaq with 24mb RAM...it wouldn't run...dropped all the way back to 98SE for that one though! I don't think I could even get it to load on that dinosaur..it just blinked a few times and blackscreened me... .that's how XP told me off in no uncertain terms!

AvonBill
01-06-2007, 04:16 PM
I have it running on a 600MHz P3 with 640MB. Family use it for browsing, e-mail, Office 2002. Runs fine.

The_End_Of_Reality
01-06-2007, 04:43 PM
I used to run it on a P3 500MHz with 128MB of RAM, it was not all that bad... for the office tasks open one at a time :p

pctek
01-06-2007, 04:45 PM
Running it on less than 256mb is possible but only if you like going crazy waiting for stuff to load.

MAC_H8ER
01-06-2007, 10:29 PM
2 years ago before i got my computer in my Signature i built a PC using thrown out parts from out IT dept at school ( i was head tech :D ) it was a PII 233 with 20GB HDD and 128Mb ram - took 2 hours to Install XP then 5 and half hours to install the SP2 update - after that it ran fine - was a tad slow and games were a no-no but it was like a godsend to me :D but now that i have my own PC i would never go back :P

pctek
01-06-2007, 10:50 PM
it was a PII 233 with 20GB HDD and 128Mb ram - took 2 hours to Install XP then 5 and half hours to install the SP2 update - after that it ran fine - was a tad slow and games were a no-no but it was like a godsend to me

Maybe so. But you then install some apps, do some net browsing and so on for a few months and then see how the thing performs.

Sherman
02-06-2007, 01:39 AM
I am running XP on a PII 350MHz with 224MB of ram.
It's not my main PC of course, but it's perfectly adequate for my needs (print/file server).
I have all fancy eye-candy turned off to increase performance.
It seems quite responsive (as responsive as using it via VNC over a wireless network can be).
Back when I was using that PC as my main box (not that long ago!) I dual booted XP and 98SE. The XP worked quite well, not too slow, and I could even run most of my programs I wanted too run on it.

Here's what resources the PC is currently using atm.
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/PII350_performance.JPG
This is probably as stripped back as I could make an unmodified XP installation.

pcuser42
02-06-2007, 09:19 AM
I have seen lower than everyone who posted: http://www.winhistory.de/more/386/xpmini_eng.htm

(8MHz, 20MB RAM :D)

The_End_Of_Reality
02-06-2007, 09:28 AM
I have seen lower than everyone who posted: http://www.winhistory.de/more/386/xpmini_eng.htm

(8MHz, 20MB RAM :D)This is not a thread on how slow a PC can XP be run on... it is a thread asking how a 600MHz PC will run XP... which requires personal experience to be able to answer...

MAC_H8ER
03-06-2007, 12:55 PM
Maybe so. But you then install some apps, do some net browsing and so on for a few months and then see how the thing performs.

nah - i had that PC for about 7-8 months and never had any trouble with it slowdown wise - i just stopped the crap accumulating in the first place :p

Krad
05-06-2007, 04:23 PM
I have it running on a 600MHz P3 with 640MB. Family use it for browsing, e-mail, Office 2002. Runs fine.

Thanks for that. I am convinced it is worth trying as it is a second pc used for emails etc and not for big tasks.

Krad
05-06-2007, 04:46 PM
I am running XP on a PII 350MHz with 224MB of ram.
It's not my main PC of course, but it's perfectly adequate for my needs (print/file server).
I have all fancy eye-candy turned off to increase performance.
It seems quite responsive (as responsive as using it via VNC over a wireless network can be).
Back when I was using that PC as my main box (not that long ago!) I dual booted XP and 98SE. The XP worked quite well, not too slow, and I could even run most of my programs I wanted too run on it.

Here's what resources the PC is currently using atm.
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/PII350_performance.JPG
This is probably as stripped back as I could make an unmodified XP installation.
This is the sort of setup I'm wanting. Thanks for that.