PDA

View Full Version : Graphics Stuff up in Unreal Tournament 2004?



Firzen001
13-05-2007, 09:23 PM
The game works for about 15 minutes. Then the detail gos all random colours and the explosions and debris don't even show up. There is not even gore for some random reason.

The_End_Of_Reality
13-05-2007, 09:31 PM
Try updating the GFX drivers with the newest ones.

Also, try hitting the start button while paused (to get to the Desktop, but leaving the game open) and then going back into the game, I sometimes have issues like that with Test Drive Unlimited and doing this fixes that... :confused:

Firzen001
13-05-2007, 09:35 PM
I have tried doing that but it just doesn't seem to work. Maybe I am doing something wrong.

The graphics card by the way is Nvidia Geforce FX5600.

The_End_Of_Reality
13-05-2007, 09:42 PM
Do any other games have this issue?

Firzen001
13-05-2007, 09:47 PM
No not that i KNow of

The_End_Of_Reality
13-05-2007, 09:48 PM
Well try other games and see if they do and if other games do have issues, then I would look at the drivers or even the card, but if it is only UT2004 I would look at that game, even try a reinstall

Firzen001
13-05-2007, 09:51 PM
I have only reinstalled it once. Because it takes about 1 hour to fully install!

The_End_Of_Reality
13-05-2007, 09:58 PM
Well I would say going by your other thread that your system has issues... a reinstall of Windows may fix it, or it could even be a hardware issue

Firzen001
15-05-2007, 03:46 PM
If i reinstall it i will lose all my valuable work!:horrified
How do i avoid that?:confused:

stu161204
15-05-2007, 03:58 PM
If i reinstall it i will lose all my valuable work!:horrified

If you reinstall windows then yes there is a chance that you could loss all your data.


How do i avoid that?:confused:

Backup your hard drive - http://faqf1.net.nz/index.php?title=Backing_up_files

The_End_Of_Reality
15-05-2007, 04:05 PM
If i reinstall it i will lose all my valuable work!:horrified
How do i avoid that?:confused: You avoid that by copying everything onto disk or spare HDD...

Firzen001
15-05-2007, 04:09 PM
I have got a 120gb hard drive. Its just not external.

Firzen001
15-05-2007, 04:10 PM
How do u move unmovable files?:horrified

xpd
15-05-2007, 04:12 PM
Use a program such as Ghost to image the drive - that way if you reinstall Windows and find youre still having the problem, you can just copy the image back and be back where you were. :)
If a Windows reinstall fixes the issue, then open the Ghost image and pull out your data :)

Firzen001
15-05-2007, 04:14 PM
How much can it store up to?

Firzen001
15-05-2007, 04:15 PM
Have U ever used ghost?

Pete O'Neil
15-05-2007, 04:31 PM
What sort of cooling does the graphics card have? It could be an overheating issue?

Firzen001
15-05-2007, 04:34 PM
Welli don't really know?

The_End_Of_Reality
15-05-2007, 04:53 PM
Welli don't really know? That means crack open the case and look at the card and see if there is a big heatsink, big heatsink and fan, small heat sink, small heatsink and fan etc etc etc and take note at how much dust and build up there is...

Deathwish
15-05-2007, 06:30 PM
The game works for about 15 minutes. Then the detail gos all random colours and the explosions and debris don't even show up. There is not even gore for some random reason.

How much system ram do you have? Do you have any background applications running? How is your graphics card cooled? Are you monitoring system temperatures? This could all occur from overheating, from a faulty gfx card, or from some software conflict.

As for the gore, there is a setting in the setup menu somewhere in UT2K4, I know this for sure as I have UT2K4, just look for it.

Firzen001
15-05-2007, 09:32 PM
How much system ram do you have? Do you have any background applications running? How is your graphics card cooled? Are you monitoring system temperatures? This could all occur from overheating, from a faulty gfx card, or from some software conflict.

The COmputer has 512mb ram.

What programs would be running?

How do I monitor the system temps?