PDA

View Full Version : Route issues for Internet between Wired Ethernet & 8092.11g



Chilling_Silence
08-03-2007, 06:31 PM
Hi all,

Setup my fathers office PC, he's wrapped with having everything networked!

Only problem is that for him to get Internet through the Wireless LAN Connection the office Wired LAN needs to be disabled. This presents a problem because it needs to be enabled so he can print to the photocopier.

As soon as the Wired LAN is disabled, internet through wireless is fine. Enable it and the printer works again.

Heres the Routing table when the LAN is ENABLED:
C:\Documents and Settings\User>route print
================================================== =========================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x10004 ...00 18 f3 3a 11 7e ...... ASUS USB Wireless Network Adapter - Packet S
cheduler Miniport
0x20002 ...00 14 85 d0 a7 e2 ...... Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection - Pac
ket Scheduler Miniport
================================================== =========================
================================================== =========================
Active Routes:
Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.93 25
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.10.1 192.168.10.50 20
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.93 192.168.1.93 25
192.168.1.93 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 25
192.168.1.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.1.93 192.168.1.93 25
192.168.10.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.10.50 192.168.10.50 20
192.168.10.50 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 20
192.168.10.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.10.50 192.168.10.50 20
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 192.168.1.93 192.168.1.93 25
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 192.168.10.50 192.168.10.50 20
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.1.93 192.168.1.93 1
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.10.50 192.168.10.50 1
Default Gateway: 192.168.10.1
================================================== =========================
Persistent Routes:
None


And when the LAN is DISABLED (Wireless only):

C:\Documents and Settings\Peter>route print
================================================== =========================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x10004 ...00 18 f3 3a 11 7e ...... ASUS USB Wireless Network Adapter - Packet S
cheduler Miniport
================================================== =========================
================================================== =========================
Active Routes:
Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.93 25
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.93 192.168.1.93 25
192.168.1.93 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 25
192.168.1.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.1.93 192.168.1.93 25
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 192.168.1.93 192.168.1.93 25
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.1.93 192.168.1.93 1
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
================================================== =========================
Persistent Routes:
None

How do I configure it to have the default gateway of the Wireless, and not the Wired LAN? Tried playing around with the route settings but am only really familiar with it in Linux.

Thanks


Chill.

CYaBro
08-03-2007, 07:05 PM
Why do you need to have a default gateway on the wired network? 192.168.10.1?

Looking at that route print it looks like your internet router is 192.168.1.1?

I would go into the TCP/IP settings of the wired lan connection and remove the gateway IP address (192.168.10.1) in there if you don't need a gateway (which you shouldn't unless there is some other network that you need access to through gateway 192.168.10.1)

Just thought of another question:
Do they need to be separate subnets? Could you make all the 192.168.10.?? network devices 192.168.1.?? and then bridge the LAN and WLAN networks on your fathers machine.

Chilling_Silence
08-03-2007, 10:01 PM
Yeah theres a password been set on the Photocopier and I cant change it. Weird I know, but yeah. thats what I was told.

So basically just removing the Gateway, or setting it even to 192.168.1.1 (the wireless AP IP) should suffice? :)

I'll have a crack in the AM then

SolMiester
08-03-2007, 10:51 PM
Chill, you havent got ICS running on the wired PC have you?

Chilling_Silence
09-03-2007, 09:58 AM
Nup, none of them, whys that?

SolMiester
09-03-2007, 11:21 AM
It would change the gateway to your pc instead of the modem.

Chilling_Silence
09-03-2007, 06:00 PM
Its all good, I just removed the Gateway from the Wired LAN Adapter settings and its all fine now :)

Dunno why I didnt think of it earlier...

Cheers all


Chill.