PDA

View Full Version : Another annoying BSOD error with no apparent cause



Agent_24
20-05-2007, 06:03 PM
I have recently been getting a stupid BSOD error on my sempron machine, It has happened 3 times (with seemingly no relation between what I was doing and when it occurred)

The message is always the same:

IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Stop: 0x0000000A (0x00000016, 0x00000002, 0x0000000, 0x804F8E2A)

I have recently updated radeon drivers to 7.4, and added the new 17" monitor. apart from that nothing has changed for quite a while.

Any ideas on what this could be before I start trying to do crazy stuff to my drivers? :lol:

apsattv
20-05-2007, 07:06 PM
Do a driver roll back on your video drivers.
Also check your event viewer log!

Speedy Gonzales
20-05-2007, 08:08 PM
Or uninstall the drivers and do a search for drivercleaner pro, so it'll get rid of all traces of the driver/s.

Then reinstall the drivers.

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 05:41 PM
I uninstalled the drivers, then ran drivercleaner pro, re-installed with 7.2 drivers and guess what??

IT JUST DID IT AGAIN :mad:

Event viewer doesn't provide anything other than what the BSOD itself says, there is no driver listed or anything, the message is exactly the same as it was the other 3 times.

Graham L
23-05-2007, 05:44 PM
The is an apparent cause: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL.

What could be clearer and more selfexplanatory? :D

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 05:52 PM
The is an apparent cause: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL.

What could be clearer and more selfexplanatory? :D

Well since it's so clear to you, what's the answer then? :rolleyes:

Graham L
23-05-2007, 05:56 PM
Do you really want to know?

Somewhere down in the lower intestines of the OS there is a variable which has been given a value which is larger than a limit which is set somewhere else in the OS.

Where are these numbers stored? Who knows? Probably noone in Microsoft knows, either. But whenever this happens, they give you a good error message. Isn't it fun? :thumbs:

winmacguy
23-05-2007, 06:09 PM
Do you really want to know?

Where are these numbers stored? Who knows? Probably noone in Microsoft knows, either. But whenever this happens, they give you a good error message. Isn't it fun? :thumbs:

If there is a window handy now would be good time to send something through it. :D

Graham L
23-05-2007, 06:39 PM
Sorry Agent24, if I've been not treating it as seriously as you might wish. ;) But you musn't take computers too seriously.:badpc:
I've just done a bit of a search of the forum, and it seems that this can indicate a memory problem. Memtest86 would be worth trying.

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 06:39 PM
Do you really want to know?

Somewhere down in the lower intestines of the OS there is a variable which has been given a value which is larger than a limit which is set somewhere else in the OS.

Where are these numbers stored? Who knows? Probably noone in Microsoft knows, either. But whenever this happens, they give you a good error message. Isn't it fun? :thumbs:

Thank you for that precise and definite answer.... :lol:

And it just happened again.

Would the numbers being consistently consistent mean anything?

Ok, so what's the best way to go about dealing with the damn thing?

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 06:40 PM
I've run memtest, 2 passes no errors.

I shall let it run longer but I don't think the ram would generate the exact same error every time

Speedy Gonzales
23-05-2007, 06:43 PM
Ok, so what's the best way to go about dealing with the damn thing?

Get a --> :badpc:

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 06:44 PM
Get a --> :badpc:

As a matter of fact I just tried that, got a HAMMER_STUCK_IN_CHASSIS_TRAP error....

Graham L
23-05-2007, 06:48 PM
You could try the Search button and enter the IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL string, and go through the threads that finds. One posting quotes the full message from MS, which implicates drivers. But a few people found memory problems ...

There might be something.

Speedy Gonzales
23-05-2007, 07:11 PM
Hmm this might help (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314084/EN-US/)

If u can find this pstat file (which by the looks of it is in a resource kit).

Its a command, and if u type pstat (that 0x8 error at the end of your BSOD), it'll tell u the driver thats using this address.

And will most probably point you to the driver thats giving the BSOD.

Jen
23-05-2007, 07:19 PM
Did you install any supplied drivers for the monitor? Is the new monitor quite similar to the old one?

More information on Stop 0x0A errors here (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314063).

stu161204
23-05-2007, 07:33 PM
As a matter of fact I just tried that, got a HAMMER_STUCK_IN_CHASSIS_TRAP error....

heh :D

pctek
23-05-2007, 07:39 PM
Its always a driver error, occasionally a RAM error.

It may not be the graphics driver at all, could be something else.

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 07:57 PM
Hmm this might help (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314084/EN-US/)

If u can find this pstat file (which by the looks of it is in a resource kit).

Its a command, and if u type pstat (that 0x8 error at the end of your BSOD), it'll tell u the driver thats using this address.

And will most probably point you to the driver thats giving the BSOD.

Comes in a pack from microsoft "Windows XP Service Pack 2 Support Tools (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=49ae8576-9bb9-4126-9761-ba8011fabf38&displaylang=en)" (validation required) in case anyone else wants the link.

