PDA

View Full Version : Can I access my ubuntu files from winxp?

J_Joyce
29-03-2007, 07:16 PM
Hi,
I'm a beginner to the world of linux and have been trying it out in my spare time for the last couple of weeks. while playing playing around with the settings and installing different program packages, I unfortunatly managed to kill the gui.

Finding myself presented with a console based logon screen, I realised my very limited knowledge of linux console commands does pose a problem. Oh well it seems that reinstalling is the easiest solution. Only problem is that I have about 300MB worth of packages sitting on the drive and i'm not too keen on having to re-download the lot once I have things up and running again.

So, does anyone know how I can access the drive and data from within windows xp (I use the linux boot loader to switch between xp and ubuntu) so that i can copy the packages from the tempory folder. That way i can copy the files back once i reload and save me downloading.

Thanks
-Jake

Jen
29-03-2007, 07:19 PM
How dead is dead for the GUI? What happens or what sort of error messages do you get? What happens if you type startx at the command prompt?

Morgenmuffel
29-03-2007, 07:39 PM
With regards to Ubuntu problems this forum (http://ubuntuforums.org/index.php?) is really good, I'm not trying to steer you away from pressf1, but when I was using Ubuntu, I found the answers to 90% of my disasters on that forum

also does ubuntu still have rescue mode in the boot screen?

I also think there was a command that let you reset your XFconfig? file (I screwed this up regularly and ended up with no GUI and had to run this command ), been a while i must say

J_Joyce
29-03-2007, 11:46 PM