PDA

View Full Version : Download speed won't go any higher...



Chris815
27-04-2007, 09:45 PM
I am on broadband, and my download speed never seems to want to go any higher than around 230-250 kb/s. I feel as though it could get up to or above 300. What can I do to improve it, if possible? I'll tell you what I can if you want.

zcc
27-04-2007, 09:48 PM
go to www.unblocka.com and have a gander....

It works but not on vista last time I tried....

Good luck

decibel
27-04-2007, 10:04 PM
A chain is only a strong [or slow] as its weakest link - what figures do you get from:-

- your DSL line rate as reported from your modem ?
- access to the Telecom core ? go to zeus.geek.nz.
- from a NZ-based speed test site?
- an overseas- based speed test site?

Also, as zcc says, your computer may also be slowing things down - you can also try tcpoptimiser.exe (it boosted me from 2Mb/s to 3.6Mb/s)

stu161204
27-04-2007, 10:27 PM
Who's your ISP Chris815? & what plan you’re on?

By any chance you’re on Xtra Go Large?

Chris815
27-04-2007, 10:59 PM
go to www.unblocka.com and have a gander....

It works but not on vista last time I tried....

Good luck

Okay, I might check it out. Thanks.



A chain is only a strong [or slow] as its weakest link - what figures do you get from:-

- your DSL line rate as reported from your modem ?
- access to the Telecom core ? go to zeus.geek.nz.
- from a NZ-based speed test site?
- an overseas- based speed test site?

Also, as zcc says, your computer may also be slowing things down - you can also try tcpoptimiser.exe (it boosted me from 2Mb/s to 3.6Mb/s)

- I think it is 4 Mbps downstream / 2 Mbps upstream
- I'm with TelstraClear!
- I've tried this before: http://www.nzdsl.co.nz/module-speedtest.phtml
- I got about 132 kb/s upload. That's sorta low..

Where do you get the tcpoptimiser.exe? How do you use it?



Who's your ISP Chris815? & what plan you’re on?

By any chance you’re on Xtra Go Large?

I'm with TelstraClear:
HighSpeed 10G
10G of monthly traffic
4 Mbps downstream / 2 Mbps upstream
paradise.net

apsattv
27-04-2007, 11:56 PM
You could try a program called tcpoptimizer

http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php

It will backup all your current settings so don't worry about trashing anything.

dbs
28-04-2007, 01:42 AM
have you tried ringing your ISP and logging a fault?

Mirddes
28-04-2007, 02:25 AM
try downloading something from www.gamearena.com.au
i get really nice speeds from them on my 10mbit telstraclear connection.
as for uploads, ive found that all the tests ive used are utter ****.
with torrents i can hit 240KB/s uploads.

Chris815
28-04-2007, 03:34 PM
You could try a program called tcpoptimizer

http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php

It will backup all your current settings so don't worry about trashing anything.

Ah, that looks sort of confusing. How exactly do I use it?


have you tried ringing your ISP and logging a fault?

No, because I don't think it's a fault - I probably just need to customise it more.


try downloading something from www.gamearena.com.au
i get really nice speeds from them on my 10mbit telstraclear connection.
as for uploads, ive found that all the tests ive used are utter ****.
with torrents i can hit 240KB/s uploads.

You have to have an account to download from there!
I try not to let uploading get that fast, it's the download speed I want! Like I said, my DL speed gets up to that range.

Mirddes
28-04-2007, 05:39 PM
create an account then.
its free.

Chris815
28-04-2007, 06:27 PM
Just to test the DL speed? That's okay.

decibel
28-04-2007, 06:54 PM
Ah, that looks sort of confusing. How exactly do I use it?



Just set the slider control to what you think you should be getting for your download speed and then click the "optimal settings" button at the bottom.
Your existing settings will be saved and you can always roll back to them.

Experiment !

Chris815
28-04-2007, 10:12 PM
So what does moving the bar do?

decibel
29-04-2007, 04:26 PM
So what does moving the bar do?


See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TCP_Tuning and also
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rwin

Pete O'Neil
29-04-2007, 04:48 PM
This is a stupid thread! Have you ever considered that your getting the fastest internet your line can physically support? No amount of TCP/IP optimizing or bitching can make your copper phone line transfer data faster.

decibel
29-04-2007, 07:15 PM
Pete is right - let's get back to the original question.

Chris, you say you are on a 4Mb/s/2Mb/s plan, but what exactly is your cable modem reporting your line rate as ?
[or whatever the terminology is with cable modems?]