I'm going to check it out in a minute and see what's happening...


Did you install any supplied drivers for the monitor? Is the new monitor quite similar to the old one?

The new monitor is totally different, windows is using the generic "plug and play" monitor driver - The old monitor was a Philips 105/S and the new one - well you tell me. I'm going to upload a photo of the back sticker for anyone who wants to have fun trying to identify it.

"new" monitor sticker (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/IMG_1431.JPG)

Speedy Gonzales
23-05-2007, 08:11 PM
Looks like its a Microvision monitor (http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Monitors/CRT-monitors/auction-97478208.htm)

Its got the same sticker as the one u posted.

Graham L
23-05-2007, 08:13 PM
Enter the FCC ID code into the FCC database and find out the manufacturer.

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 08:30 PM
Yep that's the monitor, searched FCC ID but just got basically the same info as what's written on the sticker.

Can't get that pstat.exe to work, it lists everything currently running but I can't find any way to lookup that particular number (0x804F8E2A)

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 08:34 PM
http://web.archive.org/web/20010108114200/http://www.aplusinfo.com.tw/specifications.htm#as-1770

Doesn't really help much though

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 08:37 PM
Event Type: Error
Event Source: System Error
Event Category: (102)
Event ID: 1003
Date: 23/05/2007
Time: 6:07:27 p.m.
User: N/A
Computer: AMD2800
Description:
Error code 0000000a, parameter1 00000016, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 804f8e2a.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
0018: 20 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 0000000
0020: 61 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d a Param
0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 30 30 eters 00
0030: 30 30 30 30 31 36 2c 20 000016,
0038: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 32 00000002
0040: 2c 20 30 30 30 30 30 30 , 000000
0048: 30 30 2c 20 38 30 34 66 00, 804f
0050: 38 65 32 61 8e2a

Graham L
23-05-2007, 08:40 PM
I think that means ....






IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

See it was simple, after all. :thumbs:

:badpc: :badpc: :badpc:

Speedy Gonzales
23-05-2007, 08:43 PM
It looks like u run the command prompt from Windows support tools. Under all programs.

Type in pstat. Look for the file / modulename thats got the same load addr or close to that 0x804F8E2A (forget the x0 bit).

What file has the closest load addr to 804F8E2A?

Speedy Gonzales
23-05-2007, 09:04 PM
Hmm have u scanned for worms etc recently.

It looks like Sdbot and variants of Sdbot can also give you a 0000000A Stop error.

Does the system crash if u run one of these as well?

Registry Editor (Regedit.exe)
Task Manager (Taskmgr.exe)
System Configuration Utility (Msconfig.exe)
System Information (Msinfo32.exe)

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 09:30 PM
I think that means ....






IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

See it was simple, after all. :thumbs:

:badpc: :badpc: :badpc:

Why is there no emoticon for "huddled in a corner, babbling incoherently" ? :lol:

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 09:45 PM
It gets better. The only thing with load address near 804F8E2A:

ModuleName Load Addr Code Data Paged LinkDate
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ntkrnlpa.exe 804D7000 448000 93824 1152256 Wed Feb 28 21:38:52 2007

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 09:48 PM
Hmm have u scanned for worms etc recently.

It looks like Sdbot and variants of Sdbot can also give you a 0000000A Stop error.

Does the system crash if u run one of these as well?

Registry Editor (Regedit.exe)
Task Manager (Taskmgr.exe)
System Configuration Utility (Msconfig.exe)
System Information (Msinfo32.exe)

I can open all of those with no problems, the machine has NOD32 which I was scanning with when it crashed for the 5th time. I have tried Panda AntiRootkit but that came up with nothing. I will try some other programs also, and online scans...

Speedy Gonzales
23-05-2007, 09:55 PM
Is this (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929338)

Installed if SP2 is installed?

Do a search for ntkrnlpa.exe right mouse / properties on it what version??

Does it show the same version on the MS site?

Sweep
23-05-2007, 10:11 PM
Comes in a pack from microsoft "Windows XP Service Pack 2 Support Tools (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=49ae8576-9bb9-4126-9761-ba8011fabf38&displaylang=en)" (validation required) in case anyone else wants the link.

I'm going to check it out in a minute and see what's happening...



The new monitor is totally different, windows is using the generic "plug and play" monitor driver - The old monitor was a Philips 105/S and the new one - well you tell me. I'm going to upload a photo of the back sticker for anyone who wants to have fun trying to identify it.

"new" monitor sticker (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/IMG_1431.JPG)

You appear to be a "computer specialist"

Have fun yourself.

Some people here may actually take your advice. This makes me a little sad.

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 10:15 PM
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntkrnlpa.exe

File Version: 5.1.2600.3093 (xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)

There are other versions compressed in uninstall folders, don't think those matter though.

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 10:21 PM
You appear to be a "computer specialist"

Have fun yourself.

Some people here may actually take your advice. This makes me a little sad.

