PDA

View Full Version : Install blocker



plod
27-04-2007, 10:13 AM
does anybody have any experience with this program or a work around for it.
I have a legit reason to try and break it.

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2007, 10:15 AM
What is it?

plod
27-04-2007, 12:34 PM
Sorry. It's a program that stops you installing software/restricts the machine.
You need a password for it.
To cut a long story short, This program was installed onto a company computer by the supplier and everytime you need to add a program or make system changes you have to ring there technician to come out.
This involves a certain church(sect).

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2007, 12:38 PM
Well, I would say the company put it there for a reason.

And unless you own the company or the PC's its installed on, I wouldnt post in here asking how to bypass it.

Metla
27-04-2007, 12:50 PM
Tried something as simple as removing it from startup and disabling any associated services?

plod
27-04-2007, 12:58 PM
Well, I would say the company put it there for a reason.

And unless you own the company or the PC's its installed on, I wouldnt post in here asking how to bypass it.
No i don't own the company, but the people that do have asked me to have a look for them. It's about the church limiting them on what they can run on there own computers. company owns the computers not the church.
Thanks Metla will give it a try.

DeSade
27-04-2007, 01:01 PM
Why did the company purchase computers with this limitation in the first place?

plod
27-04-2007, 01:10 PM
thats the only way they could purchase them was through there church. Otherwise not allowed computers.
Can anybody guess what church yet?

DeSade
27-04-2007, 01:20 PM
Its not hard to guess and that in itself is reason enough to break it.
I don't have the expertise but I wish you luck.

Graham L
27-04-2007, 01:30 PM
Perhaps prayer would bring o enlightenment from on high. Or not.

bevy121
27-04-2007, 10:07 PM
Easiest way *hypotheticly* would be to just kill the process in the task manager then do whatever installs (or uninstalls) you want till the next reboot

mikebartnz
28-04-2007, 03:00 AM
Well, I would say the company put it there for a reason.

And unless you own the company or the PC's its installed on, I wouldnt post in here asking how to bypass it.
Speedy you obviously read it a bit too fast and I aggree with Metla.

kjaada
28-04-2007, 07:15 AM
This may be a job for a linux live CD distro

plod
28-04-2007, 08:32 AM
thanks people. Won't get a chance to try till monday, will keep you posted

wotz
28-04-2007, 08:37 AM
had some experience with that myself. Had to wait for the authorised guy turn up before I could install an update. Banklink was it plod?

plod
28-04-2007, 08:58 AM
had some experience with that myself. Had to wait for the authorised guy turn up before I could install an update. Banklink was it plod?

whats banklink?