PDA

View Full Version : Weird unknown files in program files

Mike.H
20-04-2007, 08:07 PM
Ok these are these random files I got, don't know how. They all have the phrase "deleteme" in them, thought this was a little sketchy so I thought i's ask you professionals out there. any help will be greatly appreciated. The link is a picture of my problem, hosted by imageshack.

http://img206.imageshack.us/my.php?image=weirddeletemeproblempz1.jpg

Laura
20-04-2007, 09:39 PM
I'm not an expert, so can't help you myself, but I'd be suspicious...

I notice the BAK file has tomorrow's date, which is rather weird.
Your link also downloaded a poker website on my machine..

I suggest you look at Speedy Gonzalez' signature for info & download HijackThis for starters. He'll help you with it later.

Other members may have other suggestions....

Speedy Gonzales
20-04-2007, 09:56 PM
Yup, whatever those files are, or doing they dont look legit.

Altho it looks like it may have something to do with Vista.

Is Vista installed?

Hijackthis is in my sig below.

Mike.H
20-04-2007, 10:38 PM
Ya I have Vista Premium. Btw sorry Laura for the link, I was just in such a rush to sort this out.

Mike.H
21-04-2007, 12:59 PM
bump!

Speedy Gonzales
21-04-2007, 01:09 PM
I dont have Vista so dunno if theyre legit or what.

Someone, who's using Vista, will have to check their system, to see if theyve got the same files.

SurferJoe46
21-04-2007, 01:20 PM
I talked to me son (M$-guy) and he says the one dated tomorrow MIGHT be a time bomb..payload deliverable on that calendar date. I didn't get to ask about the others....so don't know...

Be ye careful!

Mike.H
21-04-2007, 02:31 PM
Should I delete them then because i've never had them on the last install of Vista. :(

Sherman
21-04-2007, 02:42 PM
Is $$DeleteMe.crypt32.dll the full filename? (as I noticed that there is "..." afterwards indicating a longer filename) Same with the others.

Mike.H
21-04-2007, 04:06 PM