PDA

View Full Version : no internet



starrekin61
17-03-2007, 07:06 AM
Hi. What would cause me to lose access to the net on one system and not on my other? I am getting runtime error codes and system files linked to the wrong dlls. The system I am having problems on is 98. Old, I know, but it usually works. Any ideas? Thanks.

Speedy Gonzales
17-03-2007, 09:09 AM
Could be anything, malware a program thats installed.

Get some or all of the programs in my sig below.

You cant use hijackthis, looks like its been replaced with the beta version of 2.

And it only works on Windows 2000/XP.

Are u running any firewalls on 98?? if so,what?

starrekin61
25-03-2007, 12:11 PM
Speedy - thanx for the help. I reinstalled 98 over itself - was able to access the net instantly. only problem now, is that the only cd my system will recognize is the 98 system disk. all other's are inaccessible. I have run ad-aware, and am presently going to use the trojan program that you have listed. Will try to use older version of hijack this, if I still have program on drive. Any ideas would be helpful. Thanks again.:badpc:

Speedy Gonzales
25-03-2007, 12:23 PM
Well installing Windows over itself wont remove anything like malware or something nasty (if u have any).

It doesnt actually format the hdd, it just overwrites whatever was on the hdd before.

Trev
25-03-2007, 12:30 PM
This from the new hijackthis website version 2.
System requirements:
Operating System:

Microsoft™ Windows™ Vista
Microsoft™ Windows™ XP
Microsoft™ Windows™ 2000
Microsoft™ Windows™ Me
Microsoft™ Windows™ 98
Software:

Microsoft™ Internet Explorer 7.0
Microsoft™ Internet Explorer 6.0
Mozilla™ Firefox™ 1.5 or higher

Trevor :)

starrekin61
26-03-2007, 06:56 AM
Here is the Hijack This Log File. Will run Spy Bot next. Thanks.
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 2:56:58 PM, on 3/25/07
Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ANTIVIR PERSONALEDITION CLASSIC\SCHEDM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\EXECUTIVE SOFTWARE\DISKEEPERLITE\DKSERVICE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOGI_MWX.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ANTIVIR PERSONALEDITION CLASSIC\AVGCTRL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOZILLA FIREFOX\FIREFOX.EXE
C:\HIJACK THIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://wapp.verizon.net/bookmarks/bmredir.asp?region=all&bw=fiber&cd=7.0MSN&bm=ms_home
R3 - URLSearchHook: AOLTBSearch Class - {EA756889-2338-43DB-8F07-D1CA6FB9C90D} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AOL\AOL TOOLBAR 2.0\AOLTB.DLL
N4 - Mozilla: user_pref("browser.search.defaultengine", "engine://C%3A%5CPROGRAM%20FILES%5CMOZILLA.ORG%5CMOZILLA%5Cs earchplugins%5Cgoogle.src"); (C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\1jie3dcy.slt\prefs.j s)
O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Toolbar Helper - {02478D38-C3F9-4EFB-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN\YT.DLL
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O2 - BHO: AOL Toolbar Launcher - {7C554162-8CB7-45A4-B8F4-8EA1C75885F9} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AOL\AOL TOOLBAR 2.0\AOLTB.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN\YT.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: AOL Toolbar - {DE9C389F-3316-41A7-809B-AA305ED9D922} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AOL\AOL TOOLBAR 2.0\AOLTB.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] LOGI_MWX.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avgctrl] "C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avgctrl.exe" /min
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogMeIn GUI] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGMEIN\LogMeInSystray.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [schedm] "C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\schedm.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [DkService] C:\Program Files\Executive Software\DiskeeperLite\DkService.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LogMeIn] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGMEIN\LogMeIn.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mstask.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Walgreens PhotoShow Media Manager] C:\PROGRA~1\WALGRE~1\WALGRE~1\DATA\XTRAS\MSSYSMGR. EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmwordtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &AOL Toolbar Search - c:\program files\aol\aol toolbar 2.0\resources\en-US\local\search.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {85d1f590-48f4-11d9-9669-0800200c9a66} - %windir%\bdoscandel.exe (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Uninstall BitDefender Online Scanner v8 - {85d1f590-48f4-11d9-9669-0800200c9a66} - %windir%\bdoscandel.exe (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: AOL Toolbar - {3369AF0D-62E9-4bda-8103-B4C75499B578} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AOL\AOL TOOLBAR 2.0\AOLTB.DLL
O16 - DPF: Win32 Classes - file://C:\WINDOWS\Java\classes\win32ie4.cab
O16 - DPF: {5D86DDB5-BDF9-441B-9E9E-D4730F4EE499} (BDSCANONLINE Control) - http://download.bitdefender.com/resources/scan8/oscan8.cab
O16 - DPF: {01113300-3E00-11D2-8470-0060089874ED} (Support.com Configuration Class) - https://activatemyfios.verizon.net/sdcCommon/download/FIOS/tgctlcm.cab

Speedy Gonzales
26-03-2007, 09:47 AM
Run HJT again tick these entries and tick fix checked. Close browser/s.

O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install

O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {85d1f590-48f4-11d9-9669-0800200c9a66} - %windir%\bdoscandel.exe (file missing)

O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Uninstall BitDefender Online Scanner v8 - {85d1f590-48f4-11d9-9669-0800200c9a66} - %windir%\bdoscandel.exe (file missing)

O9 - Extra button: AOL Toolbar - {3369AF0D-62E9-4bda-8103-B4C75499B578} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AOL\AOL TOOLBAR 2.0\AOLTB.DLL

O16 - DPF: Win32 Classes - file://C:\WINDOWS\Java\classes\win32ie4.cab

Then reboot.

starrekin61
26-03-2007, 10:47 PM
Thanks Speedy. Will try this next. installed and ran Spy Bot, it found numerous entries, but when I hit fix them, system wouldn't let me. Will let you know what happens.

radium
26-03-2007, 11:39 PM
You could try running Spybot in safe mode.

starrekin61
27-03-2007, 03:11 AM
Hi again. I can not figure out how to run spy bot in safe mode. Tried to use Trend online scan too - but it stopped itself about halfway through. Still no CD access, except for Windows disk. :badpc:

pctek
27-03-2007, 06:55 AM
Hi again. I can not figure out how to run spy bot in safe mode.

Simple.
Boot in Safe Mode.
(Press F8 on boot to get the menu)
Run Spybot.