PDA

View Full Version : Please help clarify a few things



Tukapa
22-03-2007, 10:07 AM
Hi all

I have googled and searched the forums here and have found some interesting tid bits on wireless networking. However, although I think I have the gist of it there are just a couple of things I would like clarified.

Elderly relatives in a small unit want to get rid of their bulky desktop and replace it with a laptop for very basic usage.

They want to go to a wireless intenet setup. This will be the only computer in the house.

I have read posts etc and this has been recommended:

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=345759

but am I correct in thinking you still need a broadband modem if using this unit? Ideally one piece of hardware tucked away somewhere would be better than having several so I was looking for a wireless adsl modem and router all in one. Any suggestions?

If I can get one all in one then I presuem as long as the laptop has wifi built in that is all they will need to get up and running (ie wireless adsl modem/router all in one plugged into the phone point and the wifi enabled laptop).

If they get a laptop without wifi built in then my understanding is that one of these:

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=114214

would be all they need to get up and running (with the afore mentioned wireless adsl modem/router all in one).

Any hardware suggestions, corrections on my logic (or perhaps lack of) and further enlightenment will be welcomed with open arms.

Cheers.

CYaBro
22-03-2007, 10:56 AM
Pretty sure all new laptops now come with wireless network cards built in so no need to get a USB or PCMCIA wireless card for it.

I've got 2 of these (http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=8021418) at home and they work great. One is connected to the ADSL line while the 2nd one is just acting as a wireless range extender to get the wireless signal to the far end of the house.

Tukapa
22-03-2007, 11:22 AM
Thanks for that.

What sort of range do you get? This is only asmall unit so I would imagine 1 of these would suffice.

Cheers.

CYaBro
22-03-2007, 11:37 AM
Range is pretty good.
With just the main internet one I can get around most of the house and outside on the deck with good connection speeds.
Just added the 2nd unit to get the signal into the flat above the garage.
My main unit is centrally located upstairs in a double story house of average size.