The whole "computer specialist" thing is a joke, which is why specialist is in quotes.

Actually I did have hours of "fun" last week trying to find info on that monitor to no avail, which is why (as another joke) I posted the photo and said have fun (because of course, IT ISN'T FUN)

Though looking again I did manage to find the original site (archived) and the info in the FCC ID database, as you may see in my previous posts.... If I COULD fix this problem with the stupid BSOD I would have but it's got me totally lost as there appears to be no reason as to what the heck is causing it.

Want to join in on the fun yourself?? :D

Speedy Gonzales
23-05-2007, 10:33 PM
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntkrnlpa.exe

File Version: 5.1.2600.3093 (xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)

There are other versions compressed in uninstall folders, don't think those matter though.

Thats the same version as the one here.

I would say its ntkrnlpa.exe thats causing it.

Try copying the same file from C:\WINDOWS\Driver Cache\i386 to C:\WINDOWS\system32 and overwrite it. It looks like the same version.

Might have to do it in safe mode.

See if it makes a diff.

Agent_24
23-05-2007, 10:53 PM
So the file listed on microsoft's website:

Ntkrnlpa.exe 5.1.2600.3051 2,057,600 19-Dec-2006 12:55 x86 SP2

is the bad one? or the one they want to update to? I don't get it.

my Ntkrnlpa.exe in system32 is the same version and everything as the one in driver cache though. should I still copy it anyway?

Speedy Gonzales
24-05-2007, 09:21 AM
You can try copying the file from the i386 folder (if it works).

Not too sure if the version on the MS site is what you're meant to see once u install that update or not. Obviously it isnt.

I think the version thats installed already is later than the one on the MS site.

The copy thats in the i386 folder may just be a backup in case anything like what youre getting happens.

Agent_24
28-05-2007, 09:02 PM
I have installed that update as from Microsoft's site and also pulled out the 2nd hdd which was holding kubuntu (which wasn't shutting down properly I noticed, so I pulled it thinking it might be a problem), haven't see a BSOD yet, I will try for longer and then try that HDD in again, see if maybe it's the cause for some reason...

OutbackJon
02-06-2007, 02:00 PM
OK, I get the same error. Even on a clean install of XP-SP2. So at least now, I don't have to feel lonely.

I'm going to give the kb929338 (no validation required) (http://browse.files.filefront.com/Windows+XP+Service+Pack+Windows+Optional+Updates+K B929338/;1912199;/browsefiles.html) update a try and see what happens. Although looking around, there seem to be some people that install it and can't boot up their machine anymore.

Man, I gotta find a Linux distro that likes my graphics setup....

Agent_24
02-06-2007, 02:34 PM
Was just trying BF1942 online and it died with BSOD again. This time the bluescreen had no writing on it whatsoever. just blue. nothing else.

Event logger, once again the EXACT SAME error. This is getting quite annoying!

Event Type: Error
Event Source: System Error
Event Category: (102)
Event ID: 1003
Date: 2/06/2007
Time: 11:35:44 a.m.
User: N/A
Computer: AMD2800
Description:
Error code 1000000a, parameter1 00000016, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 804f8e2a.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
0018: 20 31 30 30 30 30 30 30 1000000
0020: 61 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d a Param
0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 30 30 eters 00
0030: 30 30 30 30 31 36 2c 20 000016,
0038: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 32 00000002
0040: 2c 20 30 30 30 30 30 30 , 000000
0048: 30 30 2c 20 38 30 34 66 00, 804f
0050: 38 65 32 61 8e2a

OutbackJon
12-06-2007, 06:49 PM
OK, interesting development. Been running without my anti-virus. (AntiVir) Went for over a week with NO BSODs. Installed the AV, and got the same BSOD within 1 hour. Odd. Uninstalled the AV, and will keep an eye on it for a while.

OutbackJon
19-06-2007, 07:29 PM
The uninstall of the AV program didn't work. Still got the BSODs. So I tried a restore point, just prior to my AV install. And again, we'll see what happens.

Sherman
19-06-2007, 09:09 PM
Agent_24: what firewall (if any) are you using?

OutbackJon
27-06-2007, 04:39 PM
Comodo Firewall. And going back to the restore point before my antivirus didn't help... :horrified

Agent_24
27-06-2007, 06:49 PM
Agent_24: what firewall (if any) are you using?

I'm using comodo also, updated with that 100% cpu-usage automatic windows update patch, as I had also been having that problem, solved it on first reboot, then it came back, but no BSOD yet....

It's weird and annoying and I guarantee it will do it again just when I think it's perfect :angry

Agent_24
13-08-2007, 11:25 PM
Just did the BSOD again (exact same error) couple of days ago

This time I read the minidump with WinDBG and apparently the fault was caused by cmdmon.sys (Comodo firewall component)

Interestingly this seems to be a known issue with this file causing BSOD on comodo's website, I haven't tried uninstall yet, due to the rare occurrance of the BSOD, think I'll just wait for CPF 3